DHCP IP leases in incremental order?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
chinhodado
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2021
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2021 19:44    Post subject: DHCP IP leases in incremental order? Reply with quote
Unlike my old routers, DD-WRT's DHCP is not assigning IPs in an incremental order, for example, my DHCP range is 192.168.10.100 - 192.168.10.149, and every time a new device requests an IP it is given a random one in this range, instead of being incremental 100 - 101 - 102 - etc.

Is there a way to make the DD-WRT assign IPs incrementally?

My build:
DD-WRT v3.0-r46949 std (06/13/21)
Linksys EA6400
Sponsor
Wildlion
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 May 2016
Posts: 1130

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2021 20:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
if you are running dnsmasq for dhcp...
go to dnsmasq options and add:

dhcp-sequential-ip

(reference: https://thekelleys.org.uk/dnsmasq/docs/dnsmasq-man.html)
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 8185
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2021 20:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is not random, it is 'calculated' with the MAC address so that mostly your clients will get assigned the same IP address.

If you do not like that than add the option @Wildlion pointed to

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
chinhodado
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2021
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2021 22:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you, I will try that out.

The other issue is, on the LAN status page, there are a few things that I don't understand:

- What makes a client show up the the "DHCP Clients" section? There are clients that don't show up there even though they're connected to Wifi and are active (they show up in the "Active Clients" table above as well). I have tried assigning static IPs to them but they still don't show up under "DHCP Clients"
- The "Active Clients" now show clients that aren't really active, like my laptop or TV when they're turned off. I remember it wasn't like this before in older builds of DD-WRT, before it was only showing clients with active connections. So what does "Active Clients" actually mean now?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum