WRT54G-TM NON-JTAG CFE-Updater

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 19, 20, 21  Next
Author Message
Checkka
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
After I have DD-WRT running on the WRT54G-TM, do I need to repeat the process of replacing the CFE and using TFTP to update? Or can I just update through the web gui?

Also, is there a recommended build for the TM? According to http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486 note 3, the BrainSlayer 13525 build is preferred for Broadcom based routers.
Sponsor
tiny
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2010
Posts: 43
Location: North Alabama

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Once you have dd-wrt on there you just update via the web interface. You don't need to replace the cfe. I am running 13525 on mine and it runs great.
digitalnerd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 15:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Checkka wrote:
After I have DD-WRT running on the WRT54G-TM, do I need to repeat the process of replacing the CFE and using TFTP to update? Or can I just update through the web gui?

Also, is there a recommended build for the TM? According to http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486 note 3, the BrainSlayer 13525 build is preferred for Broadcom based routers.


Thanks for asking that question. I kind of figured it would be ok to update the custom FW through it's web interface but it's better to be safe and check first before you do the deed.

Thanks again! I am really enjoying this Smile
kamscnerd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 21:46    Post subject: Compatible version for WRT54GS v2 Reply with quote
I now its a resurrection but... Anybody know of a non-jtag cfe updater for the wrt54gs v2? I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place trying to update flash the firmware. Hard resets brick this version but flashing the firmware requires a hard reset...

Will this version work for the gs v2 possibly? I'm thinking of trying it since I know the hard reset will brick it anyway.

Never mind... I just flashed it without the hard reset... there was no other way without a jtag.
mrotacon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jan 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 14:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi guys

So would you recommend one of these routers then?
I stupidly bought a TP-Link WR841DN (detachable antenna) on friday last week, and now realise client bridge doesn't work properly and am looking for a replacement

Have found WRT54G-TM for sale somewhere - but want peoples advice first

Don't want to go down the same route I did with the TP-Link product. I have had to throw gargoyle on there, to get client bridging to work, but unfortunately it dies every 4 hours and has to be rebooted (currently setup a cron to reboot every 3.5 hours.... but am not happy with this at all!!!)

Am told the router for sale is WRT54G-TM with 32MB RAM, 8MB FLASH memory. Its £40 (roughly $65)
Do you think this is worth it - or too steep. What could you recommend around the same price range

It has to support client bridge, as I need to share a connection between two buildings at work


Looking forward to reply

thanks
STG58
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 22:28    Post subject: 2 WRT54G-TM with default 192.168.24.1 IPs Reply with quote
First I have been running DD WRT on a WRT54GL for some time now Thank You for the fine work!

I picked up 2 new WRT54G-TMs that have default IPs of 192.168.24.1 and doing repeated 30-30-30 resets does not clear them they come back to the 192.168.24.1 IPs.

Should I substitute the .24 IP on these instructions and flash them?
Thanks in advance I do not wish to brick them.

Go into the properties of the Local Area Connection/Internet Protocol TCP/IP and set the static IP address.

IP Address: 192.168.0.2
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1

Click the Advanced button in the TCP/IP setup window and in the IP Address section click the ADD button to add the following 2nd IP Address to the adapter:

IP Address: 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try erasing the nvram with telnet and the

erase nvram
reboot

commands.

If those don't work you might have proprietary firmware on the routers and you will be gambling to flash them.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
sm00thpapa
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2010
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anyone have the revert file? The link from the wiki is bad. Thank you.
badhat
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 May 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 15:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am looking for a link to the CFE updater, which is also dead in the wiki. Could anyone host the file temporarily through gmail or elsewhere?
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 15:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
badhat wrote:
I am looking for a link to the CFE updater, which is also dead in the wiki. Could anyone host the file temporarily through gmail or elsewhere?

http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/tornado/CFE_Updater/CFE_Updater-WRT54G-TM.bin

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
teroenzaa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also cannot find the CFE updater for the WRT54G-TM.
All the links I see are dead.
audibiturbo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 3:41    Post subject: Upgrade WRT54G-TM from build 9526 to build 14896 Reply with quote
Hi, I can't find a process described for updating from one dd-wrt build to another for the wrt54g-tm. the device currently has the 9526 build. the database has a build from 2010, 14896, but there is no cfe updater also shown for that build. can you do a more simple update from one dd-wrt to another or does one have to follow the steps used to put the original build, 9526, onto the wrt54g-tm? and if so, can one use the cfe from the 13064 build since there isn't one shown with the 14896 build? thanks, jon
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 16:08    Post subject: Re: Upgrade WRT54G-TM from build 9526 to build 14896 Reply with quote
audibiturbo wrote:
Hi, I can't find a process described for updating from one dd-wrt build to another for the wrt54g-tm. the device currently has the 9526 build. the database has a build from 2010, 14896, but there is no cfe updater also shown for that build. can you do a more simple update from one dd-wrt to another or does one have to follow the steps used to put the original build, 9526, onto the wrt54g-tm? and if so, can one use the cfe from the 13064 build since there isn't one shown with the 14896 build? thanks, jon

The CFE updater needs only to run once to get the router from stock to accept a dd-wrt build. After that, all upgrades / updates are done through the dd-wrt upgrade gui. There is no need to run the cfe updater (again) to flash a new(er) build.

I can suggest build 15962, or 19342. Both are rock solid on the TM (I still us my TM as my main router / gateway). 19342 is the last build that the SD Card mod worked and the build I have been running for 4+ years.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
audibiturbo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 22:29    Post subject: Re: Upgrade WRT54G-TM from build 9526 to build 14896 Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
audibiturbo wrote:
Hi, I can't find a process described for updating from one dd-wrt build to another for the wrt54g-tm. the device currently has the 9526 build. the database has a build from 2010, 14896, but there is no cfe updater also shown for that build. can you do a more simple update from one dd-wrt to another or does one have to follow the steps used to put the original build, 9526, onto the wrt54g-tm? and if so, can one use the cfe from the 13064 build since there isn't one shown with the 14896 build? thanks, jon

The CFE updater needs only to run once to get the router from stock to accept a dd-wrt build. After that, all upgrades / updates are done through the dd-wrt upgrade gui. There is no need to run the cfe updater (again) to flash a new(er) build.

I can suggest build 15962, or 19342. Both are rock solid on the TM (I still us my TM as my main router / gateway). 19342 is the last build that the SD Card mod worked and the build I have been running for 4+ years.


barryware, thanks for the update information. That will make updating so much more simple. The DD-WRT router database doesn't show build 19342 under WRT54G-TM, only 13864 and 14896. Can you give me a pointer to the appropriate 19342 so I don't make a mistake? Again thanks, jon
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 23:39    Post subject: Re: Upgrade WRT54G-TM from build 9526 to build 14896 Reply with quote
audibiturbo wrote:
barryware wrote:
audibiturbo wrote:
Hi, I can't find a process described for updating from one dd-wrt build to another for the wrt54g-tm. the device currently has the 9526 build. the database has a build from 2010, 14896, but there is no cfe updater also shown for that build. can you do a more simple update from one dd-wrt to another or does one have to follow the steps used to put the original build, 9526, onto the wrt54g-tm? and if so, can one use the cfe from the 13064 build since there isn't one shown with the 14896 build? thanks, jon

The CFE updater needs only to run once to get the router from stock to accept a dd-wrt build. After that, all upgrades / updates are done through the dd-wrt upgrade gui. There is no need to run the cfe updater (again) to flash a new(er) build.

I can suggest build 15962, or 19342. Both are rock solid on the TM (I still us my TM as my main router / gateway). 19342 is the last build that the SD Card mod worked and the build I have been running for 4+ years.


barryware, thanks for the update information. That will make updating so much more simple. The DD-WRT router database doesn't show build 19342 under WRT54G-TM, only 13864 and 14896. Can you give me a pointer to the appropriate 19342 so I don't make a mistake? Again thanks, jon


Here is the std_generic: http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2012/06-08-12-r19342/broadcom/dd-wrt.v24_std_generic.bin

It took me 20 minutes to find, then figure out how to link the build. One of the reasons I am not very active the last year or two. Nothing should be this difficult.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 19, 20, 21  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 20 of 21
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum