Remote Access using DDNS - multiple stations

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2319
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2024 15:35    Post subject: Remote Access using DDNS - multiple stations Reply with quote
Hello all,
I am trying to get remote access, preferably GUI to all of my WDS AP and Stations. The WDS AP is running the inadyn to update FreeDNS. I can get into it remotely. How can I configure the main router's firewall to pass through connections to the stations, Port Forwarding, etc?

I enabled remote access on a different port number on one of the stations, then portforwarded that port to the stations internal IP address. It didn't work.

Any ideas?

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 x3 - WDS AP / station, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - NU
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - 1 WDS station
D-Link 825 B1 - NU
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - NU
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
Sponsor
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 2073

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2024 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I use Wireguard.
No need to configure port forwarding or firewall and easy to set up.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2319
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2024 19:39    Post subject: Wireguard Reply with quote
How does Wireguard allow me to remote into my various routers (see signature)?

I want to be able to type in an URL and a port number and get access to all of my routers from anywhere.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 x3 - WDS AP / station, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - NU
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - 1 WDS station
D-Link 825 B1 - NU
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - NU
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 3104
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2024 19:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is easily done via ssh and ssh tunneling
on the other side of the world you only need a device that supports it.

It also works with Wireguard but is a bit more complicated to configure.

So here is a short introduction to ssh.

the only thing you need is ssh access via ssh key to a device that is in the LAN / network.
via this device you can access all other devices and ports via tunnel.

You open a tunnel on your remote device

ssh -L1600:192.168.12.109:80 -Nv root@ian5142.freedns.org -p 22

-L1600 # lokal port on your device
192.168.12.109:80 # the destination address to be reached

after the tunnel has been established, enter 127.0.0.1:1600 in your web browser and you will land on the WebIF of 192.168.12.109

_________________
Quickstart guides:
use Pi-Hole as simple DNS-Server with DD-WRT
VLAN configuration via GUI - 1 CPU port
VLAN configuration via GUI - 2 CPU ports (R7800, EA8500 etc)

Routers
Marvell OCTEON TX2 - QHora-322 - OpenWrt 23.05.3 - Gateway
Qualcomm IPQ8065 - R7800 - DD-WRT - WAP
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2319
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2024 21:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:
You open a tunnel on your remote device

ssh -L1600:192.168.12.109:80 -Nv root@ian5142.freedns.org -p 22
-L1600 # lokal port on your device
192.168.12.109:80 # the destination address to be reached

So the above stuff is run on the main router. But the internal IP can be one of the other routers I want to log into.

ho1Aetoo wrote:
after the tunnel has been established, enter 127.0.0.1:1600 in your web browser and you will land on the WebIF of 192.168.12.109

This is what is input in the webbrowser on any other network? The computer will not be on the same local network as the main router, or any of the stations.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 x3 - WDS AP / station, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - NU
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - 1 WDS station
D-Link 825 B1 - NU
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - NU
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 2073

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2024 6:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
WG server running on WDS AP (R7800 55363) and WG Client on Phone
I can access all WDS Stations as well as Bdcm Repeater that is connected to it
by typing IP in browser on that phone.

SSH/Telnet work as well.

Kinda seemed like what you were after.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 13094
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2024 6:50    Post subject: Re: Remote Access using DDNS - multiple stations Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
Hello all,
I am trying to get remote access, preferably GUI to all of my WDS AP and Stations. The WDS AP is running the inadyn to update FreeDNS. I can get into it remotely. How can I configure the main router's firewall to pass through connections to the stations, Port Forwarding, etc?

I enabled remote access on a different port number on one of the stations, then portforwarded that port to the stations internal IP address. It didn't work.

Any ideas?


Check you port forwarding rules with:
`iptables -vnL FORWARD` and `iptables -vnL -t nat`

There have been recent builds with a bug in port forwarding via the GUI.
It works for me but I do not use WDS as my house is cabled (which I recommend to everyone Wink )

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 3104
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2024 10:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
ho1Aetoo wrote:
after the tunnel has been established, enter 127.0.0.1:1600 in your web browser and you will land on the WebIF of 192.168.12.109

This is what is input in the webbrowser on any other network? The computer will not be on the same local network as the main router, or any of the stations.


Yes, no matter where it's always the same.

a tunnel is established between an ssh server and the tunnel is connected to a local port on your computer 127.0.0.1:XYZ


Code:
ho1Aetoo@desktop:~$ ssh -L1600:192.168.1.2:80 -Nv root@openWRT -p 22

Authenticated to 192.168.1.1 ([192.168.1.1]:22).
debug1: Local connections to LOCALHOST:1600 forwarded to remote address 192.168.1.2:80
debug1: Local forwarding listening on ::1 port 1600.
debug1: channel 0: new [port listener]
debug1: Local forwarding listening on 127.0.0.1 port 1600.
debug1: channel 1: new [port listener]
debug1: Entering interactive session.
debug1: pledge: network


This is now in my local lan because I don't want to show public IP addresses, but it works the same way over the public network

pretty simple and a proven admin tool for decades

PS: this is a connection to my gateway (192.168.1.1) and forwarded to the WebIF of my WAP (192.168.1.2)



7869158710.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  110.79 KB
 Viewed:  754 Time(s)

7869158710.jpg



_________________
Quickstart guides:
use Pi-Hole as simple DNS-Server with DD-WRT
VLAN configuration via GUI - 1 CPU port
VLAN configuration via GUI - 2 CPU ports (R7800, EA8500 etc)

Routers
Marvell OCTEON TX2 - QHora-322 - OpenWrt 23.05.3 - Gateway
Qualcomm IPQ8065 - R7800 - DD-WRT - WAP
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum