Two Networks isolated from each other and the Provider

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
TechieTroglodyte
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2022 21:47    Post subject: Two Networks isolated from each other and the Provider Reply with quote
Hi, I'm a DD-WRT newbie and need some advice on my network setup, especially with regard to SECURITY.

I've included two setups, and included diagrams to make the setups very clear.

Both identical tp-link Archer C7 v5. Both running dd-wrt, and I'm keeping them up to date with the most recent firmware. As of Yesterday it is release 49081, the current Beta.

Before anybody says
"But you didn't need to use TWO DD-WRT routers, you could have done all that with Virtual Sub-Nets."
Well - "Yes I know! - I've been reading up about that."
But the trouble is - that with Virtual Sub-Nets, I know I've GOT to get into much more complex setup outside of the GUI. Firewall rules become ESSENTIAL.
It seems to me beyond my DD-WRT "Paygrade"... (until I've learnt a whole lot more)

- - -

The first setup is up and running and seems secure, at least by tests I've done on
www.grc.com
www.whatsmydnsserver.com
routercheck.com
A "Network Check" by Avast Free AntiVirus, on the Laptop, from various points. It was most interesting to see "What it COULDN'T SEE"!
AND loads of "Ping" tests I've done, from every conceivable point, to every other point.

Network A connects to the internet and can Manage the Orange "Box of Death", but NOT Network B.

Network B can likewise connect to the internet and can Manage the Orange "Box of Death". But likewise it cannot connect to Network A.