HDsamba Version 3 Available

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 29, 30, 31 ... 33, 34, 35  Next
Author Message
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
gruenesAlien wrote:
I doubt weather there's really a need to adopt the init.d files with HDsamba. One case is that if opt is mounted almost everything is done. Of cause the Samba and Xinet startup can be done using init.d and that would make sense.

That's because you are doing things before you mount /opt. It's better to make sure /opt is mounted and only then start all these services.
Mounting of /opt can nowadays be configured in the webinterface.
If you install a service in optware these packages already create a script in /opt/etc/init.d

I will keep asking brainslayer to automatically start these scripts. Almost every other linux distribution has this already.

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
Sponsor
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
double post
_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)


Last edited by frater on Wed Aug 05, 2009 16:31; edited 1 time in total
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 20:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
double post
_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)


Last edited by frater on Wed Aug 05, 2009 16:30; edited 1 time in total
gruenesAlien
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2008
Posts: 717

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
if you're on the way of doing this ask also please to start all /opt/etc/init.d/K* in ascending order at router reboot. Similar to any linux distro is doing when switching runlevels (that includes reboot).

And when you're on the way of asking please ask the same for /jffs/etc/init.d/.
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
gruenesAlien wrote:
HDsamba2 uses samba server version 2 as can be noticed by typing smbd -V . Samba2 is actually an old version of the samba server but it is faster. If you use the optware package samba you will get samba version 3.2.11 which is also quite new and supports more features of the current MS systems. Don't know weather that helps.


Ok I have indeed 2.2.12.
I used HDsamba2 to install samba. I assumed HDsamba2 script was pulling samba from the optware package, but apperently it is not.
gruenesAlien do you know if there a similar script (like HDsamba2) that uses the 3.2.11 version?
Or do I need to change the script manually? Is there may be a faster way to upgrade, since I have succesully installed 2.2.12 already?

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
gruenesAlien
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2008
Posts: 717

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 19:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Most part of the HDsamba script is setting up HDD mounting and setting up optware. You can install samba 3.x with

ipkg-opt remove samba2
ipkg-opt install samba

Backup you old Samba config. Samba 3.x has a different config file and you have to edit the smb.conf either manually of with SWAT to get a working config (although I don't know if SWAT is really in the optware samba package, you have to try)
gruenesAlien
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2008
Posts: 717

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 20:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
@frater:

Concerning the mount thing in webgui: Of cause you can specify that in /opt . It is save for one USB-drive. If you want to have more you can notice some device moving because of plug in plug out. My script still mount the partition correctly even if it is now on another scsi-device. Of real system you use the UUID for that or give the partition a label. Both options are cut out in busybox.

So it is just a try for a more failsafe mount worked around busybox limitations. Also feel free to rework anything if you want, most parts of my script is a patchwork from original HDsamba3 from Amorphis and a detection routine from MrAlvin (I think).
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
gruenesAlien wrote:
Most part of the HDsamba script is setting up HDD mounting and setting up optware. You can install samba 3.x with

ipkg-opt remove samba2
ipkg-opt install samba

Backup you old Samba config. Samba 3.x has a different config file and you have to edit the smb.conf either manually of with SWAT to get a working config (although I don't know if SWAT is really in the optware samba package, you have to try)


Tried to adapt the original v3install.HDsamba2 script. You are right, the result was the following:
Quote:
The original samba version 2 config (/etc/samba/smb.conf) is no longer
working with this version of samba.
Please create a new samba version 3 config (/opt/etc/samba/smb.conf).
After verify your smb.conf file, modify and execute /opt/etc/init.d/S08samba
to activate the samba version 3.
Successfully terminated.
ERROR: Failed to install Samba
ERROR: Try again later...
TERMINATING SCRIPT IMMEDIATELY

I believe getting this to work is a bit over my head Rolling Eyes
Is there anybody in the room who feels like adapting the original v3install.HDsamba2 to also support Samba 3.2.13? Would be greatly appreciated. Razz

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
gruenesAlien
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2008
Posts: 717

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
There's no need to change any of HDsamba2's scripts. If you installed Hdsamba2 the normal way yust type

ipkg-opt remove samba2
ipkg-opt install samba

in the console /telnet/ssh).
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
gruenesAlien wrote:
There's no need to change any of HDsamba2's scripts. If you installed Hdsamba2 the normal way yust type

ipkg-opt remove samba2
ipkg-opt install samba

in the console /telnet/ssh).


I understand but then it still says:
Quote:
The original samba version 2 config (/etc/samba/smb.conf) is no longer
working with this version of samba.
Please create a new samba version 3 config (/opt/etc/samba/smb.conf).
After verify your smb.conf file, modify and execute /opt/etc/init.d/S08samba
to activate the samba version 3.

And I'm green as well Smile
- where do I find the smb.file version 3 template?
- what do I need to change in that file to make it work?
- how do I modify S08samba?
- shouldn't it be S80samba btw?

When I reboot the router it obviously doesn't bring up samba just like that because that was all intergrated and included in the HDsamba2 script. That's why I was originally asking for sombody to enhance the script to support samba 3.2.12

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
gruenesAlien
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2008
Posts: 717

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 13:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://us6.samba.org/samba/docs/man/Samba-HOWTO-Collection/
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 17:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
gruenesAlien wrote:
http://us6.samba.org/samba/docs/man/Samba-HOWTO-Collection/


Oke, this is what I have done so far:
Quote:
ipkg-opt remove samba2
ipkg-opt install samba (this loads indeed samba 3.2.13)


Then I noticed that the old smb.conf for samba2 has disappeared so I copied it back:
Quote:
cp /mnt/opt/etc/samba/smb.last smb.conf


I used testparm to test smb.conf:
Quote:
testparm /mnt/opt/etc/samba/smb.conf


Everything looks fine:
Quote:
Processing section "[data]"
Module '/opt/lib/charset/CP850.so' loaded
Loaded services file OK.
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
Press enter to see a dump of your service definitions

[global]
workgroup = MSHOME
netbios name = USBDISK
server string = USBdisk
security = SHARE
map to guest = Bad User
log file = /opt/var/log/samba/log.%m
max log size = 100
load printers = No
dns proxy = No
wins support = Yes
remote announce = 192.168.1.255
hosts allow = 192.168.1.0/24

[data]
path = /mnt/data/
admin users = guest, nobody
read only = No
guest ok = Yes


I noticed there was a new /opt/etc/init.d/S08samba that required a change:
From:
# set samba_active=1 to activate samba
samba_active=0
to:
Quote:
# set samba_active=1 to activate samba
samba_active=1


I ran both S10xinetd and S08samba:
Quote:
/opt/etc/init.d/S10xinetd
/opt/etc/init.d/S08samba


The smbd log file showed:
Quote:
cat /opt/var/samba/log.smbd
[2009/08/08 15:32:49, 0] source/smbd/server.c:main(1210)
smbd version 3.2.13 started.
Copyright Andrew Tridgell and the Samba Team 1992-2009

Very promising!!!!

But the samba log file showed:
Quote:
cat /mnt/opt/var/log/samba/log.smbd
[2009/08/08 15:32:49, 0] source/printing/pcap.c:pcap_cache_reload(178)
Unable to open printcap file /etc/printcap for read!
[2009/08/08 15:32:49, 0] source/printing/pcap.c:pcap_cache_reload(178)
Unable to open printcap file /etc/printcap for read!
[2009/08/08 15:32:49, 0] source/lib/interface.c:load_interfaces(523)
ERROR: Could not determine network interfaces, you must use a interfaces config line


I have tried something like:
Quote:
[global]
interfaces = eth0 192.168.1.1

which started smbd but couldn't do anything with it.

Here I got stuck Rolling Eyes
Anybody who can help me Question

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
Pandora-Box
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 218
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 20:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
@D13H4rdNL
Have you tried to enter interface name without specifying IP address?
http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/Optware/Samba
Check content of smb.conf and in this above url, interfaces list lo and ipx0, but no IP address.
Anyway, U R doing great job and progressing fast.
THX Smile

_________________
Netgear R7000
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 22:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pandora-Box wrote:
@D13H4rdNL
Have you tried to enter interface name without specifying IP address?
http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/Optware/Samba
Check content of smb.conf and in this above url, interfaces list lo and ipx0, but no IP address.
Anyway, U R doing great job and progressing fast.
THX Smile

Never heared of Unslung Laughing but I'll give it a try.
I'll keep you updated.......

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 18:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe I overread this the first few times but now when I install "ipkg-opt install samba" I suddenly get this message:
Quote:
package samba suggests installing cups

What the heck is this ........ Question Question

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 29, 30, 31 ... 33, 34, 35  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 30 of 35
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum