DD-WRT on Asus WL-500G Premium

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
wiesl-flink
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:01    Post subject: DD-WRT on Asus WL-500G Premium Reply with quote
Hello!

I try to bring DD-WRT on a Asus WL-500G Premium.

Uploading via Web Interface does not work.
I tried to use the ASUS Firmware utility but the router does not respond to the tftp requests after holding reset after boot, Power LED flashes. (Utility_1670.zip and older ones).


I'll get:
Invalid IP address (Disabling all other network interfaces didn't help).

It sends the following command to 255.255.255.255:
get ASUSSPACELINK\x31\x01\xa8\xc0 /dev/null

But there is no response.

I'm expirenced with DD-WRT on Linksys WRT54GS and Linux ... So you can be technically ...

Any ideas?

Thnx.

Wiesl
Sponsor
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 11:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Give your pc a fixed IP address of 192.168.1.50 (for example)
Then follow the procedure you described again

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
rkloost
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 1247
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 11:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
You did try to upload the asus.*.trx firmware didn't you?

If not,
Try the WAN port to connect to the router

_________________
Firmware: DD-WRT v24 SP1 std
1xWRT150Nv1.1
2xWRT54GLv1.1
2xWRT54GSv1.0
1xWRT54Gv2

In need of WRT54GS <= v3 EU/UK for firmware-debugging purposes. Buffalo's are welcome too! PM me if you have a spare one.
wiesl-flink
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 13:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
frater wrote:
Give your pc a fixed IP address of 192.168.1.50 (for example)
Then follow the procedure you described again


I gave him a fixed IP address ...

Wiesl
wiesl-flink
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
rkloost wrote:
You did try to upload the asus.*.trx firmware didn't you?

If not,
Try the WAN port to connect to the router


Yes, I tried to upload the original ASUS firmware with the same problem.

It looks like that there is no tftp server listening, because I get icmp port unreachable messages ....

Wiesl
wiesl-flink
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 13:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
wiesl-flink wrote:
rkloost wrote:
You did try to upload the asus.*.trx firmware didn't you?

If not,
Try the WAN port to connect to the router


Yes, I tried to upload the original ASUS firmware with the same problem.

It looks like that there is no tftp server listening, because I get icmp port unreachable messages ....

Wiesl


OK, I tried the WAN port. Even the 192.168.1.1 address can not be pinged and it does not work.

Any ideas?

Wiesl
rkloost
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 1247
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 13:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update via webinterface takes 12 minutes!

Use IE to update

_________________
Firmware: DD-WRT v24 SP1 std
1xWRT150Nv1.1
2xWRT54GLv1.1
2xWRT54GSv1.0
1xWRT54Gv2

In need of WRT54GS <= v3 EU/UK for firmware-debugging purposes. Buffalo's are welcome too! PM me if you have a spare one.
wiesl-flink
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 14:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
rkloost wrote:
Update via webinterface takes 12 minutes!

Use IE to update


Asus updates work well through the Web Interface but not DD-WRT (maybe it must be signed?!?)

Wiesl
rkloost
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 1247
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 17:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
To update an ASUS, correct me if im wrong you need an asus build SP2 > 08/01/06
_________________
Firmware: DD-WRT v24 SP1 std
1xWRT150Nv1.1
2xWRT54GLv1.1
2xWRT54GSv1.0
1xWRT54Gv2

In need of WRT54GS <= v3 EU/UK for firmware-debugging purposes. Buffalo's are welcome too! PM me if you have a spare one.
wiesl-flink
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 17:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
rkloost wrote:
To update an ASUS, correct me if im wrong you need an asus build SP2 > 08/01/06


I tried the original ASUS firmware (latest) and latest SP2 alpha without any success.

Wiesl
oxo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
The only other thing in this thread that has not been said was:
disable all other interfaces (wireless, VMWare etc).
disable firewall
You seem to have sniffed the traffic, so I don't think you have made those mistakes and I just wrote them for completeness.

I believe you have the same as I had on my first Asus Premium and you need to short a pin to ground as in http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=2507
I soldered a thin wire direct to the power supply ground (as shown in link) and touched the pin. Soldering the ground pin meant I could concentrate on touching the pin and I have left the wire rolled up in the box "for future use".

It worked first time: without having to resend firmware.

For other Asus Premium dd-wrt interested, please note that on my second Asus I thought I had bricked it again: be patient, read http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/User_talk:Oxo#A_funny_thing_happened_after_I_dd-wrt.27ed_my_boxes
wiesl-flink
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 18:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
oxo wrote:
The only other thing in this thread that has not been said was:
disable all other interfaces (wireless, VMWare etc).
disable firewall
You seem to have sniffed the traffic, so I don't think you have made those mistakes and I just wrote them for completeness.

I believe you have the same as I had on my first Asus Premium and you need to short a pin to ground as in http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=2507
I soldered a thin wire direct to the power supply ground (as shown in link) and touched the pin. Soldering the ground pin meant I could concentrate on touching the pin and I have left the wire rolled up in the box "for future use".

It worked first time: without having to resend firmware.

For other Asus Premium dd-wrt interested, please note that on my second Asus I thought I had bricked it again: be patient, read http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/User_talk:Oxo#A_funny_thing_happened_after_I_dd-wrt.27ed_my_boxes


Hello!

I found the following threads:
http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?p=34696
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=2507

with the hidden admin page:
http://192.168.1.1/Main_AdmStatus_Content.asp

Might it be possible to use this page (with a command) to put dd-wrt on the router?

Thnx.

Wiesl-Flink
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum