?: Need help understanding routing over a client bridge

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
bgiovannoni
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jan 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 16:25    Post subject: ?: Need help understanding routing over a client bridge Reply with quote
Hello all thanx for the in advance.

Here is my set up:


Code:
192.168.1.254   192.168.2.1                      X.X.2.69
Modem( DSL ) - ASUS RT-AC5300 -Eth1- Switch -Eth2- PC1
               |      |     |
              2.4    5G1   5G2
                            |
                            |
                        Asus AC88U (client-bridge) X.X.2.2
                            |
                           Eth3
                            |
                          switch
                            |
                           Eth4
                            |
                           PC2 X.X.2.24



ASUS RT-AC5300 Firmware Version:3.0.0.4.380_1355
Asus AC88U (client-bridge) DD-WRT v3.0-r28882 std (01/19/16)



Problem 1:
I am able to configure the client bridge just fine. Feels stable except and about 24 hours I am no longer able to connect to the webUI from PC1.


I maintain using the the RT-AC5300 firmware because I really like AIProtection for parental control with my internet addicted child. Best solution I found to date.

Problem 2:
The RT-AC5300 has a weird feature. It shows connection from the bridge as an aggregate. Here is an example:

http://s10.postimg.org/edulegw2x/asus5300.jpg

After the ~24 period you only see a single client connection on the bridge. You are only able to ping that single IP (sometimes) [PC1->PC2]. All other clients can route thru the client-bridge, ping and work just fine [PC2->PC1]. Seems like only the client to access the inet last IP is displayed in the 5300 webui. This ping test does not always work. The bridge routing seems stable.


Any clues, settings I may not have thought of?

Thank you.
Sponsor
bgiovannoni
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jan 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 0:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
eibgrad wrote:
For those devices seemingly losing their connections, try assigning static routes on the client itself. IOW, don't use DHCP from the router, but just assign a static IP, gateway IP, DNS server, etc. statically using the client's local network configuration tools. And make sure those static IPs do NOT fall into the ip range managed by the router's DHCP server.



Yes if I set the clients to be static including using 8.8.8.8 for DNS things work fine.

Seems like DHCP over the client-bridge is wonky. I don't see this problem when directly connecting to the main router.

Thoughts?
bgiovannoni
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jan 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
eibgrad,

THANK YOU! Very Happy

That was helpful.

I think I might try the client approach with a new subnet (Separate DNS) and add a route to the new subnet on the main router.

If I cannot get that to work I will fall back on all static IPs.

I really appreciate the time and effort you put into explaining this.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum