CFE compressors available for some neutered Linksys units

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12, 13  Next
Author Message
4512jth
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any updates on the GSv6 for this? I would help if I had JTAG Sad
Sponsor
Mordak
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 932
Location: Orange, MA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
4512jth wrote:
Any updates on the GSv6 for this? I would help if I had JTAG Sad
Last i knew they were looking for someone to help test on a v6.0.
_________________

6 X WRT54G-TM
1 X WRT54G V1.0
1 X WRT54G V2.2
1 X WRT54G V5.0
2 X WRT54GS V1.0
2 X WRT54GS V1.1
1 X WRT54GS V2.0
1 X WRT160NL v1.0
1 X WRT320N
2 X WRT350N
1 X WRT600N v1.0
2 X WRT610N v1.0
1 X E1500
4512jth
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I nominate Dark Laughing Plus he already offered on the last page Razz
DHC_DarkShadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 2440
Location: Am now Dark_Shadow

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mordak wrote:
4512jth wrote:
Any updates on the GSv6 for this? I would help if I had JTAG Sad
Last i knew they were looking for someone to help test on a v6.0.


I have GSv5,6,and 7 available to test on, but it is really up to Tornado and when he has time to do it.

_________________
The New Me
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 14:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mordak wrote:
4512jth wrote:
Any updates on the GSv6 for this? I would help if I had JTAG Sad
Last i knew they were looking for someone to help test on a v6.0.


The V6 is supported.. Not the GS V6..

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
tdbone1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Sep 2009
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 15:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
i have a wrt54gs v7.2

just came across this thread....sounds pretty good but when i was only upgrading from orig linksys to dd-wrt i had bricked it....dont know why i have done a few other times with diff models and it worked great...anyway i found the cfe collection thread and luckily someone posted a wrt54gs v7.2 cfe.

i still have to use the mac addresses that are in their cfe (it dont match the one on the bottom of my router case anyhow).

well back to the point.

is there an already made cfe128.bin somewhere?
i was reading this thread and it sounds like it has all the edits so it will be 16MB of ram everytime instead of compressing the one i have (remember its really not my original) so it might be better if i just dload the already made cfe128.bin from wherever it is.

thanks
jjgarciasp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Central Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any news on the CFE for the GS v6?

I flased using the killer but now I have a dummy MAC that is not based on the one under the router.

Does anyone have a GS v6 CFE, even if it is the Linksys factory one?

I enabled the 16MB memory and the router is working but I don't know if the dummy MAC will cut it.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 13:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you have a mac address incorrect in a working CFE, you have to hexedit the mac address and correct the cfe. This has been discussed numerous times and you will likely find out how to do it if you search for hexedit and cfe.
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
DHC_DarkShadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 2440
Location: Am now Dark_Shadow

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 7:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has work on the compressors stopped?
_________________
The New Me
mstombs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 10:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
DHC_DarkShadow wrote:
Has work on the compressors stopped?


Looks like it, but the recent CFE source in the ASUS RT-N16 compiles both normal and compressed CFE's. The RT-N16 uses a later version of mips-R2, but any tips to create a profile for older chipsets - such as Linksys GS v6 ?
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 13:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
mstombs wrote:
Looks like it, but the recent CFE source in the ASUS RT-N16 compiles both normal and compressed CFE's.


Careful here...compressed CFEs are built for micro builds, and you can't run micro on a N router. There is no reason to run a compressed CFE on a router that has 4 or 8mb of ram.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
mstombs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 16:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I actually think compressed CFE would be useful for those with 4MB flash - adds another couple of 64kB flash blocks available for jffs, but I do agree its not worth the risk of attempting unless you have JTAG working.

I see there is now a compressed CFE for V6 GS in the repository, I'll try to use that on my V6 sometime, I think the V5 tool will work but the correct nvram pars needed for the 16MB ram.
CrazyHorse
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 23:33    Post subject: Linksys WRT54GS v5.1 Reply with quote
I have a WRT54GS v5.1 here that I'd like to help test the CFE compressor with. I have a JTAG here and can easily reflash the CFE should things go wrong. What can I do?
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2450
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 23:39    Post subject: Re: Linksys WRT54GS v5.1 Reply with quote
CrazyHorse wrote:
I have a WRT54GS v5.1 here that I'd like to help test the CFE compressor with. I have a JTAG here and can easily reflash the CFE should things go wrong. What can I do?
Not sure they are working on it anymore, you can visit one on the 2 ftp sites, they both have the 128cfe for v5-6.

CFE Collection Project

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 23:43    Post subject: Re: Linksys WRT54GS v5.1 Reply with quote
CrazyHorse wrote:
I have a WRT54GS v5.1 here that I'd like to help test the CFE compressor with. I have a JTAG here and can easily reflash the CFE should things go wrong. What can I do?


Yes.. the compressed cfe for a GS V5~ is named: WRT54GS_v5.0_v5.1_v6.0_init_sdram_128_cfe.zip

All you need to do is edit the macs. The sdram init param has already been taked care of so all 16mb of ram is recognized on your router.

Don't forget to unzip it 1st Razz

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12, 13  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 11 of 13
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum