Two WR1043ND V2s in Client mode broadcasting same SSID

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
TommyG1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Oct 2021
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2021 20:30    Post subject: Two WR1043ND V2s in Client mode broadcasting same SSID Reply with quote
Hi everybody, I wanted to thank everyone for contributing to the dd-wrt project in any way. Reading through the forums has helped me tremendously in the past months.

I successfully managed to get two WR1043ND V2 routers in Client mode connected to eduroam public wifi with the 802.1x protocol. Each of them has a virtual interface set up broadcasting my own WPA2 secured wifi. The issue is that I can only connect my devices to one of the routers at a time (the one my computer sees the first) and I can only login to one of the router’s interface

Both routers are connected to eduroam, which is what I want, but the routers are unaware of each other and I am not getting any benefits in terms of bandwidth (the connection to eduroam isn’t very strong, that’s why I’m using two routers)

What is the appropriate setup in this instance? WDS? WDS Station? Using OLSR Router?
Please note that my understanding of networking is limited but I love to learn!

Please point me to the right wiki article.
Thank you

TPLINK WR1043ND V2
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r28882 std (01/19/16)
Kernel Version: Linux 3.18.25 #8017 Tue Jan 19 03:33:37 CET 2016 mips
Qualcomm Atheros QCA9558 ver 1 rev 1.0 (0x1130)

Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 11747
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2021 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Unless you can somehow make the dual routers think they are in a dual WAN configuration in some sort of bridged mode to one another, I see no benefit of this setup. It would be easier to use one as a client and the other as a wired AP. Just my simple-minded, why-make-things-complicated opinion.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
TommyG1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Oct 2021
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2021 21:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dual WAN setup? Sounds interesting!
The thing is that the connection is fine for youtube and stuff, but not stable enough for work in a remote workstation, I have to do.
Having two routers somewhat remedied this issue by when the router I’m currently connected loses signal, my computer connects to the other router. The signal of the host network is not strong.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4805
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 5:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

connecting wirelessly WDS is the best mode if its supported, as client mode is working in a duplex mode...connection speed is impaired...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 48081 AP,NAT
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47900 AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 48081 AP,NAT,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0b AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 48081 AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 48081 AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 48081 AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 11747
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can't use WDS if you're connecting to a public hotspot AFAIK.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
TommyG1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Oct 2021
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 12:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for the replies!
I tried setting up a WDS but I believe that is indeed not possible because I cannot configure the host network to accept my routers as WDS Stations. I can set up the virtual wireless interfaces to be in WDS AP mode and the internet still works but I don’t know how to link the routers together in this mode or if there is any benefit to doing so.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum