Command Line does not work

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
giga4meyou
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2021
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2021 15:41    Post subject: Command Line does not work Reply with quote
Hi Smile

I have installed DD-WRT (firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40559) on my GL-iNet router (GL-AR150). The router works fine, but no commands can be executed under Administration/Commands. When I press Run Command after entering a command, a window with Processing appears which disappears again after a short time nothing happens, no command is executed and you don't see anything. Does anyone know the problem and has a solution for it.


Thank you
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 9543
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2021 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
The router database is not updated, this is a known given. Please refer to the forum rules and guidelines as well as the installation wiki in my signature. Please consider upgrading to the current release:

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2021/05-26-2021-r46772/GL.iNet-AR150/

It also helps if you use a separate browser to access the webUI; perferably Firefox ESR / FF ESR Portable or Pale Moon / Pale Moon Portable. Also, you should consider running commands via ssh or telnet; ssh preferred with key login.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 8731

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2021 4:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have no idea how the Run Commands functionality is implemented in the router. But dd-wrt users sooner or later come to learn that it doesn't work as expected. It's just plain goofy and best avoided. Stick w/ ssh or telnet, which are known quantities.
_________________
ddwrt-ovpn-split-basic.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-split-advanced.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-kill-switch.sh (new) * ddwrt-ovpn-watchdog.sh (new) * ddwrt-ovpn-remote-access.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-client-backup.sh * ddwrt-mount-usb-drives.sh
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1010
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 22:21    Post subject: Re: Command Line does not work Reply with quote
giga4meyou wrote:
no commands can be executed under Administration/Commands. When I press Run Command after entering a command, a window with Processing appears which disappears again after a short time nothing happens

What command(s) are you trying to run?
From my experience, if you are trying to run a simple command with a simple output, it usually works. But if you are trying to run something more complex you could generate an script and run it either as a custom script, or other script, or with all the script loaded into the command window.
Therefore, to know which command(s) you tried to execute it will allow us to try to replicate the behaviour on other builds or on your same build.

_________________
If you want support, please read first the announcements and forum rules.
Si usted desea ayuda, por favor lea primero los anuncios y las reglas del foro.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum