Newb needs advice with DD-WRT setup on WRT32X?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
jlwiseman93
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2021 15:48    Post subject: Newb needs advice with DD-WRT setup on WRT32X? Reply with quote
Hello everyone. I have just discovered DD-WRT in the last 24hrs or so, and I’m still figuring everything out. I was using a Linksys EA7500 router in my home, but after learning about installing DD-WRT on other routers, I dug my old WRT32XB out of storage and decided to give it a whirl. I have successfully installed the latest firmware on it:

Router NameDD-WRT
Router ModelLinksys WRT32X
Firmware Version DD-WRT v3.0-r44715 std (11/03/20)

I have renamed my network, set password and enabled uPnP. But so far, that’s it. As I mentioned earlier, I am new to dd-wrt, and only have somewhat higher than average knowledge of network setup/administration. Would anyone be willing to give me some advice, pointers, etc on setting this thing up for optimum performance in my home?

I have ordered these antennas from Amazon in hopes to boost my wifi signal throughout my home, but more importantly to direct wifi out of a window towards my shop which has a repeater set up in it so I can have wifi in my shop. Will I need to change any settings in my router for these? I saw one setting that mentioned antenna gain?

Alfa APA-M25 Dual Band 2.4GHz/5GHz 10dBi high gain Directional Indoor Panel Antenna with RP-SMA Connector (Compare to Asus WL-ANT-157) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00R1PA9EO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_QQJ0DGBRSKCWXHTFNJ9N?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

WiFi Antenna for PC 2.4GHz 5.8GHz Dual Band Antenna +2 x 15CM U.FL/IPEX to RP-SMA Female, 2 x 8 dbi hotspot stubby antenna for Routers PC Wireless Network Card USB Adapter Security IP Camera Video https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06WD7FZV4/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_48R80YTCXSCT4542MT2E?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1