Netgear WNDR3300 router - How to add external. ant?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
ddwrtliukuohao
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 15:41    Post subject: Netgear WNDR3300 router - How to add external. ant? Reply with quote
Hi I have attached a pic below.

The questions written on the pic.

Can someone help out.

Any advice will be grateful.

Thank you.
Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing



NetgearWNDR3300InternalAntennae.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  252.17 KB
 Viewed:  44786 Time(s)

NetgearWNDR3300InternalAntennae.jpg


Sponsor
ad5mb
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 386

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 16:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
These are probably U.FLs
ddwrtliukuohao
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can someone confirm the RF connectors are in fact U.FL
type? And not mistaken by some other connectors.

Also, can someone determine which RF connectors are meant for 5 GHz? and 2.4 GHz?

Thanks.

Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing
ddwrtliukuohao
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 1:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I have read somewhere in the forum,
these connectors are actually Hirose U.FL RF connectors.
They have a limited number of times of plugging into
the socket. Once the limit is reached, then it is
useless, right????? Rolling Eyes

Can someone in the community confirm that it is
in fact a Hirose U.FL RF connector? Can I plug in
using any U.FL pigtail cable of the shelf? Or do I
need a special U.FL cable for these connectors? Rolling Eyes

You advice is much appreciated.

Thank you.


Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing
ddwrtliukuohao
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 10:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I have got a feeling that even though, I have the
right RF plugs and plug into of one of U.FL RF
connectors on the PCB, the radio signal
does not get bypassed completely right? It still uses
the PCB antenna, right?

If this is absolutely right. Then no point trying
to add external antenna on the router.
It will will be a complete failure.


Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
twinmos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,
These connectors are NOT U.FL These are RF Testing switches. According to Hirose web site there is no simple socket to connect to it. I'm planning to remove them and solder U.FL on the same place. It WILL woid warranty but I don't care.
ddwrtliukuohao
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 6:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
twinmos wrote:
Hi,
These connectors are NOT U.FL These are RF Testing switches. According to Hirose web site there is no simple socket to connect to it. I'm planning to remove them and solder U.FL on the same place. It WILL woid warranty but I don't care.


Hi Twinmos,

Thanks for replying post. Very Happy

I thought that no one in the dd-wrt community is ever
going to reply my post. Smile

Could you attach a pic on how to desolder/remove the Hirose
sockets? Also, if you did successfully remove the
Hirose sockets on the PCB, and installed a U.FL,
does the radio signal get bypassed when you install
an external antenna?

As my pic show the WNDR3300 is using PCB/smart
antennae which is built into the PCB and there
tracks already made to guide the radio
signal to use the PCB/smart antenna.

I am interested to know how since, I have never come
across to this problem. Comparing to Linksys routers
like WRT150N, WRT160N and WRT310N, desoldering the
antenna are very very much easy to do.

Let me know when you are free

Thanks a million

Laughing Laughing Laughing :lol:

_____________________________________________________
WRT150N x4 - WDS (Client) ruuning dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT310N x1 - WDS (Host) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT160N x1 - WDS (Client) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
twinmos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 18:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
First few details about radios: as you noticed there are 2 radios: one BG type only (2.4 GHz) with 2 antennas and DD-wrt software name it as wl1;
second is dual band ABGN type radio, supporting either 2.4 OR 5 GHz bands. DD-wrt names it as wl0. So antenna type depends on radio band you intend to use.

When current connector is removed internal (on PCB) antenna is going to be disconnected. Installing U.FL connector will require to ground internal antenna according to pinout. In this case router will NOT work without external antennas at all.
Now I'm looking for all parts to have in hands before I start actual soldering.

Thanks.
ddwrtliukuohao
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi Twinmos,

Thank for replying.

Please see the attachment.
I have resize the picture of the internal view of
WNDR3300 router.

I noticed the WNDR3300 is a dual band router,
therefore, it can run 2 frequencies. There are
2.4GHz and 5.0GHz as you mentioned in your last post.

I have a question regarding about the router's
internal antennae.

If you open up the cover underneath the router,
there are actually 5 Hirose RF connectors.
3 Hirose RF connectors are coming from a chip.
Would you know what frequencies it is running???
at 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz??? or both??

:roll: Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

Netgear claims that the WNDR3300 router has
got 8 antenna by which it is true.
If you count there is a total of 8 smart antennae.

5 smart antennae can be traced starting from the
edge on the PCB.

It will meet RF the connectors if you traced back to
the centre of the PCB. Therefore, 5 Hirose
connectors are used. Then what about the other 3
smart antennae? What is the purpose of having extra
3 smart antennae? What frequency would it be running
at?

:roll: Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

If you are free let me know your answers.

I will look forward of seeing some pics on how you
manage to replace the Hirose connectors with U.FL
type.

Thanks a million.

Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing :lol:



_____________________________________________________
WRT150N x4 - WDS (Client) ruuning dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT310N x1 - WDS (Host) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT160N x1 - WDS (Client) running dd-wrt v24 sp1



NetgearWNDR3300InternalView.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  104.38 KB
 Viewed:  44595 Time(s)

NetgearWNDR3300InternalView.jpg


twinmos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi ddwrtliukuohao,

2 connectors on your right belong to BG-only 2.4 GHz radio interface ("wl1"). So here you can't make any mistake.
3 connectors on your left belong to universal dual-band radio interface. This interface is capable to provide BGN radio interface on 2.4 GHz band OR AN radio interface on 5 GHz band depending on your configuration. This interface named "wl0".
On DD-WRT gui under "wireless" setup you will find "Wireless physical interface wl0" - that is it. If you select "Wireless Network mode" as "A-only" or "NA-only" you get 5 GHz band, any other modes for 2.4 GHz band.

About number of antennas - I don't care what Netgear claim. I can see only 5 ACTIVE antennas and I don't care if they are smart (or not very smart Very Happy ). Actually I'm wandering how this router can work having such antennas :shock:

Hope this helps,
ddwrtliukuohao
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 15:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi Twinmos,

Thanks for replying my post again. Laughing

Thanks for clarifying which Hirose RF connectors are
using which WIFI radio frequencies: 2.4 & 5GHz.

It has been very informative regarding dd-wrt
definition on the 2 frequencies "wl0" and "wl1".

Let's go to the 3 RF connectors.
Would you know which ones are used for 5GHz?

This is very important, as in the market there are 2
types of antennae, one is suitable to run at 2.4GHz
and the other is suitable to run at 5GHz.


5GHz antenna is available for outdoor use but not
sure whether it is availble for indoor. Can you get
5GHz rubber duck type antenna for indoor use? Rolling Eyes

Lastly, are you planning to remove the Hirose
connectors and replace it with U.FL?

How to ground the internal PCB antenna if you intend
to install 5 external antennae? Rolling Eyes

Would you able to share out your ideas?
So that everyone in the community will know how to
modify the WNDR3300 router to have an external
antenna. Wink

Thanks again for your vualable advice. Surprised

_____________________________________________________
WRT150N x4 - WDS (Client) ruuning dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT310N x1 - WDS (Host) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT160N x1 - WDS (Client) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
ddwrtliukuohao
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 15:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi twinmos,

Any update on your antenna modification
of your WNDR3300 router?

Thanks

Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

_____________________________________________________
WRT150N x4 - WDS (Client) ruuning dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT310N x1 - WDS (Host) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT160N x1 - WDS (Client) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
wwd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 16:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have build a wndr3300 for external use, but there are problems with ACK-Timing. It is very bad over 500 meters, only 2 Mbyte/sek with NA and 40 MHz bandwith.

I have testet the Connectors, see the picture, I hope this help:



wndr3300-antennen.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  129.13 KB
 Viewed:  44342 Time(s)

wndr3300-antennen.jpg


ddwrtliukuohao
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 1:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi wwd,

Thanks for your feedback!!!!
What mention on your post seems to confirm with
Twinmos.

I would like to how you manage to connect a pigtail
cable to the 5 RF Hirose connectors.

I am used to solder pigtail cable to install ext.
antenna for all my Linksys routers. Soldering the cable
was easy, but I am stuck in knowing how to do it with
the Netgear WNDR3300 router.

Care to share your ideas????

Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

Since, I am new to dd-wrt, what is the exact problem
you are facing with ACK-Timing?

Thank you again for helping out.
_____________________________________________________
WRT150N x4 - WDS (Client) ruuning dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT310N x1 - WDS (Host) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT160N x1 - WDS (Client) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
ddwrtliukuohao
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi wwd,

A note of advice about the distance if 5GHz radio is
used.

I have read some articles in the past, just recently
in Netgear's knowledge base. If you want the signal
to travel further distance, 2.4GHz is highly
recommended.

Due to the nature of RF characteristic, RF at lower
frequencies can travel further than higher
frequencies.

Surprised Surprised Surprised Surprised Surprised Surprised Surprised Surprised

_____________________________________________________
WRT150N x4 - WDS (Client) ruuning dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT310N x1 - WDS (Host) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
WRT160N x1 - WDS (Client) running dd-wrt v24 sp1
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum