Is there an easy way to get a human readable configuration?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
rotation
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Dec 2012
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 9:28    Post subject: Is there an easy way to get a human readable configuration? Reply with quote
As one should configure the options manually in some situations (big update step for example) instead of restore a backup how can the configuration be extracted, human readable?

Till now I made screenshots and copied longer text to notepad. Then I made the update with reset and had to copy paste it back or read from screenshot and write text in GUI.

Is there some automated way to obtain the current configuration in human readable form - easily?
Sponsor
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 929
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 9:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I create screenshots so that I do not forget anything.
and save the output of "nvram show"

For settings where I would have to write a lot, I use simply "copy and paste".

e.g.

nvram set static_leases="..."

whether this is easy to read - well


Last edited by ho1Aetoo on Mon Jun 28, 2021 15:44; edited 1 time in total
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 10626
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 13:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
I believe yoyoma2 is working on integrating this into the easyddup utility he's developing:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=322503

Other methods besides screenshot and copy/paste to text file (notepad++ is better) would be 'nvram show' / 'nvram show | sort' (the latter would muck up continuity of your host key and ssh login keys, FYI).

There used to be an old utility for this, or rather editing your nvram backup, not sure how usable it is these days as it was written for Windows 9x/NT/2k/Me/Vista:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=17605

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=17088

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4622
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Very Happy Very Happy all here... we are on the same boat... Very Happy
copy/paste, screen shots, 'nvram snow' mark it all + ctrl+c than paste on txt...it never fails...

In general, reset is not compulsory..only when there are memory location changes and some other general stuff or you have a gremlins in nvram, or router behaves abnormal...

If im not wrong,Broadcom devices and Atheros devices are different in terms of saving nvram variables over update..

when i started i used to run very simple set up and rebuild manually was fun, now its not, as it takes time Very Happy
do in mind, do not use save file from a different builds...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 47581 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47528 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47528 BS AP,NAT,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0b AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm Atheros/
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 47581 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 47581 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 47581 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1627
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 15:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use browser print function save as PDF. Chromium and FF, probably others.
Prints the whole page and can be copied from, unlike (my) screenshots.

Check all advanced setting boxes and expand all text boxes first.
Some won't expand enough and you have to copy to file or screenshot. eg: SSH keys and DDNS hostname

Some popups won't print, such as .../FilterIPMAC.asp use other measures.

JMT

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way----PIA Setup Guide by egc----Before asking for help - Read the forum guidelines and upgrade DD-WRT!
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5564
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 18:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good advice Bushant
just a lil note -- I don't have a bit of problem print-to-PDF (all pages) from any DD-WRT webif
https://mrjcd.com/junk/dd-wrt/022827/Filter_List.pdf ...I don't use MAC filter but just checkin/showing

that is using:


I removed all Chromium from this Debian since Google does what Google does and a while back they quit letting Chromium sync
with your Google account. I have years of passwords and other stuff I liked to have synced with whatever I am on so I bit the
bullet Razz and installed Chrome on Debian using: ...as root

wget https://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb

apt install ./google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb


NOTE: this will be added to your sources list:
...good if you wanta keep Chrome updated everytime you do updates
Code:
root@Fat-Deb:~# nano /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list

  GNU nano 5.4                                 /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list                                           
### THIS FILE IS AUTOMATICALLY CONFIGURED ###
# You may comment out this entry, but any other modifications may be lost.
deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main


#

of course I use Firefox ESR for all my really important stuff --- banking / online payments / stuff Google don't need knowing
78.11.0esr (64-bit)

However, I have NO problem with Chrome installing on any of my routers so that's good for me also.
AND I can wipe it away iffin I ever need to ... but then I would have have to put all them dangol passwords in Fixefox or Chromium and
they have easy enough way to export password & login junk, it is a different matter to get it all in another browser. Twisted Evil

this is on Debian:
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum