Alix 3D3 + Atheros 5414 (AR5006XS) hangs in client[bridge]

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
floppy82
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Pisa - Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 23:41    Post subject: Alix 3D3 + Atheros 5414 (AR5006XS) hangs in client[bridge] Reply with quote
I'm using 3 alix board 3D3 with WISTRON DCMA-81 Atheros miniPCI (AR5414) cards.

All work fine but if you leave some interfaces in Client[bridge] without being associated with an AP it hangs after few minutes (10-20min).

We have the same problem on all 3 boards.
I also tried with different wifi cards (mikrotik r52 and WI01HT) with no success.

Plugging the board to a CRT Display (it has VGA) it doesn't show any errors and the keyboard doens't work... it seems completely freezed!!

Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (01/02/09) std
x86 Professional Registered
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 16:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
dont use client bridge.
use wds_ap and wds-sta for transparent bridging

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
floppy82
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Pisa - Italy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 20:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
dont use client bridge.
use wds_ap and wds-sta for transparent bridging


Does it support WPA2 ?

This is my network now:

Alix1(AP)<->(CB)Alix2(AP)<->(CB)Alix3(AP)<->
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 20:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
floppy82 wrote:

Does it support WPA2 ?


for sure!

install the latest bios

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
floppy82
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Pisa - Italy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 23:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quick help on the Webif says:

"WDS is only available in AP mode. Also Wireless encryption WPA2 and Wireless network mode B-Only are not supported under WDS."

My board (Alix 3D3) is shipped with the latest (10/06/08 ) bios.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 8:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
wiki wds
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
floppy82
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Pisa - Italy

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 14:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
...It also hangs if you play with site survey.

At this point I believe its a bug related to scanning function...


Does anyone know if alix board supports watchdog timer and it is supported by DD-WRT?
floppy82
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Pisa - Italy

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 16:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
..same problem on Alix 3C2
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 20:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
what wds r u using?!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
floppy82
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Pisa - Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
what wds r u using?!


The problem is not related to wds, anyway we are using (WDS AP) <-> (WDS STA + WDS AP)<-> (WDS STA)

So, the system freeze (sometimes) when:

- you leave a client (client bridge,client,wds sta) not associated for a while (10-30 min)
- you play with site survey
- you switch the channel on the AP

Of course lasts two points can be avoided but, due to
the first, when a node goes down for several minutes it starts a domino effect to the next nodes.
I have to an hard reset after a crash.
Furtunately, when all nodes are linked and nobody play with ddwrt all works fine.

It seems a problem related to channel switching/scanning..
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 13:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
soryy but i have seversal systems rúnnin like this and al are fine when clientes disconnect.
this should be a client problem then.
what cliennts?

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
floppy82
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Pisa - Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 16:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
soryy but i have seversal systems rúnnin like this and al are fine when clientes disconnect.
this should be a client problem then.
what cliennts?


We use alix board (3D3 and 3C2) that acts as WDS AP with a wifi interface and as WDS STA with the other.

All boards have the same problem, I think it is a madwifi problem.

(DD-WRT pre-SP2 on all)
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 16:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
when the clients are wds-sta then it works. we have many devices running like this incl. wrap/alix
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
floppy82
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Pisa - Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 16:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
when the clients are wds-sta then it works. we have many devices running like this incl. wrap/alix


Have you ever experienced a "system freeze" on these boards? (wds or not)
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
no, never up to now.
u might have a underpowered psu!
poe?

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum