[SOLVED] Router Behind Router

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
floki8978
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 7:25    Post subject: [SOLVED] Router Behind Router Reply with quote
Hello Cool

Trying to setup a dd-wrt router behind another openwrt
router but it will not pass traffic to the internet.
have tried this same setup with another router with stock firmware and it's able to pass traffic when connected to the WAN-facing router. Is there configuration setting which needs to be changed in dd-wrt for this to work properly?
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10374
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 11:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Welcome to the forum.

The General Questions forum is not for router help, and you have to provide more information to allow us to give you optimal support Sad

Please read the forum guidelines with helpful pointers about how to research your router, where and what to download, where and how to post and many other helpful tips:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

I will transfer this post to the appropriate forum.

Just a wild guess, reset the router to defaults and change the Router's "Local IP Address" on setup from its default 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.2.1

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
floki8978
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 16:31    Post subject: Router Behind Router Reply with quote
Ok,

It's TP-Link Archer c7 v2 and it's connected to

the LAN port of another router. I followed your

instructions on factory reset and setting ip address

to 192.168.2.1 from 192.168.1.1 but there was no

change. Do I need to manually setup the gateway ip

address to reflect that of the connected router?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10374
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 16:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
and what build are you running?

Is the WAN port of the Archer connected to the LAN port of the primary router?

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12969
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 17:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you are using default gateway config of DD-WRT, WAN port should be in auto dhcp and connected to a LAN port of your OpenWRT router. There shouldn't be anything else to do for Internet access outside of ensuring that the DD-WRT router local IP address is *not* in the same subnet as your OpenWRT router. For example, if your OpenWRT router's local IP address is 192.168.1.1, then your DD-WRT router's local IP address should be 192.168.2.1, as already alluded to by @egc.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
floki8978
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 18:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Was able to resolve by manually setting the gateway ip

address to the OpenWRT router.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12969
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 19:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
You shouldn't have to do that save and except for certain modes in DD-WRT, i.e. wired AP/switch. Either a misconfiguration somewhere or a broken firmware build. Not knowing what versions of OpenWRT/DD-WRT or what routers are in question here, we can only guess.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10374
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 19:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Agreed this is not the proper way to setup a router.
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum