Assigning multiple Static WAN IP's to Specific Devices :?:

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
w1z3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2022 8:22    Post subject: Assigning multiple Static WAN IP's to Specific Devices :?: Reply with quote
I'd like to use dd wrt to assign 5 static IP's from my ISP. I'm able to assign one and know I have successfully used IP tables in the past to assign more than one.

My research is painfully slow because I keep finding info on LAN static IP's instead of WAN/Public ones.

I also have some other questions and would like to pay someone for helping answer questions or coaching me through some network specific things but don't want to spam the forum a day after registering the account.
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 9573
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2022 8:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Welcome to the forum Smile

Please let us know what router and build you are using as that can be useful to give optimal support.

For some general information (perhaps you already know as you are posting in the right forum) see the forum guidelines with helpful pointers about how to research your router, where and what firmware to download, where and how to post and many other helpful tips:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

Have a look at the multiwan wiki's:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Category:Dual_WAN

Also one-to-one NAT can be of interest: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/One-to-one_NAT, this can be done via the GUI (Nat/Qos page)

You are welcome to post all your questions, if you are satisfied you can always support by donating Smile

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
DWCruiser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 67
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2022 10:36    Post subject: Re: Assigning multiple Static WAN IP's to Specific Devices Reply with quote
w1z3 wrote:
I'd like to use dd wrt to assign 5 static IP's from my ISP. I'm able to assign one and know I have successfully used IP tables in the past to assign more than one.
......


While egc was so kind to respond to your query and I don't mean to short circuit your reply in turn, but your query is very intriguing to me.

At the very basic, a static IP acts like a fixed address. It's designed so intended traffic (i.e. packets) will get to its desired destination such as a router behind that public IP. After all, that is what TCP/IP is all about.

Take for example, a university where I used to work. It has ONE Post Office Box for all incoming snail mails. But it has its OWN internal post office to further distribute mails to various faculties/departments across the university.

The IT equivalent functions of the university's PO example above are handled by its router's NAT. The use of 10.0.0.0/8 gives the Uni 16,777,216 unique IP addresses internally.

In theory, it only needs one static (public) IP address.

Do you still really need five static public IP addresses for your home?

_________________
Life is a journey, travel alone makes it less enjoyable and lonely.


Last edited by DWCruiser on Thu Jan 27, 2022 12:12; edited 1 time in total
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 9573
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2022 11:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
@DWCruiser, all input is welcome so thanks for chiming in Smile
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
w1z3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2022 13:50    Post subject: Re: Assigning multiple Static WAN IP's to Specific Devices Reply with quote
DWCruiser wrote:
w1z3 wrote:
I'd like to use dd wrt to assign 5 static IP's from my ISP. I'm able to assign one and know I have successfully used IP tables in the past to assign more than one.
......


While egc was so kind to respond to your query and I don't mean to short circuit your reply in turn, but your query is very intriguing to me.

At the very basic, a static IP acts like a fixed address. It's designed so intended traffic (i.e. packets) will get to its desired destination such as a router behind that public IP. After all, that is what TCP/IP is all about.

Take for example, a university where I used to work. It has ONE Post Office Box for all incoming snail mails. But it has its OWN internal post office to further distribute mails to various faculties/departments across the university.

The IT equivalent functions of the university's PO example above are handled by its router's NAT. The use of 10.0.0.0/8 gives the Uni 16,777,216 unique IP addresses internally.

In theory, it only needs one static (public) IP address.

Do you still really need five static public IP addresses for your home?


Honestly these responses where the person asks you about your motivation for posting a question instead of giving advice usually drives me nuts. But your response is an exception. (Clearly trying to help me out and taking time to respond <3 )

You guys responded way faster than expected btw, ty!

Yes, I for sure need 5 static IP's. I would actually take 100+ static IP's if I could avoid having them be in the same block.

My issue is that I have these IP's at my friends house and I dont want to sit there for 2 days trying things out slowly as I learn to properly use IP tables or get stuck on some silly thing I missed. Otherwise I would be doing that until stuff started working.
w1z3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2022 14:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Welcome to the forum Smile

Please let us know what router and build you are using as that can be useful to give optimal support.

For some general information (perhaps you already know as you are posting in the right forum) see the forum guidelines with helpful pointers about how to research your router, where and what firmware to download, where and how to post and many other helpful tips:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

Have a look at the multiwan wiki's:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Category:Dual_WAN

Also one-to-one NAT can be of interest: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/One-to-one_NAT, this can be done via the GUI (Nat/Qos page)

You are welcome to post all your questions, if you are satisfied you can always support by donating Smile



You tell me what router and build you want me to have and I'll get it Razz

I have like 5+ routers capable of dd-wrt with plenty of ram. As well as the WRT54GL but I feel like continuing to use that router is a gamble and I kind of think its earned its retirement haha

I also have 5 raspberry Pi zero 2's, 3 pi400's, and 3-4 Pi 4's.

Maybe you guys know if its easier / possible / logical to have the Pi's (debian) request the static IP? I do a decent amount of coding and can figure this stuff out but I havent found a reliable way to replicate this situation at my house. I'm going to need to set this up at my friends who was nice enough to let me install the 2nd internet at his place and keep a bunch of old windows machines at his place. (Switching over to the Pi's mostly so he can have his closet back Razz )


I really don't want to go there and fail. Hence why I was hoping to pay for help if I am stuck. and I am trying to do as much general research as possible. (I have other things I need to set up so don't mind learning but waiting hours between responses is painful.)


Ill check out the links about NAT and multiwan, thanks!
w1z3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2022 1:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey guys, so this is what the info from the ISP looks like:

Quote:

IP Range: X.X.127.10 - X.X.127.14
Gateway: X.X.127.9
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.248

DNS 1: 64.233.217.2
DNS 2: 64.233.217.3


The ISP is WOW and I found someone working through the exact same problems on a 5 IP block.

Question on ISP forums here:https://community.ui.com/questions/Having-Difficulty-Setting-up-Static-IP-Block-on-EdgeRouter-X/384ddf10-2d26-4a3e-ac9f-7a7ac91d9d90


Here I found a post on reddit from a guy using an ATT block of static IP's:
Link: https://www.reddit.com/r/homelab/comments/8svvtn/howto_att_internet_1000_with_static_ip_block/


Quote:

AT&T set me up with a BGW210-700 Residential Gateway. This RG is great for use with a static IP block because it has a feature called Public Subnet Mode. In Public Subnet Mode the RG acts as a edge router, this is similar to Cascaded Router mode but it actually works for all the IP addresses in your static IP block. The BGW210 takes one of the public ip addresses, and then it will serve the rest of the static IP block via DHCP to your secondary routers or servers. DHCP MAC address reservations can be made under the "IP Allocation" tab.

http://screenshots.portforward.com/routers/Arris/BGW210-700_-_ATT/Subnets_and_DHCP.jpg

Example Static IP Block:

23.126.219.0/29

Network Address: 23.126.219.0

Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.248

Broadcast Address: 23.126.219.7

Usable Host IP Range: 23.126.219.1 - 23.126.219.5

BGW210 Gateway Address: 23.126.219.6

Settings:

"Home Network" > "Subnets & DHCP" > "Public Subnet" > "Public Subnet Mode" = On

"Home Network" > "Subnets & DHCP" > "Public Subnet" > "Allow Inbound traffic" = On

"Home Network" > "Subnets & DHCP" > "Public Subnet" > "Public Gateway Address" = 23.126.219.6

"Home Network" > "Subnets & DHCP" > "Public Subnet" > "Public Subnet Mask" = 255.255.255.248

"Home Network" > "Subnets & DHCP" > "Public Subnet" > "DHCPv4 Start Address" = 23.126.219.1

"Home Network" > "Subnets & DHCP" > "Public Subnet" > "DHCPv4 End Address" = 23.126.219.5

"Home Network" > "Subnets & DHCP" > "Public Subnet" > "Primary DHCP Pool" = Public




EGC mentioned looking in to One to One NAT which looks promising: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/One-to-one_NAT



Please just assume I have a dd-wrt router that is on the recommended list.

(I can respond with the exact info if needed but for now, just believe me that I have installed dd-wrt many times and have access to a solid $100 router with the standard features.)


Can you point me in the right direction now?



(I will make sure to post when its working for me with all my settings. Really appreciate the friendly forum.)
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6395
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2022 13:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use either One-to-one or this:

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Public_Sub-Net_Over_Dynamic_WAN
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum