Something funky going on with iOS 14.5 and DDWRT

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
xl600
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2021 13:16    Post subject: Something funky going on with iOS 14.5 and DDWRT Reply with quote
This morning, I updated my iPAD and iPhones to the newest iOS 14.5. Now, suddenly the ddwrt GUI has become effectively unusable. All pages take 30 seconds to load or they timeout entirely in any iOS based browser.

Things are just fine from a Windows or a Mac machine and no errors appear in the ddwrt logs. WIFI and routing don't seem to be affected at all. I am sure this is something that has changed in the iOS software which has suddenly made some aspect of how the ddwrt pages are rendered incompatible. Not having any serious web knowledge, all I can do is ask if anyone else is seeing the same issue with their iOS devices and DDWRT based routers?

If it helps, I'm using an R9000 (46380) so I'm posting in the Atheros forum.
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1693
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2021 14:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't own any iOS, but might you try a third party browser on the iPad? A lot of the new browser's won't play nice with the GUI...

How does other network traffic behave? Have you done a speed test to see if performance is super slow?

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]46450 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
ervau
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2013
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2021 15:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just upgraded my iPad Air2 and my iPad 6th Gen. to iOS 14.5 and checked against DIR-825b (Atheros) and DIR-615h (Ralink) both w/ FW dd-wrt 46446 w/o any problems neither w/ Safari nor w/ Firefox nor w/ Chrome.
ervau
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7486
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2021 18:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
been like this since ios 14.5 beta 1, ddwrt gui struggles to load (lan, remote on wan, http, https), on all browsers. when it does load it stops refreshing a second later and freezes. restore device as new does nothing, cache wipe, private browsing etc all do nothing.. still happening in ios 14.6 beta 1 too, and of coarse its ONLY ddwrt interface with this problem, all routers, all builds, no other sites have issues.. even various other 3rd party router firmwares..

havent made a ticket, yet, and waited for everyone else to have the problem, cause knowing brainslayer, he will instantly blame ios..

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r46979 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46979 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46979 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r46350 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r46329 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
xl600
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2021 19:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think it's the shared webkit or whatever else iOS forces all the browsers to use. Maybe the new anti-tracking stuff is causing certain things to choke? I wouldn't expect ddwrt's GUI to care, but who knows what regression issues Apple might have not discovered.

For ddwrt, the stall seems to come near the end of each page load. I really don't think it's ddwrt's doing, but it might be something that can be fixed in the ddwrt web interface.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4402
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 7:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
just bear in mind, all those iOS devices do not have a firewall, as the PC has, so using GUI in certain scenarios on smart phone or tablets could be a risk ....consider all those compromised apps too...
by the way do you use Vanilla or DDWRT driver...
i just moved my R7800 from DDWRT to Vanilla as it was causing random troubles...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 46974 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46885 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46974 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 46979 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 46979 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
xl600
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 20:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
just bear in mind, all those iOS devices do not have a firewall, as the PC has, so using GUI in certain scenarios on smart phone or tablets could be a risk ....consider all those compromised apps too...
by the way do you use Vanilla or DDWRT driver...
i just moved my R7800 from DDWRT to Vanilla as it was causing random troubles...


I'm not sure what you mean there. Is there some issue with security and the DDWRT GUI?

I'm using the DDWRT driver. Does that have anything to do with the DDWRT httpd process?
emanon
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Oct 2019
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 21:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just updated my iPad this morning to 14.5 and can’t access the DDWRT web interface anymore on the iPad or can’t access tabs after logging in. Prior to updating to 14.5, I had no problems.

So now after reading this thread I can stop pounding my head.

I also was able to use the DDWRT web interface on my iPhone with no problems. Not realizing it would be an issue with DDWRT, I upgraded iPhone to 14.5 and now it's having the same problem.

This problem also occurs on my Apple M1 chip Air. Fortunately, everything works fine on my Intel-based iMac. Such is life.

_________________
Linksys WRT32X | DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std (08/02/20) | macOS Big Sur
xl600
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 21:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
All your iOS are belong to Apple! There's no going back...
emanon
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Oct 2019
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
xl600 wrote:
All your iOS are belong to Apple! There's no going back...


All my iOS and all my arse belong to Apple LOL.

_________________
Linksys WRT32X | DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std (08/02/20) | macOS Big Sur


Last edited by emanon on Thu Apr 29, 2021 1:32; edited 1 time in total
FlaParrotHead
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2020
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 23:10    Post subject: Also seeing this on Marvel Linksys 3200ACM router Reply with quote
I am seeing the same issues both on iOS 14.5 devices as well an a MacOS 11.3 device…. Literally just started when the device OSs were updated.
_________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM
DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std (08/02/20)
OpenVPN: ExpressVPN
Devices: Sonos, Apple, QNAP, other


Last edited by FlaParrotHead on Thu Apr 29, 2021 0:38; edited 1 time in total
xl600
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 23:41    Post subject: Re: Also seeing this on Marvel Linksys 3200ACM router Reply with quote
FlaParrotHead wrote:
I am seeing the same issues both on iOS 14.5 devices as well an a MacOS 11.3 decide…. Literally just started.


Oh don’t say that! I just updated my Mac and safari was part of that. If it no longer works, I have no other devices to get to the ddwrt GUI other than an old windows xp Vm or a Linux vm. There’s no way Apple will bother to fix whatever broke here, just for ddwrt.

I hate computers….
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7486
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 0:18    Post subject: Re: Also seeing this on Marvel Linksys 3200ACM router Reply with quote
xl600 wrote:
There’s no way Apple will bother to fix whatever broke here, just for ddwrt


also consider how nothing else broke except, ddwrt's interface..

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r46979 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46979 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46979 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r46350 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r46329 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
FlaParrotHead
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2020
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 16:57    Post subject: DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std (08/02/20) Fixed my GUI issue Reply with quote
While I never had connection issues with newer code levels as some Apple users have reported, falling back to the r44048 on my platform and (sadly) having to reconfigure everything, fixed the problem.
_________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM
DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std (08/02/20)
OpenVPN: ExpressVPN
Devices: Sonos, Apple, QNAP, other
siege
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Dec 2016
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 22:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just adding another "me too" on this. I've tried Safari on both on MacOS and iOS and neither is working. All of my Macs are Intel-based, not that it should matter much.

Chrome on Mac OS works fine (although it took a long while to load up the homepage).
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum