Linksys WRT54G2 now supported

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 18, 19, 20 ... 76, 77, 78  Next
Author Message
YodaEXE
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
So, I'm curious, if I were to go and get the latest TNG build (namely, the dd-wrt.v24-11296_NEWD_micro.bin file), can I install it safely onto my WRT54G2?
Sponsor
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11451
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 19:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
YodaEXE wrote:
So, I'm curious, if I were to go and get the latest TNG build (namely, the dd-wrt.v24-11296_NEWD_micro.bin file), can I install it safely onto my WRT54G2?


Yes...you can also safely load micro_plus and Micro_Plus_SSH

All will fit on the G2v1 units.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
YodaEXE
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 19:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
YodaEXE wrote:
So, I'm curious, if I were to go and get the latest TNG build (namely, the dd-wrt.v24-11296_NEWD_micro.bin file), can I install it safely onto my WRT54G2?


Yes...you can also safely load micro_plus and Micro_Plus_SSH

All will fit on the G2v1 units.

redhawk


Cool, thanks. Any advantages to using the plus or ssh versions? I'm not really sure of the differences between those and the regular micro builds.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11451
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
YodaEXE wrote:
redhawk0 wrote:
YodaEXE wrote:
So, I'm curious, if I were to go and get the latest TNG build (namely, the dd-wrt.v24-11296_NEWD_micro.bin file), can I install it safely onto my WRT54G2?


Yes...you can also safely load micro_plus and Micro_Plus_SSH

All will fit on the G2v1 units.

redhawk


Cool, thanks. Any advantages to using the plus or ssh versions? I'm not really sure of the differences between those and the regular micro builds.


Load the Micro_Plus...it includes the full busybox set of linux commands. The regular micro is stripped down.

This way when you telnet into the router (if you ever do) you will have all the linux commands available.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
jdelrio22
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
So recently picked up the WRT54G2 router and have been attempting to do the firmware upgrade but it isn't working.

Changed my Internet protocol 4 IP address on my comp. 192.168.1.10 with subnet mask of 255.255.255.0

Went to tftp - password admin and used the file prep but it refuses to do the update.

Did double check and the windows firewall is disabled already.
twoheadedboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:21    Post subject: maximum ports Reply with quote
are there any (bad) side-effects of increasing the maximum ports from 512 to 4096?
vasechka
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 19:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi,
i'm running
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/30/0Cool micro
(SVN revision 10709M NEWD Eko)
on my G2. what would be latest version to install?
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 19:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
twoheadedboy wrote:
are there any (bad) side-effects of increasing the maximum ports from 512 to 4096?


possibly. If your router only has 8MB RAM we generally recommend 1024 max. 4096 will probably be ok with 16MB of RAM. But even then I don't know if micro can truly handle that many connections.

vasechka wrote:
what would be latest version to install?


latest versions always found here:

ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24_TNG/
vasechka
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 22:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
soulstace wrote:

vasechka wrote:
what would be latest version to install?


latest versions always found here:

ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24_TNG/

i found that already, but which one is stable enough to replace original?
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11451
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
vasechka wrote:
soulstace wrote:

vasechka wrote:
what would be latest version to install?


latest versions always found here:

ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24_TNG/

i found that already, but which one is stable enough to replace original?


I am still recommending 11296 at the moment.

I had it running for 16+ days on some of my units.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
kpower
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
I wanted to say thankyou again.

I now have eko's builds running on 4 wrt54g2's, and I got a 54gl today going as well

I realised my repeating wasn't working because you have to add the vlan. I should have followed the wiki steps more carefully

I'm a very very satisfied customer

I've donated and will be promoting ddwrt.
demlasjr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 18:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi. I have a little question. If I want to install this firmware for my Linksys WRT54G2, is there a problem if my local ip addresses are set for 10.1.2.1 and not for 192.168.10.1 ?
I have a ADSL 2 connection and I use a ADSL Modem Router which have ip 10.1.1.1, and my Linksys get 10.1.1.3. (10.1.1.2 is occupied with a server) and I give for other pc´s which are connected from Linksys ip´s starting with 10.1.2.x
Is much simple for me with this ip´s and everything are set for this, so I don´t wanna change it.
Thanks for help.
kpower
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 20:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
demlasjr wrote:
hi. I have a little question. If I want to install this firmware for my Linksys WRT54G2, is there a problem if my local ip addresses are set for 10.1.2.1 and not for 192.168.10.1 ?
I have a ADSL 2 connection and I use a ADSL Modem Router which have ip 10.1.1.1, and my Linksys get 10.1.1.3. (10.1.1.2 is occupied with a server) and I give for other pc´s which are connected from Linksys ip´s starting with 10.1.2.x
Is much simple for me with this ip´s and everything are set for this, so I don´t wanna change it.
Thanks for help.


you will find that ddwrt is extremely flexible and will work in any combination if you think it through carefully.

the main choice you have to make is whether you configure the ddwrt to do everything on the same subnet or whether you configure it to run it's own subnet and then NAT everything.

I personally prefer the former, so I run repeater bridge mode.

thanks,
Wayne
Deppo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Location: NY, NY

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey i got a quick questions,

so i flashed the prep and the killer and they seemed to take, so i went to flash the micro and it failed

my computer is seeing the router(using my laptop, turned wireless off) but when i run the tftp it keeps failing and i cant seem to ping the router.

any ideas?
jdelrio22
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for the guide - got the software setup and it worked well.

Problem now though is that I got the main router to recognize the client and give it an ip but when connected to the client it won't let me access the internet connection.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 18, 19, 20 ... 76, 77, 78  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 19 of 78
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum