Netgear WGT624 V4

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Author Message
smileboot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 17:52    Post subject: Netgear WGT624 V4 Reply with quote
I just recently installed dd-wrt on a linksys wrt350n and I am loving it (some issues but nothing major).

So i am looking into installing on the router that was replaced. a Netgear WGT624 V4.

Heres as much tech info as i can find out

FCC ID PY307100060

Wirless chip
Atheros AR2318

Ethernet controller chip?
Infineon ADM6996FC

Flash chip (i have no clue on this so ill list all info i can read off what i think is the flash chip. Ill photo the board if this is wrong)
MX X075029
2SL3205AMC-206
2U225100

Ram chip
Samsung K4S281632i-UC75
16 MB i believe

With my research i have found that there has been some success installing on a V1 and V2 none on a V3.
Ports that work on other devices using the same Atheros chip as well as ports that work with the Ethernet controller.

I will be more than willing to try anything needed to try and get this working just be detailed in instructions.

Maybe i am just an idiot and theres a file i can just flash to the thing Very Happy if not any help info muchly appreciated.

EDIT:fixed typos in chips numbers


Last edited by smileboot on Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:31; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 19:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
do
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Broadcom_detection

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
smileboot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 19:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here are pics from the FCC files. And my camera is too crappy to get a readable pic of any of the chips. That said the medium sized chip between the infinion and the atheros is the chip i suspect to be the flash. I have looked and looked for information using the codes listed on it and nothing. Ill keep trying and report back if i find anything. If that cant possible be the flash plz tell me.
smileboot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I still cant find any more information about this flash chip.

Heres a link to the tech sheet for the Infineon http://www.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/pdf/116909/INFINEON/ADM6996F.html

I assume theres already a wealth of information about the atheros chip.
smileboot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok i do not know if this helps at all but here are some source files from the stock firmware and upgrades. I do not know if this is full source or just part of the source code

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/GPL/WGT624v4-V2.0.13_2.0.15_src.zip

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/GPL/WGT624v4-V2.0.13_src.zip

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/GPL/WGT624v4_V2.0.12_src.zip

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/GPL/WGT624v4_V2.0.4_src.tar.bz2

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/GPL/WGT624v4_V2.0.6_src.tar.bz2

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/GPL/WGT624v4_toolchain_src_v3.3.3-2.4.25.tar.bz2
smileboot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I guess no one has any interest in this router then?

/wanders off into the ether of the internet
valentino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:21    Post subject: Very interested! Reply with quote
Hi, I've had a WGT624 v4 for awhile now and I was hoping to get it working. I don't want you to be discouraged, as I was following your thread (recently) just to see what happened. I took mine apart, and here's the deal:

Switch: Infineon ADM6996FC
WLAN: Atheros AR2318-AC1A
RAM: Samsung 743 K4S281632I-UC75 (128 Mb/16 MB)
Flash: MX25L3205AMC-20G (32 Mb/4 MB)

From what I can tell from the "known incompatible devices" page, I don't see anything in particular that is limiting this device from running dd-wrt, but I think one of the more experienced experts can probably comment on that. I haven't tried to flash this with anything crazy yet, but I'm willing to try if no one has any useful input (e.g. "NO DON'T DO IT!!!").

Either way, though, I'll post pictures of the board as well as whatever we figure out here, just so people know... there isn't a lot of WGT624 v4 information out there now.

Good luck!
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
add serial
is redboot running?

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
valentino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 17:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey Sash,

Serial is lacking (removed) because I bought this refurbished, but FCCID is PY307100060. I don't know if Redboot is running, but should it be? That is, should I get it on there somehow?

Thanks!
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 17:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
redboot is necessary for porting to ddwrt
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
valentino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:37    Post subject: Redboot etc. Reply with quote
Hey Sash,

Thanks for your advice. I'll try to get Redboot on there this weekend. What should I do after that?
smileboot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 22:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh activity. How did the serial+redboot go? I think i remember reading something about redboot on the openwrt forums. Ill go poke about and see what information i can gather.
valentino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:25    Post subject: Not sure if chipset supports this functionality? Reply with quote
So, I realized that putting redboot on this thing is a bit trickier than I realized. I don't have a JTAG cable and don't really have the stuff to make one offhand just yet. Nevertheless, the default firmware on this thing is a version of BusyBox and has its own command-line tools built-in. However, and maybe I'm already stating the obvious for a number of reasons, you can't change its wireless mode (e.g. from AP to client) and other similar sorts of functionality. While perhaps DD-WRT would be able to fix this, I'm just wondering whether or not everyone/anyone is sure whether this will work? Maybe I do just need to fix myself up a JTAG cable and go to town... might not get to it for a bit, though.

Thanks!
smileboot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 17:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you got a multimeter and can find the serial/jtag points (cant remember if we need jtag or serial /me shrugs ) and upload a pic pointing where i need to solder. I think i have some parts laying about that i can use and if i don't its good to have in case someone else who stumbles across this wants to give it a bash
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 17:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
redboot is necessary for porting to ddwrt


anyway we need a full serial bootlog.

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 30
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum