R7500, no 5ghz?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
MasterGoa
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2022 15:28    Post subject: R7500, no 5ghz? Reply with quote
Hey guys, is the R7500v1 FULLY supported with dd wrt?
Sponsor
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5846
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2022 16:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
AFAIK the R7500v1 is NOT fully supported by DD-WRT cause of its silly Quantenna radio Rolling Eyes
MasterGoa
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2022 16:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bummer.

It would have been nice to have this mentioned in the compatibility page though.

It does run awesome on stock firmware though, Youtube on the phone everywhere, even outside...

I have to TFTP to revert?
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1796
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2022 16:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
MasterGoa wrote:
I have to TFTP to revert?


That is what I have used on the V2.
NMRPFLASH should also work.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12858
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2022 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
5 sources of information in the forum about the v1 (and other devices) with the Quantenna 5GHz radio:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=268359
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=304857
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=312130&start=31
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318001
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=329727

This should be noted in the wiki and on the router database, but it isn't; however, the fallback is to always search the forum extensively. I will link this thread in the Supported Devices wiki.

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
MasterGoa
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2019
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2022 18:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
For anyone reading this after a failled upgrade, here is how you put the R7500 in "put" mode:

With the router turned off, use a sim tool or paper clip and press the reset button.
Maintain pressed while turning on the router.
Power led will flash red, then flash white.
Now release reset button and press PUT on TFTP utility.

Sad that it's a 2018 firmware but holy cow the coverage is amazing...
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum