I need help with WDS on two different hardware.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
Sidekick2016
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2022
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2022 18:24    Post subject: I need help with WDS on two different hardware. Reply with quote
I am looking to get WDS working on the TP-Link ARCHER-C7 v2 with the Qualcomm Atheros QCA9558 ver 1 rev 1.0 (0x1130) CPU running DD-WRT. I only need to set up this wireless router to connect to the internet wirelessly to the main wireless modem supplied by Spectrum Cable company. So this WDS is not between two identical wireless routers. How can I do that?
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13112
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2022 18:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
We have no idea what Spectrum supplied you with or any configuration settings for the device in question.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WDS_Linked_router_network

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2285
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2022 18:56    Post subject: Doubt WDS will work Reply with quote
WDS will probably not work.

I have never seen a Modem/Router combo with WDS as an option.

You best bet is to try Client or possibly Client Bridge modes. Then create a Virtual AP, VAP.

Client: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Mode
Client Bridge: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Bridged

Description of the different modes table of the differences: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeating_Mode_Comparisons#Router_Mode_Comparison_Table

Note, client bridge is a software hack and can cause lots of weird problems.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 x3 - WDS AP / station, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - NU
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - 1 WDS station
D-Link 825 B1 - NU
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - NU
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum