Problems with my Linksys EA6900

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
dixek15648
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2023
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 20:08    Post subject: Problems with my Linksys EA6900 Reply with quote
Hi, I'm sorry if this isn't the right place, but I'm having problems with my Linksys EA6900 and I can't solve it so I came here to ask for help Sad.

I saw the threads on the forum, I saw the Wikia page but it was still a little confusing and I don't know if I made a serious mistake.

My router is version 1.1, it had software 1.7 and I couldn't downgrade, I tried via tftp and downgraded to the older version of the OEM firmware, after that I tried to upload the older DD-WRT which didn't work. I tried again via TFTP and ended up confusing the versions and uploading the newer version, and therefore I was unable to rewrite the CFE (but I managed to backup the nvram and cfe as the text document explains).


To try to solve it, I tried again to flash the OEM firmware via tftp, I was successful, then I tried to flash the DD-WRT old version via tftp, I was also successful, in this version I flashed the XVortex CFE as indicated in the document and finally updated to the latest version of DD-WRT.

If possible I would like to upgrade to Xwrt, but it appears that it uses a different CFE with different mac assignment logic.

I tried flashing the new CFE through the newest DD-WRT that is installed but it doesn't unlock, I tried flashing the newest version of Xwrt both through CFEWebserver and through DD-WRT's WebUI and neither of them worked.

I'm not sure what to do, so is there a direct and safe way to migrate to Xwrt now? How?
How can I access the CFE recording again to migrate to the new Xvortex CFE? Do I have to downgrade to a previous version of DD-WRT before? If i have to, How? Which MAC configuration should i use? Is it possible to do this firmware recording process via DD-WRT WebUI or CFEWebserver?
Sponsor
tedm
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Posts: 554

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2023 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
You need to completely unwind everything, revert back to the factory cfe and the factory firmware and make the router stock, then go to Xwrt using their instructions.

In some cases it's possible to jump from dd-wrt to another alternative firmware but it's a good way to brick things. Of course, if you have a more modern CFE that has an easy way to get into recovery, that's OK you might as well try it.

But once you mess with the CFE as you have done, then all bets are off. The CFE is not like a PC BIOS, it's primary purpose is to switch on hardware like the ethernet switch and the radios, make filesystem checks, and then boot the main firmware once that's done it's completely out of the picture.

If anything at all gets corrupted while messing with the CFE then jtag is the only option. If it was me and I wanted to do this I'd buy the jtag gear BEFORE messing with the CFE and make a complete flashdump first. But in general by the time it gets so bad you would have to JTAG I start throwing out hardware.
native_tx
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Feb 2014
Posts: 169
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2023 16:01    Post subject: Re: Problems with my Linksys EA6900 Reply with quote
dixek15648 wrote:

I tried flashing the new CFE through the newest DD-WRT that is installed but it doesn't unlock, I tried flashing the newest version of Xwrt both through CFEWebserver and through DD-WRT's WebUI and neither of them worked.


Could you post the commands you used?
Regards
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12795
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2023 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not sure what you want, do you want a newer CFE or do you want the Xwrt-Vortex firmware to replace DDWRT?

One of our forum members has tested the newer 13.07 CFE and he concluded it was not necessary or beneficial to upgrade so you should be good with older CFE.

If you want to use Xwrt_Vortex firmware ask at their forum but usually you have to go to stock first.

EA6900 install guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230#291230

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
dixek15648
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2023
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2023 21:02    Post subject: explaining things Reply with quote
tedm wrote:
You need to completely unwind everything, revert back to the factory cfe and the factory firmware and make the router stock, then go to Xwrt using their instructions.


The problem is that i didn't find any official page for support or forum, what i've found is just a Xwrt page with binary downloads ( this one: https://xvtx.ru/xwrt/about.htm).

tedm wrote:
In some cases it's possible to jump from dd-wrt to another alternative firmware but it's a good way to brick things. Of course, if you have a more modern CFE that has an easy way to get into recovery, that's OK you might as well try it.


I am using the custom CFE provided in the tutorial.

tedm wrote:
But once you mess with the CFE as you have done, then all bets are off. The CFE is not like a PC BIOS, it's primary purpose is to switch on hardware like the ethernet switch and the radios, make filesystem checks, and then boot the main firmware once that's done it's completely out of the picture.


When it comes to the CFE i've followed everything exactly like the tutorial says, the only problem was flashing the firmware in the wrong order (which I managed to fix it later).

tedm wrote:
If anything at all gets corrupted while messing with the CFE then jtag is the only option. If it was me and I wanted to do this I'd buy the jtag gear BEFORE messing with the CFE and make a complete flashdump first. But in general by the time it gets so bad you would have to JTAG I start throwing out hardware.


As i said, i've followed the tutorial, dumped the stock CFE and i still have the backup saved here, the system has the custom CFE (the one in the tutorial) that allows me to use the CFE Mini WebServer.

I don't know if I understand correctly, do you recommend that I stay with the CFE custom provided by the tutorial? Is that it?

native_tx wrote:
Could you post the commands you used?
Regards


1 - Opened the Linksys WebUI
2 - downgraded to FW_EA6900_1.1.42.158863_prod.img following the tutorial
3 - used the Linksys downgraded WebUI (my mistake is here) flashed the linksys-ea6900-webflash.bin from the router database (version 2020) instead of the "minimal one" (but i have the nvram and the cfe backup from this part)

cd /tmp/root
nvram show >> nvram_dump.txt
dd if=/dev/mtd0 of=/tmp/root/stock-cfe.bin

4 - So to try to correct things i tried again to flash the OEM firmware via tftp, it flashed with no problems.
5 - Used the Linksys downgraded WebUI and flashed the right linksys-ea6900-webflash.bin (from the tutorial, also have a nvram and cfe backup from this point)

cd /tmp/root
nvram show >> nvram_dump.txt
dd if=/dev/mtd0 of=/tmp/root/stock-cfe2.bin

6 - I flashed the XVortex CFE as indicated in the document and finally updated to the latest version of DD-WRT (2020v)

mtd unlock /dev/mtd0
cd /tmp/root
mtd write -f new-cfe.bin mtd0

(with the same procedure as described in the tutorial)

mtd write webflash.bin linux &
nvram erase
reboot

egc wrote:
Not sure what you want, do you want a newer CFE or do you want the Xwrt-Vortex firmware to replace DDWRT?


I was having problems with version 2020, the wifi speed is much slower than the stock rom, in version 2023 (last from other downloads) the network speed via cable does not exceed 300mbps, i could easily get 600mb before.

egc wrote:
One of our forum members has tested the newer 13.07 CFE and he concluded it was not necessary or beneficial to upgrade so you should be good with older CFE.


Should be good for using it on Xwrt Vortex or the latest DD-WRT?

egc wrote:
If you want to use Xwrt_Vortex firmware ask at their forum but usually you have to go to stock first.


I couldn't find their forum, to be quite honest, I would like to at least test XwrtVortex, and if it is not possible at least solve the problems I am facing in the current version of DD-WRT.

Could you guys help me with that?
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 1856

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2023 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?forums/other-firmware-projects.21/

https://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/asuswrt-merlin-build-384-5-or-later-on-linksys-ea6900-or-ea6700.74209/

https://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/xvortex-or-advancedtomato-on-ea6900-v1-v1-1-without-32k-bug-renew.74084/

_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.5
dixek15648
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2023
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2023 21:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
dale_gribble39 wrote:
https://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?forums/other-firmware-projects.21/

https://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/asuswrt-merlin-build-384-5-or-later-on-linksys-ea6900-or-ea6700.74209/

https://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/xvortex-or-advancedtomato-on-ea6900-v1-v1-1-without-32k-bug-renew.74084/


I don't know why but it doesn't open here. I even thought these pages were dead.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12795
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2023 21:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
In stock firmware hardware flow offloading is on by default.

In ddwrt ( 2023 versions) you have to enable it.
On Basic Setup Page use CTF for shortcut forwarding and CTF&FA for flow acceleration.

There is no benefit in trying another CFE.

With this CFE you can run ddwrt, fresh tomato and asuswrt merlin.

Nobody in his right mind would want stock firmware Wink

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
dixek15648
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2023
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2023 23:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
There is no benefit in trying another CFE.

With this CFE you can run ddwrt, fresh tomato and asuswrt merlin.

Nobody in his right mind would want stock firmware Wink


So, just to be sure, what should i do now to test the Xwrt-Vortex? Just use the CFE Mini webserver, reset the nvram and then flash the 380,70?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12795
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2023 7:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is the DDWRT forum we have not much knowledge of the Xwrt-Vortex firmware.
So ask at their forum.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
dixek15648
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2023
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2023 15:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
This is the DDWRT forum we have not much knowledge of the Xwrt-Vortex firmware.
So ask at their forum.


Ok so let's talk about DD-WRT then Laughing

My router rn is using the custom Xvortex CFE and DD-WRT 44715, when i try to flash r54079 with the command "write linksys-ea6900-webflash.bin linux" gives me an error about not having linux2 partition, how do i safely flash it now?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12795
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2023 17:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
dixek15648 wrote:
Quote:
This is the DDWRT forum we have not much knowledge of the Xwrt-Vortex firmware.
So ask at their forum.


Ok so let's talk about DD-WRT then Laughing

My router rn is using the custom Xvortex CFE and DD-WRT 44715, when i try to flash r54079 with the command "write linksys-ea6900-webflash.bin linux" gives me an error about not having linux2 partition, how do i safely flash it now?


A couple of things to try:
1. reset to defaults and after that do the Asus hard reset with the WPS button as described in the EA6900 install guide.
2. Use mtd write command as as described in the EA6900 install guide.
3. If that not works use the CFE mini webserver as described in the EA6900 install guide.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
dixek15648
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2023
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2023 22:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
A couple of things to try:
1. reset to defaults and after that do the Asus hard reset with the WPS button as described in the EA6900 install guide.
2. Use mtd write command as as described in the EA6900 install guide.
3. If that not works use the CFE mini webserver as described in the EA6900 install guide.


Ok, followed the steps and now i am running the last version, but for some reason my range sucks.
I've tried following the recommended settings and tried the "best bcm settings" but it didn't work.

Could you help me with that please? Could you also share your configuration?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12795
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2023 7:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Better make a separate thread for that.

But what you should do to begin with is erasing nvram again after your update with the WPS button trick as described and then setup manually.

Furthermore for best throughput on Basic Setup page:
Shortcut Forwarding Engine: CTF
Flow Acceleration: CTF & FA

Usually best BCM wifi settings will work but make a separate thread and post screenshots of your settings.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
dixek15648
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2023
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2023 11:39    Post subject: so, to understand things Reply with quote
Hey egc, i couldn't MTD Unlock with this new firmware and i couldn't flash the cfe with anything other than the minimal firmware (the one in the tutorial), is there something that is different about that minimal image to allow this actions that these new don't?

If my router reboots and go back to another old DD-WRT partition (like it happened before) what is means? It means that the CFE values are not loaded and the default DD-WRT values were? (i've read in some place that the image seek for the second partition) It could mean that i have flashed things wrong? The "right" way to make things work is is to have 1 linux partition, right?
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum