Nighthawk R7000 | Repeat 2.4GHz & 5GHz

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
DerHimmelUberBerlin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2022
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 13:14    Post subject: Nighthawk R7000 | Repeat 2.4GHz & 5GHz Reply with quote
Hi there,

sorry if this is not the correct thread to post to.
I searched extensively about this topic but could not find a clear answer – so I'll try it here. Hope this is ok.

I have two Netgear Nighthawk R7000s.
First R7000 has standard Netgear Firmware.
Second R7000 has DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std

I configured DD-WRT to Repeat the SSID broadcasted of the first via 2.4GHz (Via VAP, WPA-PSK2 AES).
This works.

And I made the same configuration for wl1 to repeat 5GHz. The DD-WRT is able to log on to the first R7000 via 5GHz.
But when I try to connect my Macbook to the new Virtual 5GHz-SSID it does not pass Authentication.

I tried to disable Authentication for the 5GHz completetly => Did not work.

I tried to configure 2.4GHz-DD-WRT as Repeater and 5GHz-DD-WRT as AP => this Works. But I guess this uses the bandwith of 2.4GHz from DD-WRT to first R7000?

Is repeating both Wifis even possible?

Thanks in advance.
Best wishes to the community.



Screenshot 2022-01-15 at 14.04.51.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  403.45 KB
 Viewed:  1312 Time(s)

Screenshot 2022-01-15 at 14.04.51.png



Screenshot 2022-01-15 at 14.11.52.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  398.64 KB
 Viewed:  1312 Time(s)

Screenshot 2022-01-15 at 14.11.52.png



Screenshot 2022-01-15 at 14.04.51.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  403.45 KB
 Viewed:  1312 Time(s)

Screenshot 2022-01-15 at 14.04.51.png


Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10788
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 13:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
No problem, I will move your thread to the appropriate forum.

See the forum guidelines with helpful pointers about how to research your router, where and what firmware to download, where and how to post and many other helpful tips:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

You are running an old and unsupported build consider upgrading, we are now on build 48081.

You cannot set repeater (bridge) on both bands actually by running a repeater bridge you are already halving the bandwidth.

If you do not want that set one of the bands on client bridge so that it will work as back haul and use the other band for your clients

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13112
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
First, please upgrade to a more recent build:
Quote:
VAPs not working at boot are fixed, both unbridged (r40634) and bridged (r47822). Please test, remove startup commands.

https://ftp.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2022/

Second, for Repeater Bridge, I know that you cannot set it up on both bands; the Repeater mode wiki does not state specifically that this is not possible, but it was written for single-band routers. I have a feeling that you cannot use repeater mode on both radios at the same time without a further in-depth configuration; I have not tried doing repeater modes on Broadcom ARM/Northstar as I have seen reports that it is broken and I myself wound up bootlooping an R7000P trying to set up repeater modes in the past.

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Mr R Design
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Nov 2020
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 9:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Read the attached guide on how to set the repeater bridge up, it is not bang up-to-date but should be sufficient to get you going (I have been running a repeater bridge close on fifteen years on various broadcom routers and had no grief).

Also have a read through this thread: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=329576



Repeater Bridge.pdf
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Repeater Bridge.pdf
 Filesize:  135.47 KB
 Downloaded:  43 Time(s)

DerHimmelUberBerlin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2022
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2022 16:38    Post subject: Nighthawk R7000 | Repeat 2.4GHz & 5GHz Reply with quote
Thanks guys.
For filing this thread correct.
For the immediate helpful answers.
And for assisting me.
Got it set up correct now.

Best regards.
QAcanada
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2022
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2022 23:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
This was very helpful. Thank you.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum