30-30-30 reset broke my WRT54GS

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
vulcan59
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:00    Post subject: 30-30-30 reset broke my WRT54GS Reply with quote
Hi all. Apologies for the length of this. I'm wondering if there is a problem with the latest VINT builds 10205 and 10404. Let me explain the history of this.

WRT54GS v1.1 running 9856_VINT_std.bin. Wanted to try the latest 10404_VINT_std.bin

1. 30-30-30 reset then flashed 10404_VINT_std.bin. Router came back ok and was working with web interface accessible. Following the recommendation I then did another 30-30-30 reset before I did any configuration. This broke the router. No ping. Power led flashing. LAN and WAN leds on. I left it for a couple of hours but it never came back.

2. Only way to recover was shorting pins 5 & 6 which got me a ping and enabled me to tftp the latest Linksys firmware. Router came back ok.

3. 30-30-30 reset and flashed 10404_VINT_mini.bin. Router came back ok. Did another 30-30-30 and got back into the broken state as in step 1. Recovered as in step 2.

4. Tried again as above with build 10205 with same results.

5. Tried again with 9856 and all was ok. After flashing mini I was able to flash 9856_VINT_std and all is ok. The 30-30-30 reset works fine with this version but not with the later builds.

Anyone have any ideas or seen the same problem? Thanks.
Sponsor
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
use erase nvram method instead.
vulcan59
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
soulstace wrote:
use erase nvram method instead.


Thanks for the suggestion.

Started with a working 9856_VINT_mini.bin.
telneted in and did erase nvram;reboot
Router rebooted ok. Changed password as prompted on first use of the web interface.
Flashed 10404_VINT_std.bin and router came back ok. Web interface working and routing to internet and LAN ok.
telneted in and did erase nvram;reboot. Got this -
Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# erase nvram;reboot
erase[131072]

Waited 10 minutes but router never rebooted. Not pingable.
Powered off and on and router was in same state as step 1 in my first post. Had to short the pins and tftp Linksys firmware. That's where I am at the moment.
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 13:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
did you verify the checksum of the firmware before you flashed it?
vulcan59
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 13:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
soulstace wrote:
did you verify the checksum of the firmware before you flashed it?

Yes the checksums were correct for all the firmwares I have tried. They flash ok and I get a working router. But before I do any configuration I am trying to do the recommended reset of nvram and that's when I see the problem.
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 13:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Strange. I don't know what causes that. Only thing I can think is unsupported router or bad flash chip.

Did you try restoring defaults from the GUI?
vulcan59
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 14:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
soulstace wrote:
Strange. I don't know what causes that. Only thing I can think is unsupported router or bad flash chip.

Did you try restoring defaults from the GUI?


No. Didn't try it from the GUI. Suppose it may be a hardware or chip problem but why would it work perfectly with Linksys firmware and 9856_VINT but not 10205_VINT or 10404? Very odd. Thanks for the suggestions. I'll see if anyone else comes up with anything in the next few hours.
vulcan59
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have now tried restoring defaults from the gui but that didn't help.

I've also managed to tftp dd-wrt firmware instead of Linksys but again, when I tried to reset after flashing 10404_VINT_std.bin the router never came back and I had to resort to pin shorting and tftp again. Now back on 9856_VINT_std.bin which is working and always comes back ok after 30-30-30 reset.

I really would like to get this router on 10404. Has anyone done this with a WRT54GS V1.1?
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Something is definitely not right if restoring defaults from the GUI bricks the router. This should be 100% safe IMHO.
Ignem
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Sep 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 4:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I actually have the same problem with a WRT54GS V1.0. I got dd-wrt to load just fine from the linksys web gui, and got the dd-wrt GUI initially. Then, when I went to do the hard reset, it bricked the router. I didn't have to short any pins to get to the point where I could tftp the linksys firmware back to it, but both the reset as well as configuration changes to the dd-wrt firmware causes the router to get into the same state.

Anyone have any suggestions?
stabbucks
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
why not use the standard version? it works for my gs v1 Broadcom BCM4712 chip rev 1 cpu corerev 7
vulcan59
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ignem wrote:
I actually have the same problem with a WRT54GS V1.0.


Thanks for that. Good to know I'm not alone. I wonder if any of the devs have seen this thread? I've raised a report in the Trac for it as well.
vulcan59
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
stabbucks wrote:
why not use the standard version? it works for my gs v1 Broadcom BCM4712 chip rev 1 cpu corerev 7


I have to say it would probably work for me as well. However, I'm always one to try the latest and greatest Very Happy
Anyway, hopefully it helps the developers when we try the latest code and report problems.
stabbucks
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 13:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
but isn't the v24 sp1 the latest?
*nm i guess ur using some kind of dev build..
Ignem
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Sep 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 13:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Vulcan,

do you have a link for the code that worked for you?

Also, on a side note.. when I had the 9517 code loaded and the web gui was working, the RF radio showed "error" even though my other two devices were able to connect. I thought that was a bit odd.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum