Will TP-Link TL-WR941ND be supported?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 24, 25, 26  Next
Author Message
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7086
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
nunatax wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:
v2 and v3 are working now. i will upload it with the next builds


What about v4?



v4 is a different hardware (similar to 741nd)
i can do some work on guess base. but i have no real hardware for testing and this is important. i spended 3 days just into support for the marvell switch which is used on this board

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
Sponsor
kesunji
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="BrainSlayer"]
LOM wrote:
kesunji wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:


Because I find by some spec that WR941N is 3T3R one.
So I change TX Antenna Chains from default 1+3 to 1+2+3. I am not sure which one will works better.


The radio chip is an Atheros AR9103 which does 3x3 MIMO so you should use all 3 antennas.


this is wrong. its a AR9132 WISOC. its 3x2 (3rx, 2 tx)
so chainmask 1+2+3 for rx and 1+3 for tx is correct (default)



Hi BrainSlayer, AR9132 is the soc chip which support 3x3 MIMO, by the following picture, WR941N is using Atheros AR9103 for wireless card. Atheros AR9103 is 3x3 MIMO IC. So most of the news says WR941N is a 3T3R router.

http://hi.baidu.com/_extra/blog/item/a8913617ace8ee0a4a90a787.html
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="BrainSlayer"]
LOM wrote:
kesunji wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:


Because I find by some spec that WR941N is 3T3R one.
So I change TX Antenna Chains from default 1+3 to 1+2+3. I am not sure which one will works better.


The radio chip is an Atheros AR9103 which does 3x3 MIMO so you should use all 3 antennas.


this is wrong. its a AR9132 WISOC. its 3x2 (3rx, 2 tx)
so chainmask 1+2+3 for rx and 1+3 for tx is correct (default)


There are a couple of different versions of the 941ND, I don't know what version you have but mine is a v2.
It has a metal shield box with an AR9103 inside, a single band (2.4GHz) 3x3 MIMO radio.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7086
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 13:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="kesunji"]
BrainSlayer wrote:
LOM wrote:
kesunji wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:


Because I find by some spec that WR941N is 3T3R one.
So I change TX Antenna Chains from default 1+3 to 1+2+3. I am not sure which one will works better.


The radio chip is an Atheros AR9103 which does 3x3 MIMO so you should use all 3 antennas.


this is wrong. its a AR9132 WISOC. its 3x2 (3rx, 2 tx)
so chainmask 1+2+3 for rx and 1+3 for tx is correct (default)


Hi BrainSlayer, AR9132 is the soc chip which support 3x3 MIMO, by the following picture, WR941N is using Atheros AR9103 for wireless card. Atheros AR9103 is 3x3 MIMO IC. So most of the news says WR941N is a 3T3R router.

http://hi.baidu.com/_extra/blog/item/a8913617ace8ee0a4a90a787.html


thats wrong. atheros has no 3x3 solution on the market yet. the first chipset with 3tx and 3rx streams will be the ar93xx minipci express chipset which is not really on the market yet. the ar9132 is 2 years old now and supports just 2 tx streams. everone who tells you something else, does not tell you the truth. even vendors often say that its 3x3, but in fact this is a wrong information. for sure they sell better if they say its 3x3, but its a marketing lie.
the ar9132 wifi soc part is based on the old ar5416 minipci design

the ar9103 chip beyond the shield is just the phy. the wireless mac itself is implemented into the ar9132 cpu

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
kesunji
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 14:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="BrainSlayer"]
kesunji wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:
LOM wrote:
kesunji wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:


Because I find by some spec that WR941N is 3T3R one.
So I change TX Antenna Chains from default 1+3 to 1+2+3. I am not sure which one will works better.


The radio chip is an Atheros AR9103 which does 3x3 MIMO so you should use all 3 antennas.


this is wrong. its a AR9132 WISOC. its 3x2 (3rx, 2 tx)
so chainmask 1+2+3 for rx and 1+3 for tx is correct (default)


Hi BrainSlayer, AR9132 is the soc chip which support 3x3 MIMO, by the following picture, WR941N is using Atheros AR9103 for wireless card. Atheros AR9103 is 3x3 MIMO IC. So most of the news says WR941N is a 3T3R router.

http://hi.baidu.com/_extra/blog/item/a8913617ace8ee0a4a90a787.html


thats wrong. atheros has no 3x3 solution on the market yet. the first chipset with 3tx and 3rx streams will be the ar93xx minipci express chipset which is not really on the market yet. the ar9132 is 2 years old now and supports just 2 tx streams. everone who tells you something else, does not tell you the truth. even vendors often say that its 3x3, but in fact this is a wrong information. for sure they sell better if they say its 3x3, but its a marketing lie.
the ar9132 wifi soc part is based on the old ar5416 minipci design

the ar9103 chip beyond the shield is just the phy. the wireless mac itself is implemented into the ar9132 cpu


I beleive you must get more detailed information about AR9132 than most of us. I have change it back to 1+3, in most of case it should be no much different with 1+2+3 I think.

But I still can not get my notebook connect the router with 300MHz. I have set the downer control channel and manually set main channel to 11. Then I can see when the setting use apply to the router, I can get the 300MHz connection speed but after 1 minute, it will down to 130MHz only. I find there are many 802.11g AP with channel 6 around my appartment. Here is the inSSIDer picture I got. I am not sure whether I can find a channel to make 300MHz work in my home.
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7086
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
the main problem arent 802.11g networks (but they are problematic for sure due the high inteferences)
problematic are bluetooth networks. some wifi devices will disable ht40 if blutooth is detected. from my experiences the ralink based usb sticks will work best at 2.4 ghz with ht40. broadcom for example disables ht40 completelly for 2.4 ghz in there clients (common problem on mac book pro systems) in 5 ghz there are less problems

in addition. yes i have very detailed informations about atheros chipsets since atheros provides us the neccessary informations for driver development.

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
kesunji
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 1:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
the main problem arent 802.11g networks (but they are problematic for sure due the high inteferences)
problematic are bluetooth networks. some wifi devices will disable ht40 if blutooth is detected. from my experiences the ralink based usb sticks will work best at 2.4 ghz with ht40. broadcom for example disables ht40 completelly for 2.4 ghz in there clients (common problem on mac book pro systems) in 5 ghz there are less problems

in addition. yes i have very detailed informations about atheros chipsets since atheros provides us the neccessary informations for driver development.


Thanks very much!
scottath
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Apr 2010
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there a rom for going dd-wrt > original firmware too yet?

i have a 941 but i tihnk it was damaged by lighting in a storm - so i was going to try running dd-wrt on it to "troubleshoot it" before RMA'ing it back and obviously i cannot rma it with custom firmware on it.

if so - i'll flash mine tonight.
scottath
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Apr 2010
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
well it seems to be running VERY well with the DD-WRT firmware on it.
Good news - i dont need to rma it Very Happy
aboutfung
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 2:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a v3.2 941ND, however, I've heard that someone who have tried flashing with DD-WRT have some problems, e.g. settings cannot be saved once the router reboots.

Is there anything I can do or just wait?

Thanks.
Richard_F
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 11:56    Post subject: Firmware Reply with quote
Hi,

Where can I download the firmware for the 941?
RussianNeuroMancer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/
Richard_F
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:57    Post subject: Firmware Reply with quote
Thank you.
philth
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jun 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="kesunji"]
kesunji wrote:


But I think if we can get USB work then get a usb work outside for program storage is a good idea and can be easier for most of WR941N users.

BTW, I heared USB mod only need to pull the 3 pin (GND/DP/DN) out and use a external 5V powered usb hub then we can get USB HW work. I will try it later time.


Hi Kesunji,

Have you been able to get the USB working? I have been battling that now using the idea of connecting a powered hub. If yes can you show where you attached the wires?

Thanks
TripleA
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 2:31    Post subject: PPPoE Reply with quote
Hi

I'm very happy to see DD-WRT working on the 941ND. Thanks to everyone who made it possible, both the coders and jatho for donating the hardware.

I flashed my 941ND v3 yesterday and everything I checked seems working. Except for PPPoE connectivity. I've entered my username and password in the usual way and WAN just refuses to connect. The same username and password are working using other hardware, so it's not a trivial case of mis-spelling :)

Any idea what I might be doing wrong?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 24, 25, 26  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 9 of 26
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum