Reverting to stock firmware

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Hounddog24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Oct 2021
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2021 20:43    Post subject: Reverting to stock firmware Reply with quote
I feel this dd-wrt firmware is way more complicated than I expected. I would like to revert to my Linksys wrt 3200 acm routers firmware. I have tried to search this community for the answer. I did find a few options, but I am not sure if they even apply to my router. If the answer is here, I don't understand or know where it is. I know one wrong click and I have a brick. I need the community support to help me avoid that.

Here is how and why I flashed my router.

I wanted to run IPVanish at the router level. So I had to upgrade my firmware to dd-wrt. I was referred here and to the router database page. I searched for my router firmware and downloaded it. I updated my router firmware. I did not do anything special to do that. By that I mean intentionally install on a different partition.  I later learn that is not an updated database. So I flash my router again to the current version I have now. See attachment.


Again, nothing was done to put it on a specific partition. I have seen mention of an option build in to the firmware to revert to the original firmware. Can I do that with my build?

I have seen a couple reset methods here. One is using some type of cables. Another involves unplugging, holding the reset button and plugging it back in combinations. I have seen something about a 30/30/30 reset. The method I speak of is attached.




I really need help in fixing this. Thank you to anyone who can help.

Ricky
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12967
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2021 21:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Flash the stock firmware via DD-WRT webUI (Administration -> Firmware Upgrade) and reset. You may have to flash the stock firmware again when the stock firmware comes up so both partitions are on stock. I only have a certain number Marvells left on (modified) stock firmware and only because the clients didn't want DD-WRT (but they still kinda wanted branded splash pages, go figure).
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 1354
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
And stay away from the 30/30/30. That's an old technique for older routers and not only is not applicable to your router, it's considered dangerous for your router's family. Folklore is that it can brick routers.

Folklore also has it that selecting the reset option on the dd-wrt GUI's Upgrade page is risky, that something there isn't quite right, at least for our WRTblah routers. So a hardware config reset before, and perhaps after also, may be the way to go. (Don't rush the "after." Whenever you load firmware into these routers, don't touch anything, even a GUI refresh, for a few minutes afterward. Let it do its internal busywork.)

If you need a hardware reset to the default config (for the firmware you are currently booting from, whether dd-wrt or stock), there's a small recessed reset button on the back panel. Hold it in for 10s or so while the router is running, and you should see the panel lights start to flash as the router notices your action and begins a reboot. (Defaulting the config takes a fraction of a second. The time is in the reboot afterward.) But this is to reset the CONFIG, not the firmware. To get back to stock firmware, see the last post.

_________________
4 Linksys WRT1900ACSv2 routers on 49081, 2 on 48141: VLANs, VAPs, NAS, client mode, OpenVPN client (AirVPN), DDNS, wireguard servers and clients (AzireVPN), three DNSCrypt DNS providers (incl Quad9) via VPN clients.
oliver44
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Jun 2016
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Hounddog24 try to rewrite an image with one of the following images and from there switch to the original linksys firmware

https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/?model=WRT3200ACM_-

leave a ping in cmd with ping -t 192.168.1.1 this way you will see clearly when the writing is finished

_________________
Internet provider https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RCS_%26_RDS RCS & RDS 1Gbps
Linksys WRT1900ACS v.2 -OpenWrt/DD-WRT
WDR3600 rev.1.5 - OpenWrt
Hounddog24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Oct 2021
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the tips. In the screenshot below, I have found the area I need to be in. I have the dropdown arrow that has 1 option, it is "Reset to Default Settings".

I select that and then "Upgrade", correct?

Ricky
oliver44
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Jun 2016
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes it is correct,you must use the image with ddwrt-linksys-wrt3200acm-webflash.bin

choose the reset option, do not keep the settings!

_________________
Internet provider https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RCS_%26_RDS RCS & RDS 1Gbps
Linksys WRT1900ACS v.2 -OpenWrt/DD-WRT
WDR3600 rev.1.5 - OpenWrt
Hounddog24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Oct 2021
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 20:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well here is what I see when I click on the down arrow. Is this what I should be seeing? If so, is it just a click on "Reset to Default Settings" and click on "Upgrade"?

You mention "use the image with ddwrt-linksys-wrt3200acm-webflash.bin". I don't see that in the drop-down menu.

I know I am asking a lot of questions. I just can not make a mistake.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12967
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 22:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
He meant the filename you choose, for upgrading DD-WRT. Not the stock firmware image file... which doesn't make sense, since you're trying to revert to stock firmware.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Hounddog24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Oct 2021
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
He meant the filename you choose, for upgrading DD-WRT. Not the stock firmware image file... which doesn't make sense, since you're trying to revert to stock firmware.


So are you saying I just need to select reset to default settings and then upgrade?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12967
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 22:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you trying to revert to stock firmware or upgrade DD-WRT? I thought you were trying to revert to stock firmware...
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Hounddog24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Oct 2021
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2021 1:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Are you trying to revert to stock firmware or upgrade DD-WRT? I thought you were trying to revert to stock firmware...


I want to go back to the firmware my router had out of the box.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12967
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2021 3:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I never got a chance to specifically add a de-facto method to @spuriousoffspring's post, but this has been discussed ad infinitum in the past three years. I know it doesn't just "jump out" at most users on how to revert, but the information isn't that difficult to find.
Quote:
Simply upload the Linksys Stock Firmware from DD-WRT GUI Administration Tab – Firmware Upgrade Sub-Tab. (Same as you would upgrade DD-WRT)

Quote:
The Linksys OEM Firmware for your router can be downloaded from the Linksys Support Website here:
https://www.linksys.com/us/support/

*Just enter your router’s Model Number and make sure to select the correct Hardware Version.

https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=207552

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
foz111
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 556
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2021 17:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you followed the correct procedure to flash the router you should still have stock (Linksys firmware) on your other partition.
No need to re-flash anything just switch partition.

Power Switch method
This is the easiest way to revert your router to its stock firmware.

NOTE: This only applies if the DD-WRT firmware is not loaded on both firmware partitions (installed correctly).

Step 1:
Power OFF the router with the Power Switch.

Step 2:
Power ON the router and the Power light will start blinking. As soon as it turns OFF (for about 2 seconds), power OFF the router.

Step 3:
Repeat Step 2 twice.

Step 4:
Turn the power back ON and wait for the Power light to turn solid. It should now be booted using its alternate firmware partition.
(It's all about the timing!)

Or SSH
user root and your password

run command
ubootenv get boot_part
then what ever number is displayed give opposite number
eg. if it displays 1 give command
ubootenv set boot_part 2
and reboot router
if it displays give command 2
ubootenv set boot_part 1
and reboot router
Job done
If you have not followed the correct flashing procedure and you have dd-wrt on both partitions you will need to flash linksys stock firmware as KP has stated.

_________________
Netgear R7800 PPPoE Main Router
Network IPV4 eth1 - Isolated Vlan eth1.3 on br1 For IoT Devices With 3 x Linksys velop Bridged mesh Nodes (Amazon Echos, smart TV's, etc.)
BT Whole Home 4 Node Mesh Wi-Fi, Router Wi-Fi Disabled. OVPN Server With Paid OVPN client & Wireguard Client.
Gateway Mode, DNSMasq, Static Leases & DHCP, Pi-Hole DNS & Running Unbound.
Hounddog24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Oct 2021
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2021 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I never got a chance to specifically add a de-facto method to @spuriousoffspring's post, but this has been discussed ad infinitum in the past three years. I know it doesn't just "jump out" at most users on how to revert, but the information isn't that difficult to find.
Quote:
Simply upload the Linksys Stock Firmware from DD-WRT GUI Administration Tab – Firmware Upgrade Sub-Tab. (Same as you would upgrade DD-WRT)

Quote:
The Linksys OEM Firmware for your router can be downloaded from the Linksys Support Website here:
https://www.linksys.com/us/support/

*Just enter your router’s Model Number and make sure to select the correct Hardware Version.

https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=207552



Thanks for staying with me on this.

That Linksys page https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=207552 looks familiar. I have been there before and seen Version 1. However, that is where the questions come in. I can download the firmware, but how do I get it in the router? In reading some post here, I get the impression it is not as simple as downloading the file and upgrading it. It seems I even confused you earlier as to what I am trying to do.

So from your post above it reads to me that I need to download the Version 1 firmware to my computer. Then follow Administration>Firmware Upgrade>then Browse for the file and upgrade it. Do I understand this correctly?

I hear you that the information is here. I guess I just can not piece it all together, sorry.
Hounddog24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Oct 2021
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2021 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
foz111 wrote:
If you followed the correct procedure to flash the router you should still have stock (Linksys firmware) on your other partition.
No need to re-flash anything just switch partition.

Power Switch method
This is the easiest way to revert your router to its stock firmware.

NOTE: This only applies if the DD-WRT firmware is not loaded on both firmware partitions (installed correctly).

Step 1:
Power OFF the router with the Power Switch.

Step 2:
Power ON the router and the Power light will start blinking. As soon as it turns OFF (for about 2 seconds), power OFF the router.

Step 3:
Repeat Step 2 twice.

Step 4:
Turn the power back ON and wait for the Power light to turn solid. It should now be booted using its alternate firmware partition.
(It's all about the timing!)

Or SSH
user root and your password

run command
ubootenv get boot_part
then what ever number is displayed give opposite number
eg. if it displays 1 give command
ubootenv set boot_part 2
and reboot router
if it displays give command 2
ubootenv set boot_part 1
and reboot router
Job done
If you have not followed the correct flashing procedure and you have dd-wrt on both partitions you will need to flash linksys stock firmware as KP has stated.



The problem is I don't know what I have done.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum