QoS (HFSC) upload limit bug ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
maxzerker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:03    Post subject: QoS (HFSC) upload limit bug ? Reply with quote
it's seems that upload field doesn't effect on upload bandwidth,
but the download field effect on both upload and download.

Is anyone got the same prob as mine ?

I've try this following firmware on my WRT54GL

-DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (05/16/06) std/mini
-DD-WRT ml v23 SP1 Final std/mini

but result is the same, Help me BS T_T

_________________
Linksys WRT54GL, DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (05/16/06) std


Last edited by maxzerker on Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:30; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
DaEnigma
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
They seem to be switched... Try your upload limit in the download limit box...

I just updated top the 06/16/2006 build and did a full reset. Now if I enable HFSC I am unable to get an IP from my ISP :\
BG
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 69
Location: AL/GA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can anyone confirm that they are switched? They don't seem to be in my case.
_________________
WRT54G 3.1
DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (05/16/06) std

ScrapeTorrent.com -- My Bittorrent Search Site
maxzerker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 15:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
BG wrote:
Can anyone confirm that they are switched? They don't seem to be in my case.

in my case they are not switched,
but upload field is just for visible on my router,
even set it to 10 kbps i still get full upload speed.
it doesn't work at all.
skumaru
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 15:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
maxzerker wrote:
BG wrote:
Can anyone confirm that they are switched? They don't seem to be in my case.

in my case they are not switched,
but upload field is just for visible on my router,
even set it to 10 kbps i still get full upload speed.
it doesn't work at all.


For me also it is not switched. What ever you put in the upload dosen't have any effect and I'll get full upload speed.
maxzerker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
skumaru wrote:
maxzerker wrote:
BG wrote:
Can anyone confirm that they are switched? They don't seem to be in my case.

in my case they are not switched,
but upload field is just for visible on my router,
even set it to 10 kbps i still get full upload speed.
it doesn't work at all.


For me also it is not switched. What ever you put in the upload dosen't have any effect and I'll get full upload speed.


yes, so this is a real bug, i'm not the only one. Sad

_________________
Linksys WRT54GL, DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (05/16/06) std
mahenry
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jun 2006
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you specifically try the SVN_2458 multi-language build:?:

Not sure if it will make a difference, but saw this build recommended in another post.

_________________
whr-g54s -- DD-WRT v23 SP2 (08/04/06) mini -- gateway
wrt54gs v5 -- DD-WRT v23 SP2 (08/04/06) micro -- AP


Last edited by mahenry on Sat Jun 17, 2006 3:06; edited 1 time in total
maxzerker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 3:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
mahenry wrote:
Oops. Sorry, looks like you have already tried this build...

thanks for your advice, reset default,upload firmware with default reset, reset and reconfig, anyting that i can click push or type, but no luck.

_________________
Linksys WRT54GL, DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (05/16/06) std
j.m.
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
skumaru wrote:
maxzerker wrote:
BG wrote:
Can anyone confirm that they are switched? They don't seem to be in my case.

in my case they are not switched,
but upload field is just for visible on my router,
even set it to 10 kbps i still get full upload speed.
it doesn't work at all.


For me also it is not switched. What ever you put in the upload dosen't have any effect and I'll get full upload speed.


I can confirm this bug still exists as of at least the 6/6/06 version.

[EDIT - Bug still exists in latest 6/17/06 version. Just to be clear, the bug is only present when using HSFC. HTB works okay.]
scott85213
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Mesa, AZ

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 18:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, they seem to be reversed for me, I was playing with them last night. No huge loss, still a great firmware.
j.m.
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 1:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
scott85213 wrote:
Yeah, they seem to be reversed for me, I was playing with them last night. No huge loss, still a great firmware.


They aren't reversed for me. Upload simply has no effect.
skumaru
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
j.m. wrote:
scott85213 wrote:
Yeah, they seem to be reversed for me, I was playing with them last night. No huge loss, still a great firmware.


They aren't reversed for me. Upload simply has no effect.


Once HFSC is enabled, upload & download speed is throttled to the speed you put on download speed textbox and hence the figure in the upload textbox has no effect.
Hadschi72
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 12:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi,
can someone please explain the difference between HTB and HFSC?
When should I use what?

Pls don't just copy and paste the online help - I already read it... - still I don't get the use case for them...

thx
H.

_________________
Linksys WRT54GL1.1
dd-wrt.v23 SP3 (23/03/07) std
Cable: 8000DL/512UL
2 PC's + 1 Ovislink WMU9000 as AP (no routing) via Ethernet (1WLAN Client on AP)
2 WLAN Clients on WRT54GL (1x Notebook (Intel chipset), 1x PC via Ovislink WL8000PCI).
bigjohn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 14:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
did you check the wiki?

perhaps you could explain what you need to do and someone could tell you which is better.

I've been usign HTB, but that is because it is what was implemented in the oldest builds (my first was a v.22 beta, I think...)

I think I might load the 6-16-06 build and see how HFSC effects the traffic flow in and out of my house.
Hadschi72
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 23:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes, I read the wiki... (I found no explaination)

ok I have at least 3 machines on the network. Everyone wants to do everything.
I just need service - priorisation (not mac, ethernet port, ...)

all I want is that worldofwarcraft has premium priority and all p2p traffic bulk.

everything works fine with me with HTB. (tested it several times - wow has ping times between 30ms and 120ms - thats normal- as without qos and when I'm the only wow-gamer on the router).

I sat:
worldofwarcraft & DNS to premium
http, teamspeak and skypetoskype and quicktime to express
and all p2p, and ftp to bulk.

Q:
I will probably use VoIP in the near future and would like to know whats the difference of those two mechanisms and whether I should start experimenting with HFSC.


cu

_________________
Linksys WRT54GL1.1
dd-wrt.v23 SP3 (23/03/07) std
Cable: 8000DL/512UL
2 PC's + 1 Ovislink WMU9000 as AP (no routing) via Ethernet (1WLAN Client on AP)
2 WLAN Clients on WRT54GL (1x Notebook (Intel chipset), 1x PC via Ovislink WL8000PCI).
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum