5GHz dramas on R7000P

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
MattyDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2021
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2021 10:51    Post subject: 5GHz dramas on R7000P Reply with quote
Hello, I've been struggling to setup my netgear R7000P for a while now, I feel like I'm missing something and can't figure it out.

Previously I had the router setup in repeater mode with 1 VAP on the 2.4GHz radio and was using the 5GHz in AP mode. This worked perfectly as I only had access to a 2.4GHz gateway.

However now I have a 5GHz gateway and would like to run the 5GHz radio in repeater mode with a VAP and just use the 2.4GHz as an AP. My problem is that I can't get the VAP to appear, I've followed the instructions in the Wiki and I've tried all of the startup commands in the .doc file.
I've been playing around with a bunch of different settings + builds (with factory resets in between) and have boiled down the problem to VAPs not appearing for 5GHz radio no matter what I do. I've tried the minimum amount of setting changes with no effect.
The builds I've tried are 46446 and 46885.

I've also noticed that setting up in repeater bridge on the 5GHz causes the router to boot loop.
I'm not sure what else to try. Any help would be appreciated.
Sponsor
tedm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Posts: 451

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2021 20:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt has been stating in every build post for some time now:

"WDS does not work on Broadcom ARM devices (only MIPS<->MIPS) & bridge modes on k4.4 devices may sometimes work
in some configurations for certain builds but are not supported by the bcmdhd driver. Use client or repeater instead."

If you click on the links in this you get into a technical discussion of how broken VAPs are in the newer driver. I am not sure WHY blkt is recommending to use repeater mode since those discussions seem to indicate widespread brokenness in the bcmdhd driver. I would guess that is probably affecting you. You may have to revert to a much older build to get this to work.

Of course another easy fix is just buy a second R7000P and connect them back-to-back. They are cheap on Ebay these days....


Last edited by tedm on Mon Jun 14, 2021 5:38; edited 1 time in total
MattyDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2021
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2021 1:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
tedm wrote:
blkt has been stating in every build post for some time now:

"WDS does not work on Broadcom ARM devices (only MIPS<->MIPS) & bridge modes on k4.4 devices may sometimes work
in some configurations for certain builds but are not supported by the bcmdhd driver. Use client or repeater instead."


I didn't think repeater mode used WDS. But even so I can't get a vap to work just in AP mode.

tedm wrote:
If you click on the links in this you get into a technical discussion of how broken VAPs are in the newer driver. I am not sure WHY blkt is recommending to use repeater mode since those discussions seem to indicate widespread brokenness in the bcmdhd driver. I would guess that is probably affecting you. You may have to revert to a much older build to get this to work.


How old of a build are we talking? Months? Years?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 9522
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2021 5:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Repeater mode does not use WDS, but I do know that you will wind up in a bootloop trying to set up repeater mode(s) on a R7000P. Client and Client bridge modes work, though, if I am not mistaken. Still scratching my head on why the R7000 was mentioned, as that is not the router in question.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Glucose
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Oct 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2021 1:01    Post subject: 5GHz dramas on R7000P Reply with quote
Similar problem here.

Trying to run a Guest network via a Virtual Interface bound to the wl1 5 GHz/802.11ac interface on my R7000P.

Had had an Asus RT-AC66U with several problems(flash memory failures and slow perf), but where the guest network worked fine.

Tried setting it up on the R7000P, and although basic functionality on the 5Ghz is there, the wl1.1 virtual interface simply does not appear/startup, despite it clearly being set up in the configuration and showing on the config GUI.

The only startup errors in messages/dmesg are
"daemon.warn dnsmasq: warning: interface wl1.1 does not currently exist"

No problems starting a virtual interface attached to the wl0 2.4 GHz TurboQAM interface, but that doesn't help me with what I'm trying to accomplish.

Is this fixable?

Thank you.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 9522
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2021 1:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Build Release Thread wrote:
VAPs not working at boot fixed for unbridged VAPs in 40562 - 40566. Effective startup commands discussion thread is here.

Broadcom ARM devices if 5 GHz channels are missing, via Telnet/SSH: 'nvram set brcm_unlock=1' 'nvram commit' 'reboot'

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Glucose
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Oct 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2021 5:27    Post subject: 5GHz dramas on R7000P Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Build Release Thread wrote:
VAPs not working at boot fixed for unbridged VAPs in 40562 - 40566. Effective startup commands discussion thread is here.

Broadcom ARM devices if 5 GHz channels are missing, via Telnet/SSH: 'nvram set brcm_unlock=1' 'nvram commit' 'reboot'


Thank you for the links. Have checked both threads, but none of the solutions seem to be working for me. Still taking a "poke" at this.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum