Networking page dropping VLANs

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 26, 2024 19:11    Post subject: Networking page dropping VLANs Reply with quote
I am presently writing a HowTo guide for create vlans over a 802.11s Mesh network (without using batman-adv) and do have it working until I reboot the main node (mx4300) a few times. This issue does not occur on the child node (mr7350) ever and does not occur on the main node every single time. But once it happens, it stays that way. Sometimes just re-applying the page fixes it by re-adding the wlan0.10 - 12 vlans, but then I always have to re-add them back to the Assign to Bridge section.

Here is a fully configured working Networking tab:
Photo1

And this is after a reboot:
Photo2

The Lanport1 Trunk Port survives but if you notice, the 3rd-6th Bridge Assignments get lost (and changed to bond0) because the original interfaces have disappeared (wlan0.10, wlan0.11, wlan0.12), they also get removed from the Bridge Table for this reason.

I would guess this is a startup timing issue. I know @BS had been messing around a lot with startup timings and orders on AX routers, but no idea if this is something I can manually change with Startup Commands.

I CAN add this to Startup Commands and it does fix it, but I'd rather just have it working from the WebUI if possible.
Code:

#Startup Commands
#Create wlan0 vlans for Mesh
vconfig add wlan0 10
vconfig add wlan0 11
vconfig add wlan0 12
brctl addif br1 wlan0.10
brctl addif br2 wlan0.11
brctl addif br3 wlan0.12
ifconfig wlan0.10 up
ifconfig wlan0.11 up
ifconfig wlan0.12 up

But I thought we were past this.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

_________________
- Linksys EA8500: I-Gateway, WAP/VAP 5ghz only. Features: WDS-AP, VLANs, Samba, WG, Entware - r58662
- Linksys EA8500: 802.11s Secondary w/VLAN Trunk - r58662
- Linksys MX4300: 802.11s Primary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz. 2.4ghz WAP/VAP only - r58662
- Linksys MX4300 (WAP/VAP (7)) Multiple VLANs over single trunk port. Entware/Samba r58662
- Linksys MR7350: Testing r58662
- Linksys Velop WHW03v1 x2: OpenWRT w/GRETAP tunnel for VLANs on VAPs
- OSes: Fedora 39, 9 RPis (2,3,4,5), 20 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '95, never having owned a Windows PC.

- Forum member #248
Sponsor
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 3380
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2024 8:57    Post subject: Re: Networking page dropping VLANs Reply with quote
lexridge wrote:
I CAN add this to Startup Commands and it does fix it, but I'd rather just have it working from the WebUI if possible.
Code:

#Startup Commands
#Create wlan0 vlans for Mesh
vconfig add wlan0 10
vconfig add wlan0 11
vconfig add wlan0 12
brctl addif br1 wlan0.10
brctl addif br2 wlan0.11
brctl addif br3 wlan0.12
ifconfig wlan0.10 up
ifconfig wlan0.11 up
ifconfig wlan0.12 up


Code:
service setup_vlans start


Quote:
But I thought we were past this.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.


report it to BS
obviously your WLAN interfaces are starting too slow or whatever

_________________
Quickstart guides:
use Pi-Hole as simple DNS-Server with DD-WRT
VLAN configuration via GUI - 1 CPU port
VLAN configuration via GUI - 2 CPU ports (R7800, EA8500 etc)

Routers
Marvell OCTEON TX2 - QHora-322 - OpenWrt 23.05.3 - Gateway
Qualcomm IPQ8065 - R7800 - DD-WRT - WAP
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2024 19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, I agree. It's just weird it survives many reboots, until it doesn't.

I'll replace my startup commands and add your suggestion to it see what happens. Thanks.
Code:
#Startup Commands
sleep 10
service setup_vlans start

_________________
- Linksys EA8500: I-Gateway, WAP/VAP 5ghz only. Features: WDS-AP, VLANs, Samba, WG, Entware - r58662
- Linksys EA8500: 802.11s Secondary w/VLAN Trunk - r58662
- Linksys MX4300: 802.11s Primary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz. 2.4ghz WAP/VAP only - r58662
- Linksys MX4300 (WAP/VAP (7)) Multiple VLANs over single trunk port. Entware/Samba r58662
- Linksys MR7350: Testing r58662
- Linksys Velop WHW03v1 x2: OpenWRT w/GRETAP tunnel for VLANs on VAPs
- OSes: Fedora 39, 9 RPis (2,3,4,5), 20 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '95, never having owned a Windows PC.

- Forum member #248
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2024 3:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
That didn't entirely work. While it did bring up the wlan0.10-12 interfaces, I still had to manually add those interfaces back to the bridges.

I'm fine with just leaving the Startup commands in place. It works 100% of the time.

I also noticed it behaves exactly the same on a EA8500 with 802.11s wlanX vlans. I will ping BS about it once he gets back into active development mode again. Seems he has been mostly MIA for a few weeks.

_________________
- Linksys EA8500: I-Gateway, WAP/VAP 5ghz only. Features: WDS-AP, VLANs, Samba, WG, Entware - r58662
- Linksys EA8500: 802.11s Secondary w/VLAN Trunk - r58662
- Linksys MX4300: 802.11s Primary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz. 2.4ghz WAP/VAP only - r58662
- Linksys MX4300 (WAP/VAP (7)) Multiple VLANs over single trunk port. Entware/Samba r58662
- Linksys MR7350: Testing r58662
- Linksys Velop WHW03v1 x2: OpenWRT w/GRETAP tunnel for VLANs on VAPs
- OSes: Fedora 39, 9 RPis (2,3,4,5), 20 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '95, never having owned a Windows PC.

- Forum member #248
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 3380
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2024 8:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, I have just seen “service setup_vlans start” only configures the internal switch.

For the “tagging stuff” you probably need the following.

Code:
service vlantagging start
service bridgesif start

_________________
Quickstart guides:
use Pi-Hole as simple DNS-Server with DD-WRT
VLAN configuration via GUI - 1 CPU port
VLAN configuration via GUI - 2 CPU ports (R7800, EA8500 etc)

Routers
Marvell OCTEON TX2 - QHora-322 - OpenWrt 23.05.3 - Gateway
Qualcomm IPQ8065 - R7800 - DD-WRT - WAP
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2024 16:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yep, that works. I saw those services earlier but was not sure what they actually did. Here is what now works:
Code:
#Create 802.11s Trunked vlans over Mesh Method #1 Do NOT use both. Pick only one.
service setup_vlans start
service vlantagging start
service bridgesif start

#Create 802.11s Trunked vlans over Mesh Method #2 Do NOT use both. Pick only one.
#vconfig add wlan0 10
#vconfig add wlan0 11
#vconfig add wlan0 12
#brctl addif br1 wlan0.10
#brctl addif br2 wlan0.11
#brctl addif br3 wlan0.12
#ifconfig wlan0.10 up
#ifconfig wlan0.11 up
#ifconfig wlan0.12 up

Thanks!

_________________
- Linksys EA8500: I-Gateway, WAP/VAP 5ghz only. Features: WDS-AP, VLANs, Samba, WG, Entware - r58662
- Linksys EA8500: 802.11s Secondary w/VLAN Trunk - r58662
- Linksys MX4300: 802.11s Primary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz. 2.4ghz WAP/VAP only - r58662
- Linksys MX4300 (WAP/VAP (7)) Multiple VLANs over single trunk port. Entware/Samba r58662
- Linksys MR7350: Testing r58662
- Linksys Velop WHW03v1 x2: OpenWRT w/GRETAP tunnel for VLANs on VAPs
- OSes: Fedora 39, 9 RPis (2,3,4,5), 20 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '95, never having owned a Windows PC.

- Forum member #248
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 3380
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2024 17:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
You probably don't need the first service.
This is because it configures the internal switch, the required vlans and bridges.

The last two do this for the interfaces that are configured under “tagging”.

_________________
Quickstart guides:
use Pi-Hole as simple DNS-Server with DD-WRT
VLAN configuration via GUI - 1 CPU port
VLAN configuration via GUI - 2 CPU ports (R7800, EA8500 etc)

Routers
Marvell OCTEON TX2 - QHora-322 - OpenWrt 23.05.3 - Gateway
Qualcomm IPQ8065 - R7800 - DD-WRT - WAP
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2024 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:
You probably don't need the first service.
This is because it configures the internal switch, the required vlans and bridges.

The last two do this for the interfaces that are configured under “tagging”.

I was wondering about that. In my testing, the secondary node never changes (mr7350) but I am swapping out between the mx4300 and an ea8500 for the primary 802.11s node because each needs to be configured differently. The mx4300 doesn't have an internal switch whereas the ea8500 does.

The LAN trunk ports on the mx4300 are configured under Tagging and the LAN trunk ports on the ea8500 are set up in Switch Config, as you know. So on the ea8500 only the wlanX trunk is set up under Tagging and those are the interfaces that do not come back up on a reboot. The trunks under Switch Config come up fine every time.

Removing the first command works on the mx4300. I suspect it will work on the ea8500 as well. I will swap them out soon and confirm. Thanks again!

EDIT: Removing the first command also works fine on the EA8500. All good on both.

_________________
- Linksys EA8500: I-Gateway, WAP/VAP 5ghz only. Features: WDS-AP, VLANs, Samba, WG, Entware - r58662
- Linksys EA8500: 802.11s Secondary w/VLAN Trunk - r58662
- Linksys MX4300: 802.11s Primary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz. 2.4ghz WAP/VAP only - r58662
- Linksys MX4300 (WAP/VAP (7)) Multiple VLANs over single trunk port. Entware/Samba r58662
- Linksys MR7350: Testing r58662
- Linksys Velop WHW03v1 x2: OpenWRT w/GRETAP tunnel for VLANs on VAPs
- OSes: Fedora 39, 9 RPis (2,3,4,5), 20 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '95, never having owned a Windows PC.

- Forum member #248
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum