New Build - 10/20/2021 - r47581

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 4025

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 9:59    Post subject: New Build - 10/20/2021 - r47581 Reply with quote
[WARNING]: This thread is only for feedback on this beta release for developers and the community's benefit.
DO NOT flash this beta release unless you understand the risks involved and device specific recovery methods.
Avoid discussions! Create threads for questions, general problems or use search; this thread is not for support.
Please list router model & revision, operating & wireless mode(s) and exact filename/firmware image flashed.


Downloads: (DD-WRT website) HTTPS & FTP (try another if a link does not work)

CLI Flash: 'cd /tmp' then 'wget {file URL}' (http only) or 'curl -O {file URL}' (https, http or ftp). 'write {file} linux' then 'reboot'.

Repository: Trac SVN changelog since last build r47528 (GitHub mirror)

Notes:
OpenVPN 2.5.3: Guides, Server, PBR, Reverse PBR, Client (see second post), Kill Switch, update tips, scripts and more.
WireGuard 1.0.20210606/Tools: Changelog, Guides, Client, Server, Advanced, PBR, KS, tips and scripts. Thanks BS & egc!
• CVE-2019-14899 VPN fix (applicability depends on VPN setup) and GUI toggle since r41813.
MiniDLNACoovaChilliPrivoxyiperf3cakeFreeRADIUSOpenSSLdnsmasqUnboundTorSquidSmartDNSAsterisk BusyBox
In-kernel Samba ksmbd 3.4.2+: default min/max versions changed. • WSD updateANTFS/NTFS3 kernel mode driver+++
CVE-2020-26147, CVE-2020-24586, CVE-2020-24587 & CVE-2020-24588 (Fragattack) fixed.
• "Assign WAN port to Switch" feature removed; likely no longer required. • MAC Filtering fixed in WebUI (see 47184-47205).
New DD-WRT inspired themes conversion by the-joker & BrainSlayer, micro devices excluded. • Sputnik Agent is removed.
• "Ignore WAN DNS" also ignores WAN domain. Thank you BS & egc, also dTX for reporting, twindragon6 logs and buffpatel!

Issues:
• Show us your findings with steps to reproduce, configuration, output, logs and important information below!

Important:
• For issues provide applicable info: 'dmesg', 'cat /tmp/var/log/messages', syslog, klog, serial, strace, tcpdump, wireshark etc.
• Any firewall NAT or WAN issues, show output: 'iptables -vnL', 'iptables -t nat -vnL', 'iptables -t mangle -vnL' and /tmp/.ipt file.
• Search SVN tickets & discuss in forum before opening. Before reporting: reset & manually set up, not restore from a backup.
• Please include operating & wireless modes (e.g. Gateway, Router, AP, CB, WDS, Mesh) & relevant configuration information.

Example Template:
Code:
[b]Router/Version: [/b]
[b]File/Kernel: [/b]
[b]Previous/Reset: [/b]
[b]Mode/Status: [/b]
[b]Issues/Errors: [/b]
Sponsor
raywan
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jun 2020
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 15:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: WRT32x
File/Kernel: Linux 4.9.287 #2909 SMP Wed Oct 20 03:22:24 +07 2021 armv7l
Previous/Reset: 09-28-2021-r47495 update without reset
Mode/Status: AP only
Issues/Errors: Update only 3 hours, so far so good,seems faster response after update
o2bad455
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 23:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: WRT1900ACSv1 / r47581
File/Kernel: CLI webflash / Linux 4.9.287 #2909 SMP Wed Oct 20 03:22:24 +07 2021 armv7l
Previous/Reset: r47510 / No
Mode/Status: Gateway, OpenVPN Client, FreeRADIUS Server, VLANs, VAPs, WPA3 / Uptime 5:00 hours
Issues/Errors: Everything looks stable. Thanks BS!

_________________
My DD-WRT Routers:
Linksys WRT1900ACS - Marvell (2x): r49268
Netgear R7000 - Broadcom (3x): r47720
Netgear R9000 - Atheros (1x): r47608
PC x86-64 VM - Atheros (1x): r46316
Linksys WRT54G/GS - Broadcom (4x): r44715
Argenis
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Feb 2019
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2021 7:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: 3200ACM v1
File/Kernel: Webflash
Previous/Reset: Previous 10/10/2021 - r47528 no reset
Mode/Status: AP/Router
Issues/Errors: None so far, pretty solid release. Will update if there's any issues.

_________________
Router: Linksys WRT3200ACM WLAN0 and 1 have same SSID
88W8964 802.11ac WLAN0 Mode AP VHT80 80MHz Mixed Mode Channel and Extension Channel Auto Extension LL-6
88W8964 802.11ac WLAN1 Mode AP 20 MHz Mixed Mode Channel Auto
SD8887 802.11ac disabled but visible on GUI and CLI
TX Power 18 dBm
Antenna Gain 0 dBi
U-APSD (Automatic Power Save)Enabled 
Protection Mode None
RTS Threshold Disabled
Short Preamble Disabled 
Short GI Enabled
Single User Beamforming Enabled
Multi User Beamforming Enabled 
AP Isolation Disabled
Beacon Interval 100
DTIM Interval 2
WMM Support Enabled 
Radar Detection Disabled 
ScanList default
Sensitivity Range (ACK Timing) 500 (Default: 500 meters)
Max Associated Clients 256 (Default: 256 Clients)
Minimum Signal for authenticate -128
Minimum Signal for connection -128
Poll Time for signal lookup 10
Amount of allowed low signals 3
Wireless security is WPA2 Personal CCMP-128 only
QAM256 is on
mazecreator
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2021 18:52    Post subject: Found a missing NVRAM Setting which fixed router Reply with quote
Router/Version: Linksys WRT1900ACS V2
File/Kernel: DD-WRT v3.0-r47581 std (10/20/21)
Previous/Reset: 10/10/2021
Mode/Status: AP/Good
Issues/Errors: I may have found something that made a major difference in the function of my WRT1900ACSV2.

I have two identical routers near one another and WiFi would intermittently still go to "No Internet Access" but clear after some period of time. One thing I noticed, one of the routers didn't have the "Setup" -> "Switch Config" setting and it seemed like this routed didn't seem to work well. I also notice that for some reason, the Firmware was reported as: "DD-WRT v3.0-r47581 (10/20/21)"

That is, the "std" was missing from the firmware but showed on the identical mate to this router which seemed to work. I found a variable in the router that didn't see to be set and factory reset didn't seem to set it...

dist_type=std

Once I issued via a telnet connection an
NVRAM set dist_type=std

The "std" then showed in the firmware line and the missing "Switch Config" menu returned after a reboot. I have not had any issue since finding this difference between the routers. I am not sure why this didn't get set during the "Factory Defaults", maybe something like this needs to be added to the software build?
o2bad455
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2021 0:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Interesting find @mazecreator. For the record, my WRT1900ACSv1 does say "DD-WRT v3.0-r47581 std (10/20/21)" (inlcuding the "std") and does have the Setup/SwitchConfig page.
_________________
My DD-WRT Routers:
Linksys WRT1900ACS - Marvell (2x): r49268
Netgear R7000 - Broadcom (3x): r47720
Netgear R9000 - Atheros (1x): r47608
PC x86-64 VM - Atheros (1x): r46316
Linksys WRT54G/GS - Broadcom (4x): r44715
mazecreator
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2021 2:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
o2bad455 wrote:
Interesting find @mazecreator. For the record, my WRT1900ACSv1 does say "DD-WRT v3.0-r47581 std (10/20/21)" (inlcuding the "std") and does have the Setup/SwitchConfig page.


For the Linksys WRT1900ACS V2, this "std" seems critical. Since adding that variable, the router is very stable and haven't had any outages. I don't know if this variable can be added in this build for the "Factory Defaults"...
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12615
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2021 15:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
It would be interesting to know how that nvram variable got removed. Good catch.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
pbphoto
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Oct 2017
Posts: 244

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2021 11:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model & Version: Linksys 3200ACM and Linksys 1900ACSv1
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r47581 std (10/20/21)
File: ddwrt-linksys-wrt3200acm-webflash.bin, ddwrt-linksys-wrt1900acs-webflash.bin
Kernel: Linux 4.9.287 #2909 SMP Wed Oct 20 03:22:24 +07 2021 armv7l
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r47528 std (10/10/21)
Reset: No
Mode: AP / Gateway (3200ACM), Router / wifi-disabled (1900ACSv1)
Uptime: ~6+ days
Status: Excellent release
Issues/Errors: None. Great performance. Roaming between WAPs has been good.
Environment:
Linksys WRT3200ACM: gateway mode, DNSMasq for DNS and DHCP, Wireguard client (Mullvad), Firewall enabled, QoS enabled HTB-CAKE, PBR enabled, SFE disabled. NAS disabled. WIFI: 2.4ghz: NG-mixed, 20mhz channel width, channel 1, BI=100, DTIM=2 custom config: basic_rates=60 120 240 supported_rates=60 90 120 180 240 360 480 540. 5ghz: AC/N mixed, 40mhz channel width, channel 44+upper, BI=100, DTIM=2. Both radios: WPA2-CCMP-128, strict rekey enabled, 802.11r disabled, 802.11w disabled, disable eapol retries disabled.
Linksys WRT1900ACSv1: wifi disabled - using it as a semi-intelligent switch only. SFE enabled. Can't get wifi to work reliably post-r44048 but this release makes me want to try again.
Clients: Apple MACOS x 4, IOS x 4, Apple TV, Chromecast Audio x 2, Eufy doorbells, Lutron Caseta, Axis Camera, Samsung TV, Nest thermostat, EtekCity outlets (Espressif), BlueSound/BlueOS devices...
FlaParrotHead
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Nov 2020
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2021 16:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
pbphoto wrote:
Router Model & Version: Linksys 3200ACM and Linksys 1900ACSv1
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r47581 std (10/20/21)
File: ddwrt-linksys-wrt3200acm-webflash.bin, ddwrt-linksys-wrt1900acs-webflash.bin
Kernel: Linux 4.9.287 #2909 SMP Wed Oct 20 03:22:24 +07 2021 armv7l
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r47528 std (10/10/21)
Reset: No
Mode: AP / Gateway (3200ACM), Router / wifi-disabled (1900ACSv1)
Uptime: ~6+ days
Status: Excellent release
Issues/Errors: None. Great performance. Roaming between WAPs has been good.
Environment:
Linksys WRT3200ACM: gateway mode, DNSMasq for DNS and DHCP, Wireguard client (Mullvad), Firewall enabled, QoS enabled HTB-CAKE, PBR enabled, SFE disabled. NAS disabled. WIFI: 2.4ghz: NG-mixed, 20mhz channel width, channel 1, BI=100, DTIM=2 custom config: basic_rates=60 120 240 supported_rates=60 90 120 180 240 360 480 540. 5ghz: AC/N mixed, 40mhz channel width, channel 44+upper, BI=100, DTIM=2. Both radios: WPA2-CCMP-128, strict rekey enabled, 802.11r disabled, 802.11w disabled, disable eapol retries disabled.
Linksys WRT1900ACSv1: wifi disabled - using it as a semi-intelligent switch only. SFE enabled. Can't get wifi to work reliably post-r44048 but this release makes me want to try again.
Clients: Apple MACOS x 4, IOS x 4, Apple TV, Chromecast Audio x 2, Eufy doorbells, Lutron Caseta, Axis Camera, Samsung TV, Nest thermostat, EtekCity outlets (Espressif), BlueSound/BlueOS devices...


Apple (newest OSs) browser GUIs doing any better when accessing your 3200?

_________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM
DD-WRT v3.0-r48971 std (05/26/22)
Linux 4.9.315 #3227 SMP Thu May 26 02:24:43 +07 2022 armv7l
Linksys RE9000 Extender (WiFi attached)
OpenVPN with PBR: ExpressVPN
Devices: Sonos, Apple, QNAP, Laserjet other
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12615
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2021 19:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
With all of the things that were removed from the cgi and placed into css, there are bound to be some improvements. Not like all those threads were unlocked before I turned in my keys.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7317
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2021 6:39    Post subject: Re: Found a missing NVRAM Setting which fixed router Reply with quote
mazecreator wrote:
Router/Version: Linksys WRT1900ACS V2
File/Kernel: DD-WRT v3.0-r47581 std (10/20/21)
Previous/Reset: 10/10/2021
Mode/Status: AP/Good
Issues/Errors: I may have found something that made a major difference in the function of my WRT1900ACSV2.

I have two identical routers near one another and WiFi would intermittently still go to "No Internet Access" but clear after some period of time. One thing I noticed, one of the routers didn't have the "Setup" -> "Switch Config" setting and it seemed like this routed didn't seem to work well. I also notice that for some reason, the Firmware was reported as: "DD-WRT v3.0-r47581 (10/20/21)"

That is, the "std" was missing from the firmware but showed on the identical mate to this router which seemed to work. I found a variable in the router that didn't see to be set and factory reset didn't seem to set it...

dist_type=std

Once I issued via a telnet connection an
NVRAM set dist_type=std

The "std" then showed in the firmware line and the missing "Switch Config" menu returned after a reboot. I have not had any issue since finding this difference between the routers. I am not sure why this didn't get set during the "Factory Defaults", maybe something like this needs to be added to the software build?


setting dist_type is totally irrelevant for the switch page

if checks for sw_cpuport or sw_wancpuport. one of these both must exist

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
pbphoto
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Oct 2017
Posts: 244

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2021 21:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
FlaParrotHead wrote:

Apple (newest OSs) browser GUIs doing any better when accessing your 3200?


Yes, my macbook (11.6) and iphones (14.8 ) have been very stabile on my 3200ACM running 47581. On Sunday, I was sitting in a part of my house with my iphone that was equidistant between my 3200ACM and a r7800. I did notice my iphone hang up a couple times - maybe it was trying to switch between the two, or maybe the 3200 radio signal was weak - not sure. I adjusted radio signal strength a bit and re-enabled 802.11r on all my WAPs, rebooted everything, and have not been able to reproduce the problem. This has been a solid release for me.
FlaParrotHead
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Nov 2020
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2021 14:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
pbphoto wrote:
FlaParrotHead wrote:

Apple (newest OSs) browser GUIs doing any better when accessing your 3200?


Yes, my macbook (11.6) and iphones (14.8 ) have been very stabile on my 3200ACM running 47581. On Sunday, I was sitting in a part of my house with my iphone that was equidistant between my 3200ACM and a r7800. I did notice my iphone hang up a couple times - maybe it was trying to switch between the two, or maybe the 3200 radio signal was weak - not sure. I adjusted radio signal strength a bit and re-enabled 802.11r on all my WAPs, rebooted everything, and have not been able to reproduce the problem. This has been a solid release for me.


Photo… thanks. I’m up running and stable, just want to optimize the WiFi numbers. I have 5, 2.4, and 2.4virtual turned on. I know many here have shared their optimal, especially with Apple devices, can you share what works best for you please?

_________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM
DD-WRT v3.0-r48971 std (05/26/22)
Linux 4.9.315 #3227 SMP Thu May 26 02:24:43 +07 2022 armv7l
Linksys RE9000 Extender (WiFi attached)
OpenVPN with PBR: ExpressVPN
Devices: Sonos, Apple, QNAP, Laserjet other
pbphoto
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Oct 2017
Posts: 244

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2021 12:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="FlaParrotHead"][quote="pbphoto"]
FlaParrotHead wrote:


Photo… thanks. I’m up running and stable, just want to optimize the WiFi numbers. I have 5, 2.4, and 2.4virtual turned on. I know many here have shared their optimal, especially with Apple devices, can you share what works best for you please?



Yes, attached are my wifi settings that I ran on 47581, and that have been running on 47618 for the last ~30 hours or so. Note I have wlan1 disabled.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum