Deciding Gateway base on destination IP

Goto page 1, 2  Next
icecold546
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 16:27    Post subject: Deciding Gateway base on destination IP Reply with quote
I have a Linksys 1900ACS V2 DD-WRT build 44715 router (setup as DHCP) connected to a network that has two potential ISP as sources.

ISP source 1: 192.168.1.1
ISP source 2: 192.168.1.88
DD-WRT WAN: 192.168.1.68

Router IP is 192.168.3.1

I want to route IP address 192.168.3.177 to 192.168.3.187 to use ISP source 1, while the rest defaults to ISP 2

I'm a noob at networking, so assistance is much appreciated
Sponsor
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 16:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
As configured, you can't control which of those gateways is used from the dd-wrt router. That decision has to be made by the upstream router (of course, w/ the dd-wrt router NAT'd over its WAN by default, that's problematic). All the dd-wrt router can do is choose among gateways defined within its own IP network (192.168.3.x) or directly accessible on the router itself (e.g., an OpenVPN client, or even an EoIP tunnel).

I suppose what you could do is configure a VPN between the dd-wrt router and the upstream router for these purposes. IOW, effectively pull that remote gateway *into* the dd-wrt router so it does in fact become available and subject to PBR (policy based routing). A bit of a heavy solution, but should work.

ddwrt-ovpn-split-basic.sh (UPDATED!) * ddwrt-ovpn-split-advanced.sh (UPDATED!) * ddwrt-ovpn-client-killswitch.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-client-watchdog.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-remote-access.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-client-backup.sh * ddwrt-mount-usb-drives.sh * ddwrt-blacklist-domains.sh * ddwrt-wol-port-forward.sh * ddwrt-dns-monitor.sh (NEW!)

Last edited by eibgrad on Thu Mar 18, 2021 17:14; edited 1 time in total
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 17:01    Post subject: Reply with quote