How do I get DD-WRT to connect through a proxy?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
JadianRadiator
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Sep 2023
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2024 15:14    Post subject: How do I get DD-WRT to connect through a proxy? Reply with quote
How do I get DD-WRT to connect through a proxy?
I don't mean getting it to route connected devices through a proxy.
I mean how to get DD-WRT in and of itself connected to a proxy.

I tried these environment variables I got from Chat GPT,
...but they didn't work.
Code:
export http_proxy=http://<proxy-address>:<proxy-port>
export https_proxy=http://<proxy-address>:<proxy-port>
Sponsor
Wildlion
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 May 2016
Posts: 1423

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2024 22:19    Post subject: Re: How do I get DD-WRT to connect through a proxy? Reply with quote
JadianRadiator wrote:

I tried these environment variables I got from Chat GPT,


There is your first problem...

Did you fill out any of the variables or just put exactly what you pasted in?

Did you try reading: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Squid_Transparent_Proxy
JadianRadiator
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Sep 2023
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2024 0:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Of course I put the actual details in.
Unfortunately I need to get dd-wrt in and of itself connected to the proxy to install anything,
let alone installing Squid.

Edit:
Working on trying the options on that page.

Edit 2:
Unfortunately I can't go that route.
Because I don't have a power cord for my only other computer.


P.S.
both of my computers are laptops.


Last edited by JadianRadiator on Thu Mar 21, 2024 1:04; edited 1 time in total
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 2046

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2024 4:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe you can think of yet another way to ask in a new thread in a few days.

How do I set DD-WRT as a proxy client?

So, are you wanting to use a VPN or a regular web proxy outside of your entire home network?

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=public+web+proxy

_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.5
JadianRadiator
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Sep 2023
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2024 5:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
vpn was too unstable.
Also, sorry about the reposting.
Stopped getting replies before fixed.
Is there an android app I could use for the squid proxifier?
At this point my only reason for not doing it with squid atm is a lack of a second/unused system to run it on.


P.S.
Why the search engine link?
I've been asking about dd-wrt communicating with proxy, not proxies in general
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 6509
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2024 9:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
if you tried VPN ...and was unstable (you must ve screw it ) did you try Wireguard...too..or just OpenVPN...
so, far both are very stable...and there good guides made by egc for that...check sticky's at advanced networking section...

otherwise for proxy communication only(not safe)set your IP & DNS and than forward to the proxy via IP tables rules...or add a static routes...to the proxy...
to me best and the safest way would be using WGrd https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 56490 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 56932 Gateway/DoT,Forced DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,x4VLAN,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.15.x AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear XR500 --DD-WRT 56941 Gateway/DoH,Forced DNS,AP Isolation,4VLAN,Ad-Block,Firewall,Vanilla
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 56941 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,Forced DNS,AP&Net Isolation,x3VLAN,Firewall,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 56932 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,x2VLAN,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 --DD-WRT 55460 Gateway/SmartDNS/DoH,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,x3VLAN,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 2046

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2024 16:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
JadianRadiator wrote:
...
Also, sorry about the reposting.
Stopped getting replies before fixed.

It's better to keep discussion in one thread than have 20 littered all over the forum because you give up in one thread. Another game of whack-a-mole <eyeroll> <sigh>
JadianRadiator wrote:
P.S.
Why the search engine link?
I've been asking about dd-wrt communicating with proxy, not proxies in general

Obviously, you don't understand your own question, and aren't telling us the ultimate goal for your questioning. You asked how to connect the firmware as a client to an upstream http proxy, no? The link was to free upstream http proxy sites... I guess I don't understand how to connect your dots.

_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.5
JadianRadiator
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Sep 2023
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2024 16:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's not an online proxy/vpn.
It's an internal proxy/vpn in the hotspot app to bypass hotspot throttling.
The one that used an (unstable) vpn exclusively used SSTP for its vpn option.
The hotspot app(s) don't use WireGuard.
I don't know how to set my router up for forwarding through a proxy.
I haven't been able to find a static ip forwarding guide that I don't need help understanding.
And I'm not comfortable risking breaking my router by trying to figure it out by trial & error.

Edit:
sorry for the confusion and lack of details.
Edit 2:
my phone doesn't support my preferred method of bypassing the hotspot throttle.
I do have the hotspot addon on my line though.
But they drop the hotspot speed down to make it unusable when you hit the hotspot limit.
Which takes me a few days, if not the very first day.
spongebubby
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Apr 2022
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2024 11:45    Post subject: Re: How do I get DD-WRT to connect through a proxy? Reply with quote
JadianRadiator wrote:
I tried these environment variables I got from Chat GPT,


it's over
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum