New Build - 08/24/2022 - r49866

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 4585

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 6:11    Post subject: New Build - 08/24/2022 - r49866 Reply with quote
Welcome to Atheros r49866 beta release thread for reporting, feedback to developers and community benefit.
Please do not flash builds until installation is understood, risks involved and device specific recovery methods.
Avoid discussions, create threads for questions, general problems or use search; this thread is not for support.
Please list router model & revision, operating & wireless mode(s) and exact filename/firmware image flashed.


Downloads: HTTPS, FTP

CLI Flash: 'cd /tmp' then 'wget {file URL}' (http only) or 'curl -O {file URL}' (http, https, ftp). 'write {file} linux' then 'reboot'.

Trac SVN: repository since last build r49838 (mirror)

OpenVPN 2.5.7: Changelog, Guides, Server, PBR, DNS, Kill Switch, Watchdog, Reverse PBR, Client, Multiple, tips & scripts.
WireGuard 1.0.20211208/Tools: Changelog, Guides, Client, Server, Advanced, PBR, KS, tips & scripts. Thanks to BS & egc!

Notes:
Select ath10k radios now feature on-the-fly firmware type switching between customized DD-WRT and vanilla QCA binaries!
mDNS/Avahi NTFS-3G irqbalance Tor DoT Redirect PHP Asterisk OpenSSL FRR mac80211 Unbound SmartDNS dnsmasq ZFS
In-kernel Samba (ksmbd 3.4.4+++++) guest behavior selectable. • WSD updateANTFS/NTFS3 kernel mode driver++++
New DD-WRT inspired themes conversion by the-joker & BrainSlayer, micro builds excluded, UI theme test bug hunt thread.

Issues, observations, and/or workarounds reported:
WebUI: Clear history or use a portable. Temporary cache bypass: Ctrl+F5, Cmd+Shift+R or new private window/incognito.
Please report findings with steps needed to reproduce, configuration, clients, output, logs and important information below!

Important:
Detail issues & relevant configs, logs: syslog klog 'dmesg' 'cat /tmp/var/log/messages' nvram set console_debug=1, serial.
• Firewall NAT: 'iptables -vnL' 'iptables -t nat -vnL' 'iptables -t mangle -vnL' & 'cat /tmp/.ipt'. Misc: strace tcpdump wireshark.
• Gremlins: reboot. cold boot. Reset & reconfigure not restore backup. Search Trac & discuss in forum before opening tickets.
• Include operating & wireless modes (e.g. Gateway, Router, AP, SB, WDS, Mesh) and applicable configurations to reproduce.

Example Template:
Code:
[b]Router/Version:[/b]
[b]File/Kernel:[/b]
[b]Previous/Reset:[/b]
[b]Mode/Status:[/b]
[b]Issues/Errors:[/b]
Sponsor
nickant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2016
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 7:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Linksys EA8500
File: dd-wrt-webupgrade.bin
Reset: No
Status: No Internet
Updated from r49838 to r49866
Update Sucessful, but no internet access.
Rebooted EA8500 - same
Reverted back to r49838 - internet working ok

_________________
------------------------------------
Linksys EA8500 DD-WRT r50963 (Gateway)
Linksys WRT1900ACv1 DD-WRT r50963 (AP)
Netgear WNDR3700v4 DD-WRT r50841 (spare Gateway)
Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/nickant44/albums
IONK
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2011
Posts: 647

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 7:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Netgear XR500 (Install guide by egc)
File/Kernel: dd-wrt-webupgrade.bin (r49866) / Linux 4.9.325 #1160 SMP Wed Aug 24 00:59:26 +07 2022 armv7l
Previous/Reset: DD-WRT v3.0-r49838 std (08/23/22) / no
Mode/Status: AP, SFE, AP 5GHz Mixed 80MHz + AP 2.4GHz NG-Mixed 40MHz, 802.11r (FT), DDNS (Dynu), 802.11 encapsulation offloading, ondemand CPU governor at night, USB Storage (guide by egc), lighttpd (using Entware’s php8), CIFS Automount, Cron / working
Issues/Errors: none

_________________
▫ RSS feed for DD-WRT releases (2022): https://politepol.com/fd/BU5UpNmf6NRW
easyddup - A simple upgrade/downgrade utility by yoyoma2 --- as featured in 📌 List of reference threads, how-tos, and otherwise (Moderator's Pick 🌟)
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10788
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 7:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
nickant wrote:
Router/Version: Linksys EA8500
File: dd-wrt-webupgrade.bin
Reset: No
Status: No Internet
Updated from r49838 to r49866
Update Sucessful, but no internet access.
Rebooted EA8500 - same
Reverted back to r49838 - internet working ok


After this update you might have to reset to defaults to get a working state see:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=332796

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 4585

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 7:30    Post subject: EA8500: Old & New sysinit network reference defaults Reply with quote
Router/Version: Linksys EA8500 / Box Rev. A00 PCB REV:205(XC) hw_rev=1 hw_ver=XB / r49866 (08/24/22)
File/Kernel: CLI Flash dd-wrt-webupgrade.bin / Linux 4.9.325 #1158 SMP Tue Aug 23 15:24:15 +07 2022 armv7l
Previous/Reset: r49838 (08/23/22) / YES EA8500 default switch setup or layout changed beginning build r49866!
Mode/Status: AP Gateway / VaNiLLa Mixed 20 MHz Ch 1 & 149 TX Power 30 dBm Short Preamble, ttraff disabled
Issues/Errors: No / No, I used CLI flash method ending with nvram erase && reboot instead of a normal reboot.

r49866: 49842, 49843, 49845, 49846, 49850

After r49866: 49872 PPPoE and 49876 wlan1

Old EA8500 single shared CPU port WAN/LAN vlan configuration:
lan_ifname br0
lan_ifnames vlan1 vlan2 wlan0 wlan1
wan_ifname vlan2
wan_ifname2 vlan2
wan_ifnames vlan2
wan_default vlan2

swconfig dev switch0 set reset 1
swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 1
swconfig dev switch0 set igmp_snooping 0
swconfig dev switch0 set igmp_v3 1
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 1 set ports "0t 1 2 3 4"
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 2 set ports "0t 5"
swconfig dev switch0 set apply
ifconfig eth0 up
vconfig set_name_type VLAN_PLUS_VID_NO_PAD
vconfig add eth0 1
vconfig add eth0 2

sw_cpuport 0

sw_wan 5
sw_lan1 1
sw_lan2 2
sw_lan3 3
sw_lan4 4

New EA8500 dual dedicated CPU port WAN0/LAN6 configuration:
lan_ifname br0
lan_ifnames eth0 eth1 wlan0 wlan1
wan_ifname eth0
wan_ifname2 eth0
wan_ifnames eth0
wan_default eth0

swconfig dev switch0 set reset 1
swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 0
swconfig dev switch0 set igmp_snooping 0
swconfig dev switch0 set igmp_v3 1
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 1 set ports "6 1 2 3 4"
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 2 set ports "0 5"
swconfig dev switch0 set apply
ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig eth1 up

sw_wancpuport 0
sw_lancpuport 6

sw_wan 5
sw_lan1 1
sw_lan2 2
sw_lan3 3
sw_lan4 4

See default code simplified, a reference thread, also diffchecker.


Last edited by blkt on Tue Aug 30, 2022 22:00; edited 10 times in total
nickant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2016
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 7:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="egc"]
nickant wrote:
Router/Version: Linksys EA8500

After this update you might have to reset to defaults to get a working state see:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=332796


Can we have the option to leave ports as per factory?
What is the advantage of the new setup, if any?

_________________
------------------------------------
Linksys EA8500 DD-WRT r50963 (Gateway)
Linksys WRT1900ACv1 DD-WRT r50963 (AP)
Netgear WNDR3700v4 DD-WRT r50841 (spare Gateway)
Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/nickant44/albums
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 4585

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 7:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
nickant wrote:
Can we have the option to leave ports as per factory?
What is the advantage of the new setup, if any?

No, see above, this is the new factory. Time to reset! Old configuration LAN and WAN were on the same CPU port.

As you can imagine, this was a big limitation set long ago by pirates of unknown origins. Port 6 is unlocked now.


Last edited by blkt on Wed Aug 24, 2022 8:14; edited 1 time in total
nickant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2016
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 7:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
nickant wrote:
Can we have the option to leave ports as per factory?
What is the advantage of the new setup, if any?

No, see above, this is the new factory. Time to reset! Old configuration LAN and WAN were on the same CPU port.

As you can imagine, this was a big limitation set long ago by pirates of unknown origins. Port 6 is unlocked now.


Is that why my router CPU usage goes high when I transfer files between PC's?
If, so, I'm going to have to spend some time to reset it all tomorrow.
Just as well I have the spare WNDR3700v4 here.
Can't wait for MRJCD to respond!

_________________
------------------------------------
Linksys EA8500 DD-WRT r50963 (Gateway)
Linksys WRT1900ACv1 DD-WRT r50963 (AP)
Netgear WNDR3700v4 DD-WRT r50841 (spare Gateway)
Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/nickant44/albums
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10788
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 7:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Linksys EA8500

Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r49866M Community Build (08/24/22)

Upgraded from: DD-WRT v3.0-r49626M Community Build by EGC (08/02/22)
Reset: Yes a full reset and putting settings in manually is mandatory, the switch has been upgraded

Status: Up and running for 4 hours, basic setup as Gateway, static leases, 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz switched off, OpenVPN server working, WireGuard Server working (multiple clients e.g. phone, laptop and site-to-site connection with remote location), NAS and Samba working, Avahi and Avahi-utils working

Errors: Nothing encountered at this moment

Big Thanks to the devs!!

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 4585

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 8:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
nickant wrote:
Is that why my router CPU usage goes high when I transfer files between PC's?
If, so, I'm going to have to spend some time to reset it all tomorrow.
Just as well I have the spare WNDR3700v4 here.
Can't wait for MRJCD to respond!

Do not use old configs on EA8500. Everyone needs to reset, unless you know exactly how to make all corrections.
I should not have even said that, because am sure someone will take on this unnecessary challenge just because.


Last edited by blkt on Wed Aug 24, 2022 8:13; edited 2 times in total
Zyxx
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2018
Posts: 566

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 8:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Netgear R7800
File: dd-wrt-webupgrade.bin
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r49866 std (08/24/22) (prev. DD-WRT v3.0-r49838 std (08/23/22))
Kernel: Linux 4.9.325 #1160 SMP Wed Aug 24 00:59:26 +07 2022 armv7l
Mode: Gateway, SFE disabled, 2.4G and 5G wifi, Wireguard for external access, WAN to 4G (DHCP Client), Keep Alive reboot 6:02 in the morning
Reset: No
Status: Installed an hour ago, ok.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10788
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 8:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Netgear R7800

Firmware Version: ]: DD-WRT v3.0-r49866 std (08/24/22)

Upgraded from: DD-WRT v3.0-r49626 std (08/03/22)

Reset: No, not this time

Status: Up and running for 2 hours, basic setup as Gateway, static leases, port forwarding DDNS, WOL 2,4GHz, VAP for IoT, 5Ghz (Vanilla Firmware, Disabled Airtime),
On demand governor with minimum 800 MHz

Errors: Nothing encountered yet but Ports 1-4 are reversed in swconfig

Thanks BS!

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
IONK
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2011
Posts: 647

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 9:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
No, see above, this is the new factory. Time to reset! Old configuration LAN and WAN were on the same CPU port.
egc wrote:
After this update you might have to reset to defaults to get a working state see:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=332796

Does the reset warning apply to all Atheros devices or just EA8500?

Only to EA8500 (not sure about R7500)

R7800 is not affected

_________________
▫ RSS feed for DD-WRT releases (2022): https://politepol.com/fd/BU5UpNmf6NRW
easyddup - A simple upgrade/downgrade utility by yoyoma2 --- as featured in 📌 List of reference threads, how-tos, and otherwise (Moderator's Pick 🌟)
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 4585

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 9:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/browser/src/router/services/networking/generic/network.c?rev=49866#L821
ROUTER_LINKSYS_EA8500 is now bundled with ROUTER_TRENDNET_TEW827 so missing lan_ifnames wlan1.
Old lan_ifnames vlan1 vlan2 wlan0 wlan1
New lan_ifnames eth0 eth1 wlan0
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/browser/src/router/services/networking/generic/network.c?rev=49866#L2887
ROUTER_LINKSYS_EA8500 still bundled with ROUTER_ASROCK_G10 pppoe_wan_ifname vlan2, so not eth0.

@IONK EA8500 only.
MLandi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 805

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 12:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update method: SSH / CLI using PuTTY
Router/Version: Netgear R9000 Nighthawk X10
File/Kernel: DD-WRT v3.0-r49866 std (08/24/22)
Previous/Reset: DD-WRT v3.0-r49838 std (08/23/22) / No
Mode/Status: Gateway / Working Normally
Issues/Errors: No issues

_________________
Netgear R9000 X10
DD-WRT v3.0-r50963 std (11/28/22)
Gateway, AP, DNSMasq, Clock 2000MHz
VAP on wlan1 for internet devices
IPv4 & IPv6 (Prefix Delegation)
Static Leases & DHCP
CloudFlare, QoS Disabled, SmartDNS Disabled
2.4GHz: VANILLA Firmware, Airtime Fairness Enabled, NG-Mixed, ACK Timing 3150, WPA2 w/AES
5GHz: VANILLA Firmware, Airtime Fairness Enabled, AC/N Mixed, ACK Timing 3150, WPA2 w/AES
Xfinity 1.2Gbps/42Mbps
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum