gave up on Wireless G - got WRT310N - real speeds??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
dellsweig
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1476
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 20:04    Post subject: gave up on Wireless G - got WRT310N - real speeds?? Reply with quote
Well Many of you were following my thread on realistic wireless G speeds. Well - I gave up - found the WRT310 for $73 on Amazon and got 2 of them.

Here is my current setup:

AP <--> RB

I have clients wired to both the AP and RB and G clients associating with both the AP and RB

I am running DD-WRT V24 pre SP2 11218 EKO NEWD

On the AP I am running the VPN build
On the RB I am running the Mini build

I am getting around 65Mbps using IPERF from a PC connected to the RB to a PC hardwired to the AP.

I am getting VERRRY close to my ISP speed (24Mbps) using dslreports speed test run from a PC wired to the RB. This is also very good

The Rate indicated in the dd-wrt gui is 130Mbps (see attachement)

It appears that G clients connected to either the AP or RB do not effect this (this is good)

Does anyone know why I dont see an option to increase the speed to 270 (40mhz band)??

So far I am quite pleased - I will keep everyone posted



ScreenHunter_01 Dec. 19 15.03.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  90.72 KB
 Viewed:  5697 Time(s)

ScreenHunter_01 Dec. 19 15.03.jpg



ScreenHunter_01 Dec. 19 14.57.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  8.28 KB
 Viewed:  5697 Time(s)

ScreenHunter_01 Dec. 19 14.57.jpg


Sponsor
jmh9072
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 20:56    Post subject: Re: gave up on Wireless G - got WRT310N - real speeds?? Reply with quote
dellsweig wrote:
Does anyone know why I dont see an option to increase the speed to 270 (40mhz band)??

40Mhz can only be enabled when the radio is in N-Only mode. I believe Eko once said that enabling 40Mhz bands in mixed mode would make 802.11g clients unable to connect. However, the stock firmware allows you to do this and it works fine. I guess we'll just have to convince him otherwise...

_________________
WRT54G v3 - v24 r14471M NEWD Eko - AP
WRT350N v1.0
WRT600N v1.1 - halfway there!
Se7en is Darker...
dellsweig
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1476
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 21:15    Post subject: Re: gave up on Wireless G - got WRT310N - real speeds?? Reply with quote
jmh9072 wrote:
dellsweig wrote:
Does anyone know why I dont see an option to increase the speed to 270 (40mhz band)??

40Mhz can only be enabled when the radio is in N-Only mode. I believe Eko once said that enabling 40Mhz bands in mixed mode would make 802.11g clients unable to connect. However, the stock firmware allows you to do this and it works fine. I guess we'll just have to convince him otherwise...


Eko

With the price of this router (73$ at amazon) you should really look into getting the 40Mhz band working in mixed mode!!!

So far - very impressed with the 310N
somms
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 21:31    Post subject: Re: gave up on Wireless G - got WRT310N - real speeds?? Reply with quote
jmh9072 wrote:
dellsweig wrote:
Does anyone know why I dont see an option to increase the speed to 270 (40mhz band)??

40Mhz can only be enabled when the radio is in N-Only mode. I believe Eko once said that enabling 40Mhz bands in mixed mode would make 802.11g clients unable to connect. However, the stock firmware allows you to do this and it works fine. I guess we'll just have to convince him otherwise...


Got tired of beating that dead horse man...

Looks like I'll continue to be runnin' SVN revision 10431M NEWD Eko for the long term...sigh Sad

_________________


Member of the Professional Aviation Safety Specialists Union!
jmh9072
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 21:36    Post subject: Re: gave up on Wireless G - got WRT310N - real speeds?? Reply with quote
somms wrote:
jmh9072 wrote:
dellsweig wrote:
Does anyone know why I dont see an option to increase the speed to 270 (40mhz band)??

40Mhz can only be enabled when the radio is in N-Only mode. I believe Eko once said that enabling 40Mhz bands in mixed mode would make 802.11g clients unable to connect. However, the stock firmware allows you to do this and it works fine. I guess we'll just have to convince him otherwise...


Got tired of beating that dead horse man...

Heh. We'll convince the devs eventually.

Quote:
Looks like I'll continue to be runnin' SVN revision 10431M NEWD Eko for the long term...sigh Sad

If you (or anyone else) has any patches, I'd be glad to roll them into a custom build based on newer code (as soon as I get my build environment off of revision 9991).

_________________
WRT54G v3 - v24 r14471M NEWD Eko - AP
WRT350N v1.0
WRT600N v1.1 - halfway there!
Se7en is Darker...
dellsweig
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1476
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 22:15    Post subject: Re: gave up on Wireless G - got WRT310N - real speeds?? Reply with quote
jmh9072 wrote:
somms wrote:
jmh9072 wrote:
dellsweig wrote:
Does anyone know why I dont see an option to increase the speed to 270 (40mhz band)??

40Mhz can only be enabled when the radio is in N-Only mode. I believe Eko once said that enabling 40Mhz bands in mixed mode would make 802.11g clients unable to connect. However, the stock firmware allows you to do this and it works fine. I guess we'll just have to convince him otherwise...


Got tired of beating that dead horse man...

Heh. We'll convince the devs eventually.

Quote:
Looks like I'll continue to be runnin' SVN revision 10431M NEWD Eko for the long term...sigh Sad

If you (or anyone else) has any patches, I'd be glad to roll them into a custom build based on newer code (as soon as I get my build environment off of revision 9991).


Ok

went N only between Cleint Bridge and AP

What channel(s) should I use.

My CPU goes to 100% on the AP and is unusable at times
sheik124
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 0:08    Post subject: Re: gave up on Wireless G - got WRT310N - real speeds?? Reply with quote
dellsweig wrote:
jmh9072 wrote:
somms wrote:
jmh9072 wrote:
dellsweig wrote:
Does anyone know why I dont see an option to increase the speed to 270 (40mhz band)??

40Mhz can only be enabled when the radio is in N-Only mode. I believe Eko once said that enabling 40Mhz bands in mixed mode would make 802.11g clients unable to connect. However, the stock firmware allows you to do this and it works fine. I guess we'll just have to convince him otherwise...


Got tired of beating that dead horse man...

Heh. We'll convince the devs eventually.

Quote:
Looks like I'll continue to be runnin' SVN revision 10431M NEWD Eko for the long term...sigh Sad

If you (or anyone else) has any patches, I'd be glad to roll them into a custom build based on newer code (as soon as I get my build environment off of revision 9991).


Ok

went N only between Cleint Bridge and AP

What channel(s) should I use.

My CPU goes to 100% on the AP and is unusable at times
I have the same issue with both my WRT310N and my WRT350N.
dellsweig
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1476
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 0:27    Post subject: Re: gave up on Wireless G - got WRT310N - real speeds?? Reply with quote
sheik124 wrote:
dellsweig wrote:
jmh9072 wrote:
somms wrote:
jmh9072 wrote:
dellsweig wrote:
Does anyone know why I dont see an option to increase the speed to 270 (40mhz band)??

40Mhz can only be enabled when the radio is in N-Only mode. I believe Eko once said that enabling 40Mhz bands in mixed mode would make 802.11g clients unable to connect. However, the stock firmware allows you to do this and it works fine. I guess we'll just have to convince him otherwise...


Got tired of beating that dead horse man...

Heh. We'll convince the devs eventually.

Quote:
Looks like I'll continue to be runnin' SVN revision 10431M NEWD Eko for the long term...sigh Sad

If you (or anyone else) has any patches, I'd be glad to roll them into a custom build based on newer code (as soon as I get my build environment off of revision 9991).


Ok

went N only between Cleint Bridge and AP

What channel(s) should I use.

My CPU goes to 100% on the AP and is unusable at times
I have the same issue with both my WRT310N and my WRT350N.


The CPU problem went away when I went to Mixed mode - standard 20Mhz band.

My guess is there is a driver issue as the output from 'top' did not show any one process with high CPU but load was 2 and cpu 100%

I started another thread in this group for 40Mhz problems.. The stock linky firmware gives 40Mhz as an option for mixed mode. DD-WRT only gives this option in N mode.


http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=44268
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum