Slow wifi speed on client mode.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
pedro1403
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2021
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 13:46    Post subject: Slow wifi speed on client mode. Reply with quote
I have a TPLINK-940n v4 with ddwrt, and im using client mode on it. This router is upstairs, and the main router downstairs. When i connect my PC by cable on the TPLINK, i have 60mb of speed, but when i use wifi my speed drops to 7mb. I already tried almost every configurantions, and followed the recommended configs wiki, but nothing has heleped me. Sorry about my english, im from brazil.
Sponsor
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1007
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2021 11:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which build you have? which is you main router?

If you mean your secondary router provides 60Mbps for a wired LAN port but 7Mbps over the wireless, I would set N only, WPA2-PSK + AES. And deppending on the interference around, I would check which channel is better, and whether it would be convenient to use 20MHz or 40MHz. The power would be also a consideration deppending on the distance between the router and the client(s).

_________________
If you want support, please read first the announcements and forum rules.
Si usted desea ayuda, por favor lea primero los anuncios y las reglas del foro.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2237
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2021 23:08    Post subject: Things to Check Reply with quote
Things to check:

  1. DD-WRT build, should be latest or just about. See the link in my signature for Download locations
  2. Wireless Mode - I personally use NG-Mixed but then add custom config to eliminate B-rates manually. Try N-only it should work.
  3. Wireless Security - WPA2 + AES (PSK), only way to achieve N or AC rates
  4. Channel - always set the channel manually.
  5. Channel width - like previous poster depends on interference from neighbour's wifi. Too many neighbours, just use 20MHz. Check this under Status - Wireless, button at the bottom Channel Survey. Wifi radio needs to be on for it to work (any mode).
  6. Tx power (Transmit power)- set to something unobtainable. I use 50dBm. This will make sure the Tx power is max the hardware can handle.
  7. Regulatory domain - Use Canada for the highest Tx power, won't matter in your case. Your router is limited to 20dBm or under by the hardware. Newer routers hit 30dBm hardware max. Each dB is 2 times the power. This of course only affects router's Tx, the device's Tx is usually limited to 27dB (500mW) if you are lucky, most are under that.
  8. Short Preamble - enable
  9. Short GI - enable

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - WDS AP, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - some gateway
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - not used
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1007
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:45    Post subject: Re: Things to Check Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
Each dB is 2 times the power

Probably a typo, because each 3dB equals 2x the power, therefore 10dB equal 10x the power, etc.

_________________
If you want support, please read first the announcements and forum rules.
Si usted desea ayuda, por favor lea primero los anuncios y las reglas del foro.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2237
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 12:50    Post subject: Re: Things to Check Reply with quote
feliciano wrote:
ian5142 wrote:
Each dB is 2 times the power

Probably a typo, because each 3dB equals 2x the power, therefore 10dB equal 10x the power, etc.


Definitely a typo.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - WDS AP, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - some gateway
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - not used
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum