[solved] control panel request

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
tgvrfcedx
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Sep 2021
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2022 3:36    Post subject: [solved] control panel request Reply with quote
it would be super helpful so have the IP next to the MAC in control panel status> wireless and maybe the option to name or note connections\macs.

most of the time "Radioname" is blank
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12482
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2022 12:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
On what build? The IPs are on Status -> LAN.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
tgvrfcedx
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Sep 2021
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2022 3:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
thats great... its also in sys-info
except its not clear which are wifi and which are wired.

or watch a new live connection wifi, and be able to get the IP easy.


kernel-panic69 wrote:
On what build? The IPs are on Status -> LAN.
tgvrfcedx
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Sep 2021
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2022 3:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
another example is if your DHCP is done on another device its hard to see the WIFI ips on the local router

tgvrfcedx wrote:
thats great... its also in sys-info
except its not clear which are wifi and which are wired.

or watch a new live connection wifi, and be able to get the IP easy.


kernel-panic69 wrote:
On what build? The IPs are on Status -> LAN.
the-joker
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 31 Jul 2021
Posts: 821
Location: All over YOUR webs

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2022 9:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
tgvrfcedx wrote:
thats great... its also in sys-info
except its not clear which are wifi and which are wired.

or watch a new live connection wifi, and be able to get the IP easy.

kernel-panic69 wrote:
On what build? The IPs are on Status -> LAN.


sysinfo has both wifi and DHCP

DHCP display all connected clients
WiFi display only wireless clients

So you just observe and see.

Screenshot attached has a wired and a wireless attached, so if you look at the wireless portion MAC you know immediately which are wireless or which are wired.

What could be done is add the Interface to the DHCP table, it has enough width to support that and then you would know by the interface being used if its wired or not.

Currently if you need more breakdowns you have dedicated Status_Wireless.asp and Status_Lan.asp dedicated pages which tables have a hard limit on available width so no more can be added to there..

re: radio name: This is not supported by all clients, so unless you have clients that support adding the radio name, it wont show up, but if you do, it will show up.

Ill look into adding the interface name to the DHCP if it takes too long I will skip it, I have real life stuff to deal with as well.



Capture.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  22.08 KB
 Viewed:  836 Time(s)

Capture.PNG



_________________
Saving your retinas from the burn!🔥
DD-WRT Inspired themes for routers
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the phpBB Forum
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the SVN Trac & FTP site
Join in for a chat @ #style_it_themes_public:matrix.org or #style_it_themes:discord

DD-WRT UI Themes Bug Reporting and Discussion thread

Router: ANus RT-AC68U E1 (recognized as C1)
the-joker
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 31 Jul 2021
Posts: 821
Location: All over YOUR webs

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2022 10:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is what I have in mind, its a quick hack on browser just for concept its not working at all.

All this is generated on the fly, I dont have the time to learn how to implement the actual generated value for the interface name.

However will request some help and see f its implemented.

See attach and let me know.



Capture.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  18.11 KB
 Viewed:  830 Time(s)

Capture.PNG



_________________
Saving your retinas from the burn!🔥
DD-WRT Inspired themes for routers
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the phpBB Forum
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the SVN Trac & FTP site
Join in for a chat @ #style_it_themes_public:matrix.org or #style_it_themes:discord

DD-WRT UI Themes Bug Reporting and Discussion thread

Router: ANus RT-AC68U E1 (recognized as C1)
plawer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2022 20:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
But really... this column is always empty and it makes it more difficult to identify the devices unless you are rainman


2022-03-17 15_55_52-LAXNET (build 48494) - Wireless Status — Mozilla Firefox.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  31.53 KB
 Viewed:  799 Time(s)

2022-03-17 15_55_52-LAXNET (build 48494) - Wireless Status — Mozilla Firefox.png



_________________
Linksys: 3x WRT3200ACM, 3x WRT1900AC, WRT1900ACv2, WRT1900ACSv2
Netgear: 4x WNDR4500v2, 7x Netgear WNDR4300, WNDR3800, WNDR3700v4, R6400v1
Gl.inet: 3x GL-AR150
the-joker
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 31 Jul 2021
Posts: 821
Location: All over YOUR webs

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2022 10:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Again, I already explained that this requires clients that support naming the radios, else if the clients dont support it, it will be empty. If you have any clinets that support this you must then name their radios and these fields will be populated where supported.

A few machines support it, most dont, just FYI.

_________________
Saving your retinas from the burn!🔥
DD-WRT Inspired themes for routers
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the phpBB Forum
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the SVN Trac & FTP site
Join in for a chat @ #style_it_themes_public:matrix.org or #style_it_themes:discord

DD-WRT UI Themes Bug Reporting and Discussion thread

Router: ANus RT-AC68U E1 (recognized as C1)
Mile-Lile
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 1532
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2022 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
usually mikrotik routers supports these radionames... and ddwrt ofcourse...

@the-joker
Maybe this is offtopic but could you enchance UI regarding ipv6? I cannot see whole ipv6 adress, and could you improver copying ip adresses... BS says it is easy to copy ip adress but not to me... maybe it is my browser or whatsoever...

plawer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2022 17:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mile-Lile wrote:
usually mikrotik routers supports these radionames... and ddwrt ofcourse...
(...)



You're looking at the wrong screen. Your screenshot is from the LAN tab. It's the Wireless or Sys-info tabs we are talking about. It's correct in DHCP clients, but missing under Wireless clients.



2022-03-20 12_49_41-Window.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  69.32 KB
 Viewed:  651 Time(s)

2022-03-20 12_49_41-Window.png



_________________
Linksys: 3x WRT3200ACM, 3x WRT1900AC, WRT1900ACv2, WRT1900ACSv2
Netgear: 4x WNDR4500v2, 7x Netgear WNDR4300, WNDR3800, WNDR3700v4, R6400v1
Gl.inet: 3x GL-AR150
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3910

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2022 21:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mile-Lile wrote:
@the-joker
Maybe this is offtopic but could you enchance UI regarding ipv6? I cannot see whole ipv6 adress, and could you improver copying ip adresses... BS says it is easy to copy ip adress but not to me... maybe it is my browser or whatsoever...

Minor IPv6 Suggestion
the-joker
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 31 Jul 2021
Posts: 821
Location: All over YOUR webs

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2022 11:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Aside of what blkt said, see that topic on why ipv6 overflow is cut off, cant show the whole ipv6 since in some cases it will break the interface.

Via UI
You can copy the ipv6 even if its half hidden. You need to either disable auto fresh in admin page by setting it to 0 or to a value thats around 30 or more seconds (to give you time to select and copy.

To copy, select the ipv6 complete with overflow ... so select all the visible area including ... the right click and select copy of press ctrl+c to copy, the whole ipv6 will be copied not just the visible part.

Over SSH/Telnet

Code:
nvram show | grep ipv6


You can also remove the overflow block temporarily, will come back when refresh takes place.

Sadly there is nothing else to be done here as the is, we dont have the horizontal width to show full length ipv6 even if I used a tooltip you cant copy anything from tooltip.

I guess what I could do is remove the overflow on hover, and if the UI breaks then dont complain. Im not keen on having broken things just because its convenient for some edge cases. So that is last resort.

Another possible solution would require the IP to be clickable and open some sort of pop up, this requires time, a lot less than redesigning the UI, but still, as Im not proficient with C / cgi so its a lot of trial and error which consumes the time.

These days, Im short on time and I have real life to consider, since this is opensource something I do on spare time for free and the love of DD-WRT.

_________________
Saving your retinas from the burn!🔥
DD-WRT Inspired themes for routers
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the phpBB Forum
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the SVN Trac & FTP site
Join in for a chat @ #style_it_themes_public:matrix.org or #style_it_themes:discord

DD-WRT UI Themes Bug Reporting and Discussion thread

Router: ANus RT-AC68U E1 (recognized as C1)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum