Request: DD-WRT needs a better way to handle new hosts defin

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
MomenMamdouh
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 69
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2022 9:37    Post subject: Request: DD-WRT needs a better way to handle new hosts defin Reply with quote
As openwrt does, it can detect new hosts' mac addresses and allows you to assign hostnames and static IPs to these addresses, these changes propagate and can be used without the need to re-enter these addresses in any other pages. I hope that brainslayer can implement the same approach in dd-wrt, and if it's not possible at least make modifications to QoS and Access Restriction pages that allow entering IP or MAC-addresse as a whole not segregated into groups of 2 or 3 characters to facilitate managing large number of hosts by just copy & paste the whole address at once.

Thanks;

_________________
Routers:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2-(EU)
TP-Link WR840n v3
TP-Link WR740n v5
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2022 10:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is already there on Status LAN page under DHCP clients.

Perhaps you are running an old build?

See the forum guidelines with helpful pointers about how to research your router, where and what firmware to download, where and how to post and many other helpful tips:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
MomenMamdouh
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 69
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2022 14:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
It is already there on Status LAN page under DHCP clients.

Perhaps you are running an old build?

See the forum guidelines with helpful pointers about how to research your router, where and what firmware to download, where and how to post and many other helpful tips:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087


I know that the hosts info is displayed on status page, what i mean is the ease of configuring other settings that depends on hosts info and the need to re-enter this info every time we need to setup access restrictions or Qos settings.
Openwrt allows to setup the hosts info such as name, static IP, and associates them with the detected mac-address which is displayed and can be selected from a drop list without the need to type it. After that the host data can be used any where without the need to duplicate or re-entering it

_________________
Routers:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2-(EU)
TP-Link WR840n v3
TP-Link WR740n v5
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2022 14:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
I know what you mean and it is already there, just click the + sign behind the DHCP clients and then that client is added to the static leases.

But perhaps you are running an old build ?



Naamloos.png
 Description:
STATUS/LAN page
 Filesize:  27.98 KB
 Viewed:  365 Time(s)

Naamloos.png



_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
MomenMamdouh
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 69
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2022 18:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks egc for ur reply, i didn't notice this option before as I've been an openwrt user for 2 years!

It remains to allow the use of defined hostnames in other areas such as QoS without enforcing the admin to retype the mac addresses again.



IMG_20220416_201106.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  236.77 KB
 Viewed:  354 Time(s)

IMG_20220416_201106.jpg



_________________
Routers:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2-(EU)
TP-Link WR840n v3
TP-Link WR740n v5
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum