New Build - 03/17/2021 - r46069

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13113
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 11:26    Post subject: New Build - 03/17/2021 - r46069 Reply with quote
[WARNING]: This thread is only for feedback on this beta release for developers and the community's benefit.
DO NOT flash this beta release unless you understand the risks involved and device specific recovery methods.
Avoid discussions! Create threads for questions, general problems or use search; this thread is not for support.
Please list router model & revision, operating & wireless mode(s) and exact filename/firmware image flashed.


Downloads: (DD-WRT website) HTTPS & FTP (try another if a link does not work)

CLI Flash: 'cd /tmp' then 'wget {file URL}' (or 'curl -k {file URL} -o {file}') with http (not https) or ftp. Then 'write {file} linux'.

Repository: Trac SVN changelog since last build r45993 (GitHub mirror)

Notes:
OpenVPN 2.5.1: Setup Guides, Server, PBR, update tips, scripts and more.
WireGuard 1.0.20210219/Tools: Setup Guides, Client, Server, Advanced, update tips, scripts and more. Thanks BS & egc!
• CVE-2019-14899 VPN fix (applicability depends on VPN setup) and GUI toggle since r41813.
Select ath10k radios now feature on-the-fly firmware type switching between Customized DD-WRT and Vanilla QCA binaries!
• Dnsmasq 2.84 • SmartDNS update • MiniDLNA 1.3.0 • Privoxy 3.0.31 • Unbound 1.13.1 • CoovaChilli 1.6 • OpenSSL 1.1.1j
In-kernel Samba (ksmbd 3.3.6): default min/max versions changed. • WSD updated. • ANTFS/NTFS3 kernel mode drivers.

Issues:
• Show us your findings with steps to reproduce, configuration, output, logs and important information below!

Important:
• For issues provide applicable info: 'dmesg', 'cat /tmp/var/log/messages', syslog, klog, serial, strace, tcpdump, wireshark etc.
• Any firewall NAT or WAN issues, show output: 'iptables -vnL', 'iptables -t nat -vnL', 'iptables -t mangle -vnL' and /tmp/.ipt file.
• Search SVN tickets & discuss in forum before opening. Before reporting: reset & manually set up, not restore from a backup.
• Please include operating & wireless modes (e.g. Gateway, Router, AP, CB, WDS, Mesh) & relevant configuration information.

Example Template:
Code:
[b]Router/Version: [/b]
[b]File/Kernel: [/b]
[b]Previous/Reset: [/b]
[b]Mode/Status: [/b]
[b]Issues/Errors: [/b]

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Sponsor
pbphoto
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Oct 2017
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 19:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upgraded my 1900ACSv1 via Safari from 44048. I did not do a reset this time. Rebooted one more time after upgrading. No issues with the upgrade. Performance after the upgrade was great.

Problems with Apple devices remain: I was hoping a St Patrick's Day release combined with a release number ending in 69 would be good luck, but alas. Wifi stays connected but most traffic stops flowing. Pings stop between the router and device and visa-versa. Speedtests on one or two Apple devices can reproduce the problem within minutes. Recycling the wifi on the affected device fixes it right away.

iPhone SE 2020 - IOS 14.4
Macbook Pro 2018 - MACOS 10.15.7

Nothing in syslog: This is my Macbook - it was hung (no pings or traffic) and I recycled the wifi on it. You can see the router deathenticates the connection when I turn off the wifi and then reconnects 5 seconds later when I turn it back on.

Mar 17 07:50:08 router2 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA f0:18:98:XX:XX:XX IEEE 802.11: disassociated
Mar 17 07:50:09 router2 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA f0:18:98:XX:XX:XX IEEE 802.11: deauthenticated due to inactivity (timer DEAUTH/REMOVE)
Mar 17 07:50:14 router2 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA f0:18:98:XX:XX:XX MLME: auth request, signal -63 (Accepted)
Mar 17 07:50:14 router2 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA f0:18:98:XX:XX:XX IEEE 802.11: authenticated
Mar 17 07:50:14 router2 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA f0:18:98:XX:XX:XX MLME: assoc request, signal -62 (Accepted)
Mar 17 07:50:14 router2 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA f0:18:98:XX:XX:XX IEEE 802.11: associated (aid 2)
Mar 17 07:50:14 router2 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA f0:18:98:XX:XX:XX RADIUS: starting accounting session 97B6E831C8CE8BD8
Mar 17 07:50:14 router2 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA f0:18:98:XX:XX:XX WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)

44048 is the last good release if you have Apple devices in your environment. Something broke with 44085 and 44112.

Linksys WRT1900ACSv1: router mode, hardwired ethernet lan to a WRT3200ACM. WIFI: 2.4ghz: NG-mixed, 20mhz channel width, channel 11, WPA2-CCMP-128. 5ghz: AC/N mixed, 80mhz channel width, channel 36+upper, WPA2-CCMP-128.

Clients: Apple MACOS x 4, IOS x 4, Apple TV, Chromecast Audio x 2, Eufy doorbells, Lutron Caseta, Axis Camera, Samsung TV, Nest thermostat, EtekCity outlets (Espressif)..
Monza
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 12:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upgraded WRT1200AC v1's from r45993 to r46069 using Brave 1.10.91 (64-bit) running on Linux Mint 20.1 OS hardwired via Cat6.

Successful update and reboot. No reset, nothing disabled prior to update, uptime approx 15 hrs, wired/wireless connected, vpn up immediately (Expressvpn). I do not use NAS. SFE and IPv6 are always disabled. OpenVPN client/DNSMasq, QoS with PIE always enabled. I do not have any Apple devices.

Kernel Version Linux 4.9.261 #2491 SMP Wed Mar 17 02:19:46 +07 2021 armv7l

No issues with a routine update session. Several releases back my device signal strengths downstairs dropped from the normal 95-100% to 64-67%. With this release my signal strength is back up to 87-93%. No changes to my environment so not sure why the drop/rise in reported signal strength. All wireless devices have been working well despite reported drop/rise. Probably nothing, Sony devices are getting old most likely.
o2bad455
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 19:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've had this up on the following two WRT1900ACS routers for over a day. All's well (including Apple iPhone connectivity), thanks! I should note that for those still having wireless issues, I've given up on WPA2-SHA-256 because it seemed to cause problems with Apple iPhone devices and completely prevented WPA3 connectivity on a visiting Intel device! Intel radios could connect quite well on WPA2-SHA-256, but may have been preventing anything else from connecting on WPA2-plain or WPA3 (in particular, a visiting Intel AC9560 radio on WPA3 - I've now ordered my own Intel AX210 radio for future testing). I also never got WPA2-SHA-256 to work on an Android 9 device that presumably supports it (well, at least it's a listed option in the device settings). I was able to successfully run WPA2-SHA-256 on one of the 2.4G or 5G bands while running everything else (WPA3 and WPA2-plain) in the other band, but that didn't suit my particular mix of clients. YMMV. I'm now back to WPA3-EAP on one isolated vlan, and WPA2-plain-EAP on another.

Router/Version: WRT1900ACSv1, DD-WRT v3.0-r46069 std (03/17/21)
File/Kernel: webflash, Linux 4.9.261 #2491 SMP Wed Mar 17 02:19:46 +07 2021 armv7l
Previous/Reset: r45955, No
Mode/Status: Gateway, OpenVPN Client, FreeRadius Server
Issues/Errors: None traceable to firmware, Thank You!

Router/Version: WRT1900ACSv2, DD-WRT v3.0-r46069 std (03/17/21)
File/Kernel: factory-to(from 2nd partition), Linux 4.9.261 #2491 SMP Wed Mar 17 02:19:46 +07 2021 armv7l
Previous/Reset: r44048(part1)/factory(part2), Yes
Mode/Status: Gateway, OpenVPN Client, FreeRadius Server
Issues/Errors: None, Thank You!

Note: I reset the v2 after flash, and then restored an r46069 backup from the v1 to reduce setup time. I'm not entirely sure what all the differences are between the ACS v1 and v2 versions, but it seemed to go smoothly.

_________________
My DD-WRT Routers:
Linksys WRT3200ACM - Marvell
Linksys WRT1900ACS - Marvell
Netgear R9000 - Atheros
Netgear R7000 - Broadcom
PC x86-64 VM - Atheros
o2bad455
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 20:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
To be clear, this was from same build in the particular case of a backup from an ACSv1 on r46069, to an ACSv2 on r46069). The router version numbers are the only difference, and those apparently have the same radios per the FCC ID. I'm certainly not recommending it (and haven't even finished reading the relevant links yet), but simply experimenting. Towards that end, I'll attempt to confirm whether or not there are any particular mismatches however a consensus would recommend.

EDIT: Ok, I think I've narrowed it down, thanks. Per the linked quote from Linksys, "The only difference in the version 2 is where the Wi-Fi driver looks for the wireless power tables - meaning the v1 and v2 have the power tables in 2 different locations." I hadn't intentionally changed power levels, but did enter a country of use in the wireless advanced settings. Comparing now...

REF:

Re: WRT-1900ACS new firmware for new version

Re: WRT1900ACS Firmware Version V1 vs V2

WRT1900ACS V1 vs. V2 hardware changes

_________________
My DD-WRT Routers:
Linksys WRT3200ACM - Marvell
Linksys WRT1900ACS - Marvell
Netgear R9000 - Atheros
Netgear R7000 - Broadcom
PC x86-64 VM - Atheros


Last edited by o2bad455 on Fri Mar 19, 2021 21:13; edited 1 time in total
pbphoto
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Oct 2017
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 21:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
o2bad455 - would you mind sharing some more details about your 1900ACSv1 wireless and security settings? Also, what Apple clients do you have and what MACOS and IOS versions are they running? thanks.
o2bad455
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 22:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
pbphoto wrote:
o2bad455 - would you mind sharing some more details about your 1900ACSv1 wireless and security settings? Also, what Apple clients do you have and what MACOS and IOS versions are they running? thanks.


Sure! No Mac PCs here, but there's an iPad that I can't inspect right now and an iPhone 10 that I can. As I type, the iPhone (Apple MAC E0:33:8E...) is connected to the WRT1900ACSv1 on wlan0.1 (5G) using WPA2-EAP. It can and does roam freely between 5G and 2.4G on a same-SSID isolated bridge. Status shows no errors nor disconnects, and I just ran a speedtest from the iPhone which responded flawlessly.

Hers's a copy/paste of the wireless status screen for Interface wlan0.1:

Wireless Status
Interface
MAC Address
16:91:82:XX:XX:XX
Chipset
MWL88W8864 802.11ac
Radio
Radio is On
Mode
AP
Network
AC/N-Mixed
SSID
XXXXXXXX
Channel
161 (5805 MHz HT20)
Busy Time
3372150 ms
Active Time
17676767 ms
Channel Quality
81%
TX Power
30 dBm
Rate
Auto
ACK Timing
N/A
Encryption - Interface wlan0.1
Enabled, WPA2-EAP
Connected Clients
1

Wireless Packet Info
Received (RX)
100%
45026 OK, no error
Transmitted (TX)
100%
44719 OK, no error

Wireless Nodes
Clients
MAC Address Radioname Interface Uptime TX Rate RX Rate Info Signal Noise SNR Signal Quality
E0:33:8E:XX:XX:XX wlan0.1 0:50:35 86M 48M VHT20SGI -62 -100 38
76%

We're in a very crowded area with dozens of other APs, some of which like to jump channels. Thus, I have little choice but to use Wireless Channel: Auto which is fortunately working well lately! Copy/paste doesn't work so well on the wireless settings pages, but my Enabled or non-default advanced settings include:

Wireless Basic:

Protection Mode: RTS/CTS
Short GI: Enable
AP Isolation: Enable
Beacon Interval: 300
DTIM Interval: 2 (same for physical and virtual)
WMM Support: Enable
Sensitivity Range (ACK Timing): 50

Wireless Security:

WPA2 Enterprise
CCMP-128 (AES)
WPA Strict Rekeying: Enable
Disable EAPOL Key Retries: Enable

I beleive all else are set to Disable or defaults.

_________________
My DD-WRT Routers:
Linksys WRT3200ACM - Marvell
Linksys WRT1900ACS - Marvell
Netgear R9000 - Atheros
Netgear R7000 - Broadcom
PC x86-64 VM - Atheros
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13113
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 22:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
o2bad455 wrote:
Per the linked quote from Linksys, "The only difference in the version 2 is where the Wi-Fi driver looks for the wireless power tables - meaning the v1 and v2 have the power tables in 2 different locations."

I'd like to see concrete proof that the power tables are stored in nvram, because I don't think they are. A comparison of 'nvram show' from a full reset of both routers will tell you if there is something to be aware of. You would know pretty quickly if something was amiss or gone awry.

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
o2bad455
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 0:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
o2bad455 wrote:
Per the linked quote from Linksys, "The only difference in the version 2 is where the Wi-Fi driver looks for the wireless power tables - meaning the v1 and v2 have the power tables in 2 different locations."

I'd like to see concrete proof that the power tables are stored in nvram, because I don't think they are. A comparison of 'nvram show' from a full reset of both routers will tell you if there is something to be aware of. You would know pretty quickly if something was amiss or gone awry.


Thanks! I compared the transmit power shown in wireless status (sometimes reduced to 23 dbm due to real-time channel conditions, but never more than 30 dbm), the nvram backup files, and the "nvram show" results from telnet sessions on both the v1 and v2 (before and after restore from a v1 backup). Same results for txpwrdbm everywhere:

wlan0_txpwrdbm=30
wlan1_txpwrdbm=30
wlan2_txpwrdbm=20
wlan3_txpwrdbm=20
wlan4_txpwrdbm=20
wlan5_txpwrdbm=20

The wireless status on the v1 currently shows 30 for both radios. The wireless status on the v2 shows 23 on one radio and 30 on the other, but I assume that's probably due to different channels and interference conditions. So, I think in this particular case (WRT1900ACS version 1 versus WRT1900ACS version 2), that the different firmwares for the two different storage-spec versions direct the same-named variables to be stored in their properly different locations. That is, if the txpwrdbm variables are the only ones to check, it looks like the different same-release firmwares map the same nvram variables to their proper addresses on each of these at least nearly identical hardware platforms.

EDIT: So it seems to me that only the maximum values (power limits) are stored in NVRAM, but that any back-off tables or the like must be stored elsewhere and accessed from their different locations on the v1 and v2 by the different firmwares for v1 and v2.

_________________
My DD-WRT Routers:
Linksys WRT3200ACM - Marvell
Linksys WRT1900ACS - Marvell
Netgear R9000 - Atheros
Netgear R7000 - Broadcom
PC x86-64 VM - Atheros
o2bad455
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 2:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Issues/Errors: On at least the normally updated ACSv1 (edit: and now confirmed on the fully reset ACSv2), the regulatory domain for wlan0 (5G) is selectable from the GUI (wireless Basic Settings, with Advanced Settings enabled), but the regulatory domain for wlan1 (2.4G) is not selectable there. This wouldn't be as much of an issue if wlan1 followed wlan0. But with CANADA selected for wlan0 in the GUI and accurately reflected in nvram, UNITED STATES shows in nvram for wlan1. Is this as intended?

EDIT: I've edited nvram using Iron's tool and changed wlan1 regdomain from UNITED_STATES to CANADA. I saw no related errors in the syslog, but can't actually tell if anything changed since channel 12 is still not showing. Is CANADA an allowed value for wlan1 (2.4G), or just for wlan0 (5G)?

_________________
My DD-WRT Routers:
Linksys WRT3200ACM - Marvell
Linksys WRT1900ACS - Marvell
Netgear R9000 - Atheros
Netgear R7000 - Broadcom
PC x86-64 VM - Atheros
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1782
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 8:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
o2bad455 wrote:
Issues/Errors: On at least the normally updated ACSv1 (edit: and now confirmed on the fully reset ACSv2), the regulatory domain for wlan0 (5G) is selectable from the GUI (wireless Basic Settings, with Advanced Settings enabled), but the regulatory domain for wlan1 (2.4G) is not selectable there. This wouldn't be as much of an issue if wlan1 followed wlan0. But with CANADA selected for wlan0 in the GUI and accurately reflected in nvram, UNITED STATES shows in nvram for wlan1. Is this as intended?

EDIT: I've edited nvram using Iron's tool and changed wlan1 regdomain from UNITED_STATES to CANADA. I saw no related errors in the syslog, but can't actually tell if anything changed since channel 12 is still not showing. Is CANADA an allowed value for wlan1 (2.4G), or just for wlan0 (5G)?



This is not a bug and has been the case for a long time

only one regulatory domain is selectable in the GUI
because it makes no sense that the radios use different regulatory domains

So your manual change in the nvram is useless and is not considered

o2bad455 wrote:
Thanks! I compared the transmit power shown in wireless status (sometimes reduced to 23 dbm due to real-time channel conditions, but never more than 30 dbm), the nvram backup files, and the "nvram show" results from telnet sessions on both the v1 and v2 (before and after restore from a v1 backup). Same results for txpwrdbm everywhere:

wlan0_txpwrdbm=30
wlan1_txpwrdbm=30
wlan2_txpwrdbm=20
wlan3_txpwrdbm=20
wlan4_txpwrdbm=20
wlan5_txpwrdbm=20

The wireless status on the v1 currently shows 30 for both radios. The wireless status on the v2 shows 23 on one radio and 30 on the other, but I assume that's probably due to different channels and interference conditions.

EDIT: So it seems to me that only the maximum values (power limits) are stored in NVRAM


"wlan$_txpwrdbm=" is your GUI Setting for TX Power

The allowed transmission power depends on the regulatory domain and the frequency range (and has nothing to do with interferences or similar).

Code:
country CA: DFS-UNSET
   (2402 - 2472 @ 40), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
   (5150 - 5350 @ 160), (N/A, 23), (N/A)
   (5470 - 5600 @ 80), (N/A, 24), (N/A)
   (5650 - 5730 @ 80), (N/A, 24), (N/A)
   (5735 - 5835 @ 80), (N/A, 30), (N/A)


the values can also change..
the regulations can change in the individual countries and the regdb is updated regularly

https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/developers/regulatory/wireless-regdb

https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/sforshee/wireless-regdb.git/tree/db.txt?id=HEAD

the regdb is also not stored in the nvram but is located in the normal file system under

Code:
/lib/crda/regulatory.bin


Quote:
"The only difference in the version 2 is where the Wi-Fi driver looks for the wireless power tables - meaning the v1 and v2 have the power tables in 2 different locations."


marvel devices have another power table, because they have something like a region lock

but i am relatively sure that the dd-wrt driver does not consider EEPROM restrictions anyway

and the power table is also not stored in nvram
it can be loaded from the DTS for example or is stored directly in the WLAN EEPROM
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 4585

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 12:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sure, delete three of my posts for making a valid point in this thread, because everyone should be restoring backups from different hardware that's how we test things around here and it should be encouraged to waste other people's time and to make some moot point about power tables. Rolling Eyes
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13113
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 13:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
It was and wasn't a valid point. Apologies for the over-zealousness of my cleanup on aisle five.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1782
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 13:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wasn't it somehow that the mac addresses are also stored in the nvram and cloned with?

"port received packet with own address as source address" Shocked
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13113
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 14:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not that I am aware of. That message is due to NAT loopback, if I am not mistaken.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum