VLAN config

Goto page 1, 2  Next
dkca
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2021 23:04    Post subject: VLAN config Reply with quote
This may be a beginner's question since I just started playing with VLAN. And because I am not familiar with the terminology, it is difficult to search for answers.

Long story short... I have a Cisco Meraki AP connected to a PFSense box. One of the SSID has been using VLAN tagging (VLAN42)
LAN: 192.168.1.x
VLAN 42: 192.168.42.x
And everything works fine...

Now I would like to config a DD-WRT box (old Asus RT-AC87R), so that

When I connect the WAN port to the network 192.168.1.x, anything plugged into LAN 1-4 (and connected via WiFi) will "go thru" VLAN42 and obtain IP from the PFSense box (which runs the DHCP server on VLAN42).

For the DD-WRT management IP, I would prefer 192.168.1.x (unless there is a better reason to be on 192.168.42.x as well)

nvram shows:
vlan1ports=1 2 3 5 7*
vlan2ports=0 7u

port0vlans=2
port1vlans=1
port2vlans=1
port3vlans=1
port4vlans=1
port5vlans=1 2 16

vlan1hwname=et1
vlan2hwname=et1

I have tried many different examples I found, and often result in losing access that requires a hard reset. Sad

And after reading many examples and documents, this is what I come up with (but I know it is wrong because it is not working...)

nvram set vlan42hwname=et1
nvram set vlan42ports="0t 1 2 3 5 7*"
nvram set port0vlans=2 42
nvram set port1vlans=1 42
nvram set port2vlans=1 42
nvram set port3vlans=1 42
nvram set port4vlans=1 42
nvram set port5vlans=1 2 16 42
nvram commit

Thanks
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2021 23:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
What firmware build are you running on this RT-AC87R?
DD-WRT Releases 2023 (PolitePol)
DD-WRT Releases 2023 (RSS Everything)

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
dkca
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2021 0:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote: