RSYNC over ssh, and QoS services packet counts?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
ArjenR49
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2022 0:59    Post subject: RSYNC over ssh, and QoS services packet counts? Reply with quote
I have been running a backup job between two sites for many years.
It uses rsync over ssh on a non-standard port.

The router has QoS enabled. Under services priority I have defined a priority for the port used (currently both tcp and udp).

I expected to get a high packet count for this port.
The connection on this port is active as can be seen from the connections table, and data is going out per the bandwidth graphs, too.

However, the packet count is just 1 even though data is obviously going out as the job finishes at some point in time (upload is slow and the files are big). I can see the files at the other end, so yes, the backup job is working and has been for years.

What port is the data going through or how can it be explained that QoS does not see it except for the one packet?

Last edited by ArjenR49 on Wed Sep 28, 2022 6:38; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
ArjenR49
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2022 6:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
After many hours of backup file content going out, the packet count for the rsync over ssh port has gone up to 14. However, the count for udp packages on any of ports 54 and above has gone up by the 10s of thousands. With nothing else in particular going on, this would indicate that rsync over ssh uses udp for the bulk of transport on some unknown port 54 or above.
However, there is no such connection in the active connections table.

When I check the situation at the other end using SFTP/FileZilla the same port as for rsync over ssh is used, so that may also explain the small increase from the initial 1 packet count.

SFTP and Rsync are running on different machines at this end, but the target is the same NAS at the other end.
DWCruiser