D-Link DIR-615

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 29, 30, 31  Next
Author Message
pokersteve
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 12:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

are there any news or proceedings about getting dd-wrt to work on an D-LINK DIR-615 ?

Greetings
pokersteve
Sponsor
Abendigo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 15:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Seeing as nothing has been said about the D-Link DIR-615, I'm guessing support won't happen for it?
RoundSparrow
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Nov 2008
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
If it is the DIR-615 C1, it is an Atheros AP81 platform router and identical to a couple Trendnet models. OpenWRT is now booting on these routers and ath9k wireless driver now works. But still has a ways to go.

dd-wrt has passed on this platform for now. Look here in the forum for AP81 references.
Abendigo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 18:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Silly question....how can you tell whether it's a c1?
RoundSparrow
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Nov 2008
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 4:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Abendigo wrote:
Silly question....how can you tell whether it's a c1?


I personally hate this practice of companies changing internals on hardware; sometimes completely crazy changes. I remember 3com doing it in 1996 or so and driving me nuts.

Alas, D-Link has made an art of it Wink see their firmware page: http://www.dlink.com/products/support.asp?pid=565&sec=0

They have photos of how to tell.
Abendigo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wow, that's fantastic. I'll have to check and see wich version I have. But one quick question just in case I do have the C1 model, the unit that you said it was similar to only shows that DD-WRT is Wip (work in progress) is this still true? Or am I not seeing the right information. Thanks

Edit: I got what you meant now. So OpenWRT is the way for me then? Hmm, well I guess I'll have to abandon ship on that one for now. How is OpenWRT different from DD-WRT? Basically I'm trying to set this (or another one I've got Linksys WRT54GS2) thing up as a restricted access repeater....but I'm not sure if the G model will give me enough range.

EDIT: Edit: (all in the name of not double posting)
Ok so here's another question. I searched the supported hardware and I couldn't find my Linksys model stated above (WRT54GS2) but when I googled it I found a wiki on the site here and a link to download all the needed items for setting up DD-WRT on it. So am I to assume that DD-WRT does in fact work on this machine?

If you haven't already noticed I'm a very new novice to this so I do appreciate all the help.
mick711
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 12:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello i just buy a DKT400 it's a DIR-615 Rev A1 with wifi usb stick (xx140)

So i wan't to use it for repet signal for my livebox i don't know how to because it say to connect on ethernet or i would like :

Phone Line -> Livebox (Orange Modem)-> ethernet -> PC
Livebox -> Wifi -> DIR615 -> Wifi -> 4PC

Thanks

I find that about DIR-615 rev A1 the men connect internal serial to serial to USB to PC and see that :

I see that it has a uboot bootloader:
% tip ucom0
U-Boot 1.1.1 (Jan 19 2007 - 11:08:07)
CAMEO uBoot Linux Loader version: 1.3.0.0

DRAM CS[0] base 0x00000000 size 32MB
DRAM Total size 32MB
before entry mvFlashInit
Flash: flashStructGet manu 0x89 id 0x17
INTEL 28F640J3A (64 Mbit)
Size: 8 MB,Bus Width: 1, device Width: 1.
Flash base: 0xff800000,Number of Sectors: 64 Type: REGULAR.
[8192kB@ff800000] Flash: 8 MB
Addresses 20M - 0M are saved for the U-Boot usage.
Mem malloc Initialization (20M - 16M): Done
*** Warning - bad CRC, using default environment


Soc: 88F5181 B1
CPU: ARM926 (Rev 0) running @ 500Mhz
SysClock = 166Mhz , TClock = 166Mhz


USB 0: host mode
PCI 0: PCI Express Root Complex Interface
PCI 1: Conventional PCI, speed = 33000000
Net: egiga0 [PRIME]
Hit any key to stop autoboot: 0
Marvell>>


I don't know what he say because my english isn't good .

Original page :

http://bsdimp.blogspot.com/2008/06/adding-serial-port-to-d-link-dir-615.html
Ploskiy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 21:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
And how about B2? Ubicom IP5090U. Will be firmware for that router developed by dd-wrt or such CPUs will never be supported?
RoundSparrow
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Nov 2008
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 5:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ploskiy wrote:
And how about B2? Ubicom IP5090U. Will be firmware for that router developed by dd-wrt or such CPUs will never be supported?


Ubicom has traditionally shunned Linux... but recently they show signs of support. http://www.mail-archive.com/uclinux-dev@uclinux.org/msg05893.html

But I would not hold your breath, a lot of things have to be in place for a router to get dd-wrt support.

I have seen reports that a new D1 revision that is based on RALink. D-Link sure gets around on this model.
darnor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, the DIR-615 rev. D1 is Ralink based w/ fcc-id: KA2DIR605B1.

GPL source code for D1 is here: ftp://ftp.dlink.com/GPL/DIR-615_revD/

Someone at OpenWrt has posted the D1 bootup messages: http://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=19281

Seeing that WHR-G300N uses Ralink chip and works with dd-wrt, then I guess that it shouldn't be impossible to include support for the newer D1, if somebody just has enough time to code it... dunno.

The DIR-615 price tag of ~30€ makes it at least somewhat tempting 802.11n draft 2 target.
Bon_Go
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 31
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 14:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

are there any good news to use DD-WRT or OpenWrt on the DIR-615 Rev. D1? Is there a build to use with this device? If not, what must be done to do this? I have two of these and need a fast wlan bridge. Basic linux knowledge is available, but i need some help to play and work with.
random3283
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 22:42    Post subject: More pics Reply with quote
<removed>

Last edited by random3283 on Tue Feb 26, 2013 22:51; edited 2 times in total
rannseier
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi there,

Are there news with dd-wrt on it?
swechsler
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 0:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anyone? It's been WIP for over a year now...
rannseier
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dead?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 29, 30, 31  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 31
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum