Did something happen with OpenDNS or DNS-O-Matic recently?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PainbowDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2021 23:10    Post subject: Did something happen with OpenDNS or DNS-O-Matic recently? Reply with quote
In July of 2020, those of us using DNS-O-Matic had to update the URL in DDNS settings from https://updates.dnsomatic.com/nic/update?hostname= to https://updates.dnsomatic.com:443/nic/update?hostname=
Had no problems over the past year. Didn't make any major changes.

The other day I reboot my router and I get an error in the DDNS Status window. My IP had changed during the reboot, and because of this error, it failed to update. I am using r44048 from 08/02/20.


Code:
Sat Sep 11 18:00:44 2021: INADYN: Started 'INADYN Advanced version 1.96-ADV' - dynamic DNS updater.
Sat Sep 11 18:00:44 2021: I:INADYN: IP address for alias 'all.dnsomatic.com' needs update to 'xx.xx.xx.128'
Sat Sep 11 18:00:45 2021: W:INADYN: Response Code: 1
Sat Sep 11 18:00:45 2021: W:INADYN: Error validating DYNDNS svr answer. Check usr,pass,hostname! (HTTP/1.0 403 Forbidden
content-length: 9
content-type: text/plain
date: Sat, 11 Sep 2021 23:00:42 GMT
server: opendns
connection: close


I didn't change my username or password and I don't have any special characters except a period in my email address which has been there since I began using this. I couldn't find anyone else having this issue or any real solution for it.

Sponsor
jrscs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2021 21:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, noticed this on September 9, 2021. Guessing DNS-O-Matic made a change.
_________________
Netgear XR500, R7800
Asus AC87Ua1
Repeater Bridges(s)
Netgear R6400v2otp
Asus AC68Ra1, AC66Ua1
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12440
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2021 22:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://www.dnsomatic.com/docs/faq
Quote:
How do I update all my DNS-O-Matic services at once?
Leave the hostname parameter blank. Or, if your software client requires a hostname, send all.dnsomatic.com as the hostname.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
PainbowDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 5:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
https://www.dnsomatic.com/docs/faq
Quote:
How do I update all my DNS-O-Matic services at once?
Leave the hostname parameter blank. Or, if your software client requires a hostname, send all.dnsomatic.com as the hostname.




I never had it blank before and ddwrt is demanding I enter something. Working for 2+ years and suddenly kerblooie. Someone above said they noticed it. I emailed dnsomatic about the issue but so far no response.
d33b0_n4p41m
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2021
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 11:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Perhaps you didn't quite read things thoroughly:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
https://www.dnsomatic.com/docs/faq
Quote:
How do I update all my DNS-O-Matic services at once?
Leave the hostname parameter blank. Or, if your software client requires a hostname, send all.dnsomatic.com as the hostname.
PainbowDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 13:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
d33b0_n4p41m wrote:
Perhaps you didn't quite read things thoroughly:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
https://www.dnsomatic.com/docs/faq
Quote:
How do I update all my DNS-O-Matic services at once?
Leave the hostname parameter blank. Or, if your software client requires a hostname, send all.dnsomatic.com as the hostname.


It IS the hostname.
d33b0_n4p41m
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2021
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 17:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Whoops. Did you log into your account via browser to see if there was another change in URL? Or is this some sort of DNS lookup error...
jrscs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 18:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
d33b0_n4p41m wrote:
Whoops. Did you log into your account via browser to see if there was another change in URL? Or is this some sort of DNS lookup error...


Yes, I tried online through a browser and got the normal prompt for user and password. Once entered it was updated in DNS-O-Matic.

_________________
Netgear XR500, R7800
Asus AC87Ua1
Repeater Bridges(s)
Netgear R6400v2otp
Asus AC68Ra1, AC66Ua1
d33b0_n4p41m
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2021
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 18:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is this for a single DDNS hostname, or multiple? Perhaps the hostname= information needs to be appended to the URL; have you tried that from DD-WRT?
jrscs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
d33b0_n4p41m wrote:
Is this for a single DDNS hostname, or multiple? Perhaps the hostname= information needs to be appended to the URL; have you tried that from DD-WRT?


Yes. Here is the URL that was entered in the browser:

https://updates.dnsomatic.com:443/nic/update?hostname=all.dnsomatic.com

Nothing was changed in DD-WRT and has been working longer than a year. Something/permissions were/have been changed on their side.

_________________
Netgear XR500, R7800
Asus AC87Ua1
Repeater Bridges(s)
Netgear R6400v2otp
Asus AC68Ra1, AC66Ua1
d33b0_n4p41m
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2021
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 19:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Perhaps I need to rephrase my question. Are you updating a single ddns hostname or multiple hostnames? Perhaps you need to specify a single hostname to update; or perhaps the version of inadyn being used in DD-WRT has truly become long in the tooth.
PainbowDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2021 4:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
d33b0_n4p41m wrote:
Perhaps I need to rephrase my question. Are you updating a single ddns hostname or multiple hostnames? Perhaps you need to specify a single hostname to update; or perhaps the version of inadyn being used in DD-WRT has truly become long in the tooth.


For me, I'm updating two DDNS's from afraid.org and have been so for 8+ years using DDWRT, tomato, then DDWRT again. The hiccup last year was fixed with adding :443 as stated above, but I don't know enough to figure out what's going on now.

I will say that when I just go to the URL in my browser (https://updates.dnsomatic.com:443/nic/update?hostname=) I am prompted with a user and password. I type in my OpenDNS info and it instantly works and updates, so perhaps there's another way to do this. I tried putting my user/password in the URL in DDWRT per the dns-o-matic API but that isn't working. I only made this forum post after I exhausted myself.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12440
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2021 5:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
This might be a case for upgrading the version of inadyn in DD-WRT; or at least merging all of the outstanding patches to some degree. I will have to inquire later.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
eliasbrg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2021
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2021 10:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you change the url https://updates.dnsomatic.com:443/nic/update?hostname=

to

http://updates.dnsomatic.com:443/nic/update?hostname=

seems to be working again
powerfulman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Apr 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2021 16:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
I noted the same issue and confirm that eliasbrg's answer resolved the issue. Thanks to eliasbrg!

eliasbrg wrote:
If you change the url https://updates.dnsomatic.com:443/nic/update?hostname=

to

http://updates.dnsomatic.com:443/nic/update?hostname=

seems to be working again
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum