no NTP in Repeater Bridge mode

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
prenard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Apr 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2021 20:59    Post subject: no NTP in Repeater Bridge mode Reply with quote
Hi all,

I use a Linksys WRT1900ACS with "DD-WRT v3.0-r46446 std (04/24/21)" configured as a "Repeater Bridge"

NTP time sync is not working as it works on an AP.

Date stays at 1970 !!!

As I run an Openvpn server on this router, date is important for certificates validations... So I need to fix this point...

Any idea?

Thanks

Patrick
Sponsor
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 8719

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2021 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Repeater Bridge mode requires you manually configure the LAN section on the Setup page.

Is the assigned IP on the same network as the primary router?

Does it have a gateway IP that points to that router?

Does it have a DNS server assigned?

If you login to the repeater bridge w/ telnet or ssh, does DNS work? Can you ping based on a domain name (e.g., google.com)?

What happens if you assign an explicit IP for the time server on the Setup page? For example, 204.93.207.12 (0.pool.ntp.org).

If all else fails, try adding the following to the startup script.

Code:
while ! ping -qc1 -w3 8.8.8.8 >/dev/null 2>&1; do sleep 10; done
while ! ntpclient time.apple.com; sleep 10; done


If it still doesn't work, convert time.apple.com to its IP address using nslookup and try that instead (in case it's a DNS problem).

_________________
ddwrt-ovpn-split-basic.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-split-advanced.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-kill-switch.sh (new) * ddwrt-ovpn-watchdog.sh (new) * ddwrt-ovpn-remote-access.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-client-backup.sh * ddwrt-mount-usb-drives.sh
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8998
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 3:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
When did RB mode get added to Marvell?

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=317585

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge

I'm thinking you mean Client Bridge with a vap?

Any way you go about it, you have to add a static gateway address as a minimum on the basic setup page.

P.S. WRT1900ACS is Marvell, not Broadcom.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
prenard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Apr 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 6:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, on the WRT1900ACS, it is a "client bridge (routed)"
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8998
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 13:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Then you need to put the static gateway IP in the proper place(s) and disable dnsmasq altogether. It is not required for functionality in that mode.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
prenard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Apr 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 13:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wiki for "client bridge" mode is here: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Bridged

After hard reboot:

Code:

0;root@Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20: ~root@Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20:~# date
Thu Jan  1 05:17:19 CET 1970
0;root@Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20: ~root@Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20:~# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
127.0.0.0       *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
192.168.137.0   *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 br0
0;root@Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20: ~root@Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20:~#
10 packets transmitted, 10 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 6.666/9.918/30.313 ms
0;root@Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20: ~root@Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20:~# ping ntp.midway.ovh
PING ntp.midway.ovh (80.67.184.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 80.67.184.1: seq=0 ttl=56 time=7.639 ms
64 bytes from 80.67.184.1: seq=1 ttl=56 time=7.460 ms
64 bytes from 80.67.184.1: seq=2 ttl=56 time=8.569 ms
64 bytes from 80.67.184.1: seq=3 ttl=56 time=7.376 ms
64 bytes from 80.67.184.1: seq=4 ttl=56 time=7.303 ms
64 bytes from 80.67.184.1: seq=5 ttl=56 time=11.305 ms
64 bytes from 80.67.184.1: seq=6 ttl=56 time=7.188 ms
--- ntp.midway.ovh ping statistics ---


So, date is in 1970 and I am able to ping the NTP server that I have specified in the basic network setup !

But no NTP sync... I am pretty sure that there is no NTP request sent by the router...

To be sure, I have disconnected the router from the internet and I did not get any error massage in the syslog saying that NTP request has failed has we can see in AP mode !

It seems that in "client brigde (routed)" mode, no NTP request is issued !!!

Help would be appreciated...
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8998
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 14:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
And the output of ps is? Is ntpclient even running? Was it started on boot? You may need to post appropriately-sized screenshots of the applicable configurations, including wireless. There may be more than to input that gateway address, which may be causing this issue. I seem to recall this when I was tinkering in the past. Check your wireless settings.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
WENED
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 May 2017
Posts: 548
Location: Rural Manitoba

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 14:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
As you were advised, you need to set the static gateway. If I read your last post correctly, your gateway is not specified and therefor the router can't get an update if it doesn't know where to access the Internet.
I run and have been running multiple Routers in this mode for years and never encountered this as long as I set it up correctly with a gateway IP.

_________________
WRT3200acm Master WDS 5GHz 80Mhz CH 100 (+6) r46949
Ath1 2.4Ghz Disabled
99 Static Leases
ExpressVPN

WRT3200acm r46949 WDS Station 5Ghz
Ath1 AP N/G Mixed Channel 11 HT40

WRT1900Ac V1 5Ghz r46949 WDS Station
(Defective, no 2.4Ghz but 5Ghz works great)

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS Station r46949
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

WRT1900ACS 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS Station r46949
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

WRT1900AC V1 r46949 On LAN
5Ghz WDS AP Ch149(+6) 80Mghz
2.4Ghz Ch 6 20Mhz N/G Mixed

WRT54G DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 micro AP CH 6 Mixed - Not in use

3200 Master -> LAN -> 1900 V1 -> WDS 5Ghz -> 1900 V1
3200 Master -> WDS -> 3200 Slave & 1900V1
prenard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Apr 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 14:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
And the output of ps is? Is ntpclient even running? Was it started on boot? You may need to post appropriately-sized screenshots of the applicable configurations, including wireless. There may be more than to input that gateway address, which may be causing this issue. I seem to recall this when I was tinkering in the past. Check your wireless settings.


In the result of the ps commande there is no ntpclient !
prenard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Apr 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 14:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
WENED wrote:
As you were advised, you need to set the static gateway. If I read your last post correctly, your gateway is not specified and therefor the router can't get an update if it doesn't know where to access the Internet.
I run and have been running multiple Routers in this mode for years and never encountered this as long as I set it up correctly with a gateway IP.


Even without default gateway (which should be 192.168.137.1), the router is able to access internet: see results of "ping ntp.midway.ovh" above
prenard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Apr 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2021 7:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
It seems that this problem on Linksys WRT1900 routers is not new !

I have found this post describing the problem and a workaround:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=325966

I tried to use the workaround adding "ntpclient 0.pool.ntp.org" in the startup script.

But then, I get following error message in syslog:
Code:
Jan 1 01:00:25 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.err ntpclient[1645]: Failed connecting to 0.pool.ntp.org [185.254.101.25]: Network unreachable

It is certainly because, in "Client Bridge (Roted)" mode, network configuration takes some time to be up !

So, I have added one cron job to sync to NTP every minute:
Code:
* * * * * root ntpclient 0.pool.ntp.org

And then, after reboot, I can see in syslog that the first sync fails (because of network configuration setup latency as above) but next sync are working !
Code:
Jan 1 01:00:23 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 user.info : httpd : http daemon successfully started
Jan 1 01:01:00 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.debug ntpclient[1651]: Connecting to 0.pool.ntp.org [62.210.206.214] ...
Jan 1 01:01:00 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.err ntpclient[1651]: Failed connecting to 0.pool.ntp.org [62.210.206.214]: Network unreachable
Jan 1 01:01:07 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1.1: STA 44:85:00:7a:43:ec MLME: auth request, signal -57 (Accepted)
Jan 1 01:01:07 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1.1: STA 44:85:00:7a:43:ec IEEE 802.11: authenticated
Jan 1 01:01:07 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1.1: STA 44:85:00:7a:43:ec MLME: assoc request, signal -56 (Accepted)
Jan 1 01:01:07 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1.1: STA 44:85:00:7a:43:ec IEEE 802.11: associated (aid 1)
Jan 1 01:01:07 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1.1: STA 44:85:00:7a:43:ec RADIUS: starting accounting session 978EEE40FF186982
Jan 1 01:01:07 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1.1: STA 44:85:00:7a:43:ec WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)
Jan 1 01:02:00 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.debug ntpclient[1655]: Connecting to 0.pool.ntp.org [129.250.35.250] ...
May 18 08:47:18 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.info ntpclient[1655]: Time set from 0.pool.ntp.org [129.250.35.250].
May 18 08:47:18 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.debug ntpclient[1664]: Connecting to 0.pool.ntp.org [62.210.206.214] ...
May 18 08:47:18 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.info ntpclient[1664]: Time set from 0.pool.ntp.org [62.210.206.214].
May 18 08:47:18 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1.1: STA 44:85:00:7a:43:ec WPA: group key handshake completed (RSN)
May 18 08:48:00 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.debug ntpclient[1668]: Connecting to 0.pool.ntp.org [51.255.197.148] ...
May 18 08:48:00 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.info ntpclient[1668]: Time set from 0.pool.ntp.org [51.255.197.148].
May 18 08:49:00 Linksys-WRT1900ACS-RB-20 daemon.debug ntpclient[1677]: Connecting to 0.pool.ntp.org [194.177.34.116] ...

And time is sync now after reboot !
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8998
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2021 16:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
You could've just specified the IP address of the ntp server in the config box, but I can almost guarantee you that there is something missing in your config that is breaking this. I had the same problem on an R9000 until I saw that there was something missing...

But hey, if that works for you, awesome.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Docop1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Feb 2021
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2021 22:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I do also get the same issues as of today, with the firm of 26may. If you pay any ip in the basic setup, under the berlin field, it get rejected.
here is :

Code:
Jan 1 01:01:18 ddwc7 daemon.debug ntpclient[1715]: Connecting to 204.93.207.12 [204.93.207.12] ...
Jan 1 01:01:21 ddwc7 daemon.debug ntpclient[1715]: Timed out waiting for 204.93.207.12 [204.93.207.12].
Jan 1 01:01:21 ddwc7 daemon.err process_monitor[1588]: cyclic NTP Update failed (servers 204.93.207.12)


It's a very basic setup, mostly all default, wan in dhcp, no extra service, no dns stuff as dnscrypt look has been removed and can't run via script as the Ntp via ip is not connecting. And that cause issues if you want to connect to a wireguard server, as time is off.
if no ip set in the field, wireguard can connect...
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8998
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2021 23:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please explain what "pay pay any ip in the basic setup, under the berlin field" means. We have no idea of your router or configuration, either. Please include *all* applicable information when you post. Please refer to the forum rules and guidelines. Thank you.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum