Bandwidth cap and QoS

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom Customer Downloads & Updates
Author Message
jtdrummerboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 20:54    Post subject: Bandwidth cap and QoS Reply with quote
With Bandwidth control and QOS, is there any way to place a cap on the WAN port to prevent downloads from exceeding a certain limit? I have satellite internet which limits me to 200MB a day. Everytime I exceed the 200MB, they cut me off for 24hrs...I need to avoid that. Any help is appreciated Smile
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 19:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
no there is no integrated way.
u have to do some scripting by ourself.

i have to solve this prob too. i will do some work on it the next month an hope bS will bring it into v25.

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
cyberde
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1488
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can use the info the bandwidth graph uses right, compare that and then bring vlan1 down using ifconfig.

Should do the trick I guess...

_________________
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (latest available) mega
WRT320N

Donater
jtdrummerboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
cyberde, how would i use ifconfig to bring down vlan1? I am not very familiar with scripting in DD-WRT.
cyberde
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1488
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 18:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
ifconfig vlan1 down Smile
_________________
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (latest available) mega
WRT320N

Donater
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom Customer Downloads & Updates All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum