is safe to install the latest nov 2021 beta on these now?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
macexperts
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2021 16:35    Post subject: is safe to install the latest nov 2021 beta on these now? Reply with quote
have a 2017 build (6/1/17 v3.0.-r32170M kongac) in this unit after one of the beta builds had bricked it some years back- after i managed to get it unbricked and flashed with a kong build it went in the box...need to use it now - i'm looking at https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2021/11-05-2021-r47618/netgear-r6300v2/ has anyone used this beta w/o problems ? does it brick the unit?


there is an auto update in the kong build -- would it be safe to enable that and see what it does? was looking at the kong site and see last build for this router seems to be 2019 ...



I need to update it because i've deployed it on a high speed feed and the 1gb ethernet LAN is maxing out at around 300/325 Mbps on a single computer

after reading around it seems the dd-wrt older builds slowed down the throughput ..but i do wish to stay on dd-wrt

hope someones still around that could chime in and appreciate any feedback/help/advice


Last edited by macexperts on Mon Nov 08, 2021 17:31; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10773
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2021 17:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please do not post/hijack in very old unrelated threads

Please read the forum guidelines with helpful pointers about how to research your router, where and what to download, where and how to post and many other helpful hints:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

I have split your post and put it on its own thread Smile

Kong and his builds are long gone see the forum guidelines where to get newer builds.

Your router has a slow CPU, newer builds have CTF (Cut trough Forwarding) and if you are lucky FA (flow Acceleration) but even then you will max out at around 800 Mb/s see:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Hardware

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13112
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2021 17:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Last report specifically on this device was by @xraive on 47381: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=330190

We can't force people to flash and report, I cannot find any reports of newer builds bricking this device, so the only way to know for sure is to flash and report...

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=330623

... this is the *only* way the community at large and developers know the status Cool

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2666
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 3:27    Post subject: Re: is safe to install the latest nov 2021 beta on these now Reply with quote
macexperts wrote:
i'm looking at netgear-r6300v2 has anyone used this beta w/o problems ? does it brick the unit?
This is standard Broadcom ARM firmware that all the latest models are using (just an older SoC rev). Netgear AC1450 is the same device (FCC ID PY313200227: even the same antenna config... restricted by CFE?) which @dpp3530 has been running 47495 on. You should have no issue running latest firmware, though note that ksmbd may have issues after 47531. I'm running that test build on both my EA6900's which are the same SoC as yours (@ 1 GHz).
But as kp69 said, try it and let us know! Smile
egc wrote:
Your router has a slow CPU, newer builds have CTF (Cut through Forwarding) and if you are lucky FA (Flow Acceleration) but even then you will max out at around 800 Mb/s see [here]
Lol, c'mon man; a dual-core ARM 800 MHz is slow? Wink Plus, the BCM4708A0 easily overclocks to 1 GHz. Now maybe you could call my R6300v1 (MIPS@600) slow (but it works just fine). A year ago people were just getting shamed for asking about WRT54G's. Cool
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
OPNsense x64 5050e ITX|DD: DIR-810L, 2*EA6900@1GHz, R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353,
WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|FreshTomato: F7D8302@532|OpenWRT: F9K1119v1, RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1766
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 9:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes is slow when you consider the state of the art.

A 30$ raspberry pi 4 has 4x Cortex-A72 cores with 1,5Ghz

a Snapdragon 845 from 2018 has 4x Cortex-A75 cores with 2.8Ghz + 4x Cortex-A55 cores with 1.8Ghz

A Netgear R7800 has 2x Krait 300 cores with 1.7Ghz (the same cores as in the Snapdragon S4 pro from 2012 - So an almost 10years old CPU design)

By the way, the Cortex-A9 architecture of the BCM4708A0 was introduced in 2007.

So for modern computer standards ancient and extremely slow

they should put decent CPU's in the routers and not their 10 years old unsold low-end CPU's Wink


Code:
raspberry4:~$ openssl speed -multi 4 aes-256-cbc
aes-256 cbc     214492.35k   224573.27k   226967.30k   223250.50k   223103.66k   227824.98k


Code:
root@7800:~$ openssl speed -multi 2 aes-256-cbc
aes-256 cbc      88151.30k    99881.83k   104231.42k   103796.39k   104316.93k   104595.46k


so a 30$ raspberry4 is ~2,5x as fast as a R7800
a Snapdragon 845 maybe 4x as fast
and compared to a 800Mhz ARM processor probably even much faster


Last edited by ho1Aetoo on Tue Nov 09, 2021 11:12; edited 3 times in total
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 5373
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 10:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
What you can do is, save your current configuration on paper either txt or print export to PDF, as well create a back up save file in case you want to revert to this old build(only)

Than upgrade, reset and manually rebuild your configuration, do not use the old save file form a different builds....

Bear in mind, the old build you run, has lots of security holes and its not bad idea to update...

of course you can just update without rest, but there is a sight/minimal chance to be not that successful....

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 50500 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50841 Gateway,DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50841 Gateway,DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0 AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 50963 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 50927 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 50927 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11526
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 16:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I currently have 4x R6300v2 units running 47618 build. No bricks here. They originally were running the KONG builds back in the day. They've never bricked. They run just fine. The CPU is slated for 800MHz. It's certainly fast enough for streaming devices for the TV and up/downloads under normal situations. If you're a heavy gamer....well...all bets are off for this device.

As Alozaros stated...it would be advised to do a reset to defaults and reconfigure it manually.

redhawk
macexperts
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 17:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
I currently have 4x R6300v2 units running 47618 build. No bricks here. They originally were running the KONG builds back in the day. They've never bricked. They run just fine. The CPU is slated for 800MHz. It's certainly fast enough for streaming devices for the TV and up/downloads under normal situations. If you're a heavy gamer....well...all bets are off for this device.

As Alozaros stated...it would be advised to do a reset to defaults and reconfigure it manually.

redhawk
So this is the build I had linked to..great news -- now can you refresh me can I just upload that file at http://192.168.0.1/Upgrade.asp and reboot her? any particular caveats on these r6300v2's or that should be good to go?
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11526
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 18:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
macexperts wrote:
So this is the build I had linked to..great news -- now can you refresh me can I just upload that file at http://192.168.0.1/Upgrade.asp and reboot her? any particular caveats on these r6300v2's or that should be good to go?


First goto the http://192.168.0.1/Factory_Defaults.asp page and reset the device to defaults.

Then navigate to http://192.168.0.1/Upgrade.asp and select Reset to Defaults after flashing....and flash the new build.

Other than that...you shouldn't have to do anything but reconfigure when you're done.

redhawk
macexperts
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 18:33    Post subject: Re: is safe to install the latest nov 2021 beta on these now Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
macexperts wrote:
i'm looking at netgear-r6300v2 has anyone used this beta w/o problems ? does it brick the unit?
This is standard Broadcom ARM firmware that all the latest models are using (just an older SoC rev). Netgear AC1450 is the same device (FCC ID PY313200227: even the same antenna config... restricted by CFE?) which @dpp3530 has been running 47495 on. You should have no issue running latest firmware, though note that ksmbd may have issues after 47531. I'm running that test build on both my EA6900's which are the same SoC as yours (@ 1 GHz).
But as kp69 said, try it and let us know! Smile
egc wrote:
Your router has a slow CPU, newer builds have CTF (Cut through Forwarding) and if you are lucky FA (Flow Acceleration) but even then you will max out at around 800 Mb/s see [here]
Lol, c'mon man; a dual-core ARM 800 MHz is slow? Wink Plus, the BCM4708A0 easily overclocks to 1 GHz. Now maybe you could call my R6300v1 (MIPS@600) slow (but it works just fine). A year ago people were just getting shamed for asking about WRT54G's. Cool
funny you say that this router IS the AC1450 I'm working on- i flashed the 6300v2 build onto a long time ago but never used it -- and even stranger you mention the WRT54G i have one I almost dropped off for recycle a couple days back ( to get a small discount for a new modem ) but found an old yellowing wirespeed 2100 ADSL modem i had to send to silicon heaven instead:D - I still have the original box for the wrt54G --- so i should try the 47495 i take it rather than the nov 5 build 47618 ... i only need to be able to handle around 700Mbps presently -
macexperts
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 19:46    Post subject: partial success Reply with quote
first thanks to everyone who replied and gave me pointers!

good news on the flashing - running r47495 successfully with no problems on the flashing - i used the AC1450 download but it still says 6300V2 for router model

DD-WRT v3.0-r47495 std (09/28/21)

I have enabled CTF

i now max out around 415Mbps on the LAN
feed is a bit over 700Mbps

are there any other settings/tweaks that can boost the speed
that I'm possibly missing?
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2666
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 20:27    Post subject: Re: partial success Reply with quote
macexperts wrote:
funny you say that this router IS the AC1450 I'm working on
lol Wink
macexperts wrote:
DD-WRT v3.0-r47495 std (09/28/21)
I have enabled CTF
i now max out around 415Mbps on the LAN
feed is a bit over 700Mbps
are there any other settings/tweaks that can boost the speed that I'm possibly missing?
If you didn't reset and manually set up, then you should start with that, coming from such an old build. Overclock to 1 GHz (if the CFE allows it). Compare CTF and SFE; I recall you need two reboots for DD to test the FA compatibility. Otherwise, there's a sticky for optimizing things. Good luck. Smile
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
OPNsense x64 5050e ITX|DD: DIR-810L, 2*EA6900@1GHz, R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353,
WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|FreshTomato: F7D8302@532|OpenWRT: F9K1119v1, RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
macexperts
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 20:43    Post subject: Re: partial success Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
macexperts wrote:
funny you say that this router IS the AC1450 I'm working on
lol Wink
macexperts wrote:
DD-WRT v3.0-r47495 std (09/28/21)
I have enabled CTF
i now max out around 415Mbps on the LAN
feed is a bit over 700Mbps
are there any other settings/tweaks that can boost the speed that I'm possibly missing?
If you didn't reset and manually set up, then you should start with that, coming from such an old build. Overclock to 1 GHz (if the CFE allows it). Compare CTF and SFE; I recall you need two reboots for DD to test the FA compatibility. Otherwise, there's a sticky for optimizing things. Good luck. Smile
I did reset everything and go fresh in fact I'm still setting up everything. I toggled SPE / CTF and CTF was faster by far. From what I'm reading on some forums it seems DD-WRT is a bottleneck and people flashed back to factory to overcome it. I REALLY don't want factory firmware. I'll try SPE and double reboot and same for CTF to see if there is any improvement. Thanks again - PS I only see 800/600 in the clock
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2666
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 21:10    Post subject: Re: partial success Reply with quote
macexperts wrote:
I did reset everything and go fresh in fact I'm still setting up everything. I toggled SPE / CTF and CTF was faster by far. From what I'm reading on some forums it seems DD-WRT is a bottleneck and people flashed back to factory to overcome it.
[...] PS I only see 800/600 in the clock
Ok cool Smile BS may have restricted overclocking; or this model doesn't support it (the R6300v1 does not; but it's a totally different SoC). Try setting it manually*; backup your nvram in case you have to reset.

Check your `cat /proc/cpuinfo` output (or `dmesg|grep -i hz) before and after (if there's no frequency listed, go by the 'bogomips' field). Then check `nvram get clkfreq` for reference**. In telnet/ssh:
    nvram set clkfreq=1000,666
    nvram set overclocking=1000
    nvram commit && reboot
The 'overclocking' parameter is to prevent DD from resetting 'clkfreq'. If it can overclock (stably, of course), that should almost proportionally increase CPU-bottlenecked NAT speed (25% for those playing at home).
* To compare, my EA6900's OEM nvram (& CFE) had clkfreq=800,533 while the third-party Xwrt CFE used 800,666. The datasheet for the memory showed it rated for a minimum of "667", and I've been running it (and now a 2nd) at 1000,666 for years. I reset the heatsink (from thermal pad to good compound) and drilled some holes in the top of the case to drop the temps down. Not necessary, but it will impress your friends and influence neighbors. Cool
** To check the CFE default: `strings /dev/mtd0|grep clk`

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
OPNsense x64 5050e ITX|DD: DIR-810L, 2*EA6900@1GHz, R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353,
WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|FreshTomato: F7D8302@532|OpenWRT: F9K1119v1, RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11526
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 21:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
So...you have an AC1450...but it shows as an R6300v2.

The FCC ID is the same for these two models...but they have different board_id numbers in the nvram settings. Somewhere along the line...your board_id got set to an R6300v2.

read install guide in the wiki for the ac1450.

redhawk
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum