Trying to recover a DIR-300 via serial, need some help

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
tekman54190
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 17:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok thanks for your reply Wink

I'll try tomorrow Wink and I keep you in touch.
Sponsor
cybermiguel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey guys. I have the same problem. The power went off in my house while I was flashing my DIR-300. Result? it only turns on the "power" light and it doesn't recognise any of the ethernet ports, so I can't get to redboot.

Now, I've been reading about a parallel (LPT-1 kind of things) adapter and read that it works well. The thing is...well... I have a built-in serial port on my motherboard (the kind that has 9 pins) and appears as COM1 on Windows and have a LPT port as well.

Which one should I use?

Can I use the RS-232 port (the COM1) with a direct connection to the router? Do I have to make an adapter?
palmboy5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 433
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
You will need an adapter from the RS-232 COM port to the router. The circuitry for that adapter can be found here:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/LaFonera_Hardware_Serial-Cable-Port#Very_simple_console_adapter

_________________
WRT54GL 1.1 v24 preSP2 r14896 | RNX-GX4 v24 preSP2 r14929 | 2x AR430W v24 (both bricked ATM) | 2x F*n2100 Legend Pre4.5U & v24 preSP2 r13525
oxyg3n
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Domino_55
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
webudo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 20:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm trying to recover my DIR-300 after making a mistake while trying to reflash. I can't access it via ethernet, so I'm using a siemens mobile serial data cable which has a MAX3232 on it, and I'm able to read the initial booting text over Putty, but when I get to the part that says to press Ctrl+C, it just ignores it.
After that pause (1 seccond duration) it comes the "redboot>" prompt, but nothing I press on my keyboard seems to be going through :(

Am I doing something wrong?
Any ideas?

Thanks!
vinceapp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Aug 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 11:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please refer the Schematic from here:
http://sodoityourself.com/max232-serial-level-converter/

I can access my DIR-300 via this serial converter using puttytel. (9600,n,8,1)Laughing
webudo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks vinceapp!
Mi brother made the circuit for me and I was able to access the router via serial Very Happy
Now it works again!

Cheers!
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum