WDS Stations frequent disconnects

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 9:33    Post subject: WDS Stations frequent disconnects Reply with quote
Hello,

I'm using a TP-Link Archer C7 v5 as a WDS AP on the 2.4GHz band. I've included a screenshot of the settings, everything's been set up according to the Wiki as well as the sticky threads here. Channel 1 is the most free channel (having only 1 network overlapping which is on the other side of the street, very weak). The WDS Stations are using exactly the same settings as the AP.

One of the Stations is a TP-Link WR1043 v2 which has a VAP for extending the Wifi. It also has 1db less than maximum power on the antennas. This Station appears to reconnect couple of time during the day.

The other Station is a TP-Link WE841 v8 which is set up exactly like the first Station except it has no VAP (using it as a bridged client to provide wired ethernet to a CCTV DVR). This Station appears to be holding it together for at least 24 hours usually before reconnecting.

Worth noting that during the WDS Station reconnects, other devices on the same band stay connected, as well as the Stations never reconnect in the same time.

I've got syslog enabled on all, and that doesn't show anything why the connection might have been dropped on any of the devices. Only thing that indicated a recorded drop was the WDS watchdog where it briefly had a failed ping (1/3) after the disconnect.

All the devices are running build r47925.


If someone might have an idea, I'd appreciate it a lot!
Sponsor
grc
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jul 2018
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 14:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have the U-APSD function enabled. Connections may be interrupted
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 14:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
grc wrote:
You have the U-APSD function enabled. Connections may be interrupted


Thank you for the reply!

I had that disabled until couple days ago, enabling it didn't change much. I can disable it if needed but I can freely say it was the same with it disabled unfortunately.
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 15:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update: After disabling power saving on every device, been stable and connected for an hour after which the WR1043ND v2 Station reconnected again.

Is there a way to get more details in a log?
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1845
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 16:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
GamerHD wrote:
Is there a way to get more details in a log?


BrainSlayer wrote:
enable syslog and klog gives even more output

nvram set console_debug=1
nvram commit

_________________
Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way----Before asking for help - Read the forum guidelines AND Upgrade DD-WRT!
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10788
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 16:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wasn't there a problem with Disassoc Low Ack?
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 16:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
GamerHD wrote:
Is there a way to get more details in a log?


BrainSlayer wrote:
enable syslog and klog gives even more output

nvram set console_debug=1
nvram commit


I've ran those commands and rebooted the devices. I will report back if something out of ordinary appears jn the log now (I imagine I check the same place (Status > Syslog)?)
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Wasn't there a problem with Disassoc Low Ack?


Did more research on this and it might be a good thing to investigate as well. I'll report back if disabling it will help as my next step.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13112
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 17:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I thought Disassociate on Low Ack issue was only on Marvell (or rather, it wasn't necessarily supported well on Marvell)? It could be a matter of combined settings that do not work for WDS modes. IOW, don't use client mode wireless settings.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 18:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I thought Disassociate on Low Ack issue was only on Marvell (or rather, it wasn't necessarily supported well on Marvell)? It could be a matter of combined settings that do not work for WDS modes. IOW, don't use client mode wireless settings.


Could you specify what you mean with "don't use client mode wireless settings"?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13112
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 20:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Atheros/ath_wireless_settings

CTRL+F client mode

Sorry it's not that obvious what I mean.
I personally don't think WDS STA modes are considered "client modes";
therefore, use AP mode settings where applicable.

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Atheros/ath_wireless_settings

CTRL+F client mode

Sorry it's not that obvious what I mean.
I personally don't think WDS STA modes are considered "client modes";
therefore, use AP mode settings where applicable.


Gotcha. What would you recommend for a setup where I'd need a router to connect to a Wireless network and allow internet access Only through the ports on the back (no VAP on Wifi)?

I've already had it set as client bridged but it is highlighted not to use that if a real WDS connection works.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13112
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 20:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
WDS is a "true" bridge mode. Your TL-WR1043NDv2 should have connectivity on the ethernet ports; you can try not adding the VAP. Although the "Assign WAN Port to Switch" option is no longer, it being an option in step 7 leads me to believe that you should have wired connectivity...

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WDS_Linked_router_network
Quote:
(Optional) Assign WAN Port to switch – Enable (This provides another LAN port on the WDS Station)

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 20:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
WDS is a "true" bridge mode. Your TL-WR1043NDv2 should have connectivity on the ethernet ports; you can try not adding the VAP. Although the "Assign WAN Port to Switch" option is no longer, it being an option in step 7 leads me to believe that you should have wired connectivity...

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WDS_Linked_router_network
Quote:
(Optional) Assign WAN Port to switch – Enable (This provides another LAN port on the WDS Station)


I believe there was a slight misunderstanding. Both of my 2 devices that connect wirelessly to the WDS AP are configured already as WDS Stations as per the Wiki. Only difference is that the 1043n v2 has a VAP for extending the coverage while the 841nd v8 doesn't have that set up.

Is there a better way to solve this setup? 1043nd v2 has ti extend wifi coverage while the 841nd v8 has to connect a wired device to the wireless network.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13112
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2021 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, one thing I just saw now that you can try. Change your beacon intervals to 100, DTIM to 2. While it may "matter" in a congested environment, I really don't see how it affects things to not use the defaults. I am in a really "busy" neighborhood and don't have issues using the defaults on those two settings. The only other option is to either use powerline adapters or run cable or use client modes and then add another AP where needed.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum