Searching for a router to fit my needs

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Ken8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:14    Post subject: Searching for a router to fit my needs Reply with quote
I currently own a AC1750 WiFi Router (R6350).

My goal is to implement 3-4 VLAN networks to complete separate my networks
VLAN1 for IOT Devices (2.4G + Ethernet)
VLAN2 for 5G for smartphones
VLAN3 for ethernet only (Windows computers)
VLAN4 for future consideration

I don't believe I can install third party software on my R6350 router.


I could get a managed switch. I was leaning towards a faster router with VLAN capability. I can get a Linksys WRT3200ACM for $199CAD. I do see recommended options in another post:

Netgear R9000 (rebrand is XR700)
Netgear R7800 (rebrand is XR500 and XR450)
Netgear R7500v2 (or Linksys EA8500)
Most recommended: R7800 or R9000.

Should I be looking for an AX router? I currently use a Pi-Zero running pihole. My plan is to open a port so all VLANS have access to it. I'd also like to share a printer.

I'd appreciate opinions and thank you in advance.
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12463
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 3:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ralink/MediaTek Build Thread wrote:
• Support added for Netgear R6800, R6850, R6260, R6350, R6220 and WNDR3700v5.

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Netgear_R6350

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=330030

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=329995

Of course, you may wish to use 47206 or wait until the next release drops. Please report flash and issues in the appropriate build thread. Thanks.

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2021/08-23-2021-r47225/netgear-r6350/

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2021/08-19-2021-r47206/netgear-r6350/

I guess I should update the supported devices wiki some more; router database won't get updated any time soon unless I email Markus or BrainSlayer.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Ken8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2021 2:06    Post subject: Success Reply with quote
I have successfully flashed my Netgear R6350 with factory-to-ddwrt.img that was suggested above.

Thanks.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12463
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2021 2:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Keep in mind another bugfix release was posted today, transferring this to the Ralink forum. Please consider reporting in the appropriate build thread(s). Thank you.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=330061

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2021/08-25-2021-r47256/netgear-r6350/

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 547
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2021 4:23    Post subject: Re: Searching for a router to fit my needs Reply with quote
Ken8 wrote:
I currently own a AC1750 WiFi Router (R6350).

My goal is to implement 3-4 VLAN networks to complete separate my networks
VLAN1 for IOT Devices (2.4G + Ethernet)
VLAN2 for 5G for smartphones
VLAN3 for ethernet only (Windows computers)
VLAN4 for future consideration

I don't believe I can install third party software on my R6350 router.


I could get a managed switch. I was leaning towards a faster router with VLAN capability. I can get a Linksys WRT3200ACM for $199CAD. I do see recommended options in another post:

Netgear R9000 (rebrand is XR700)
Netgear R7800 (rebrand is XR500 and XR450)
Netgear R7500v2 (or Linksys EA8500)
Most recommended: R7800 or R9000.

Should I be looking for an AX router? I currently use a Pi-Zero running pihole. My plan is to open a port so all VLANS have access to it. I'd also like to share a printer.

I'd appreciate opinions and thank you in advance.


You should not use VLANs 0-2. This could potentially mess up everything. I would recommend starting your vlans at VID 10+.
See this thread:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=329578

_________________
Linksys EA8500 (Internet Gateway, AP/VAP) - DD-WRT r48897
Features in use: multiple VLANs, Samba, OpenVPN, WireGuard, Entware: mqtt, mlocate, gcc

Netgear R6250 (AP, VAP) - DD-WRT r48897
Features in use: multiple VLANs over single trunk port, multiple VAPs

Linksys EA8500 (Gateway Backup) - DD-WRT r48741

Netgear R7800 - DD-WRT r48741 - Just for fun

OSes: Fedora 34, 7x RPis (2,3,4), 16x ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '94. Never having owned a Windows PC.

Member #248
Ken8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2021 20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks lexridge for the tip.

My ISP is FibreOp by Bell. I'm not sure if I should/can replace the router than came with my ISP service. In the end I want seperate VLANS and WIFI provided by my DDWRT router only.

If anyone knows a good how-to guide, I'd appreciate it. That's my next step.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12463
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2021 21:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
The link he posted, while you have to read through the entire thing to get the entire concept, is fairly good; You can also search @egc's posts, as he has a document that has been posted in a plethora of places (you will want the most recent version, FYI) on this very topic. I think I need to collaborate with folks to get proper wiki articles made / edited / updated on this whole thing, because in it's current state, this topic can digress into a circular pool of old, new, and confusing information (but that is one of the nuances of DD-WRT, though Cool).
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Ken8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2021 0:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
My ISP is with Bell Aliant and I have Fibreop.
They provided me with an Actiontec R3000 router and it connects via "RFC 1483 via DHCP".

Should I create a bridge to my R6350 (DDWRT) router which I intend to set up VLANs on its ports? Will this work if my public IP Address changes? If I bridge and clone the mac address of the ISP router, will this overcome the issue?

I know I've asked questions that are answered elsewhere no doubt. I have a little difficulty finding the answers.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum