Keep losing WAN IP while setting up vlans

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
RJS
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2022 21:13    Post subject: Keep losing WAN IP while setting up vlans Reply with quote
I have been using DD-WRT on a linksys router for several years now and have been very happy with it. I originally went to it for the QoS capabilities to control the amount of data the family used. Then a couple of months ago I got on a plan with my ISP that gives me unlimited data, triple the speed, and included a gateway at no extra charge. All for just a few dollars more per month. However, I am no longer happy with the router that is completely under their control. So, I decided to dust off my Linksys router. I also want to set up VLANs with all my streaming devices on its own VLAN. I followed the instructions from DevBaseMedia for setting up virtual lans for IoT devices (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ds4o2RxHAc). It did exactly what I wanted and worked great - until I actually connected to my modem. Then I discovered that I was not getting a WAN IP address. I have gone over and over it to no avail. I went back to my old modem just to make sure it wasn't the gateway messing me up. But still no WAN IP. Everything is fine until I setup my VLANs via Setup/Switch Config. As soon as the router reboots, WAN IP goes to 0.0.0.0. So, after a lot of research, I decided to follow the recommendations to bypass the GUI and set up my VLANs via command line. When I do that using the NVRAM commands, all appears good. I set up my VLANs and still maintain my WAN IP. The layout is even reflected under Setup/Switch Config. However, when I try to use the brctl commands to create bridges and add VLANs to them, brctl returns an error message stating that the VLAN3 does not exist. On a whim, I went to the Setup/Switch Config screen and clicked the Save button. Did not touch anything else on t