Flashing a second r7800 router

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
ano0101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2019
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 1:55    Post subject: Flashing a second r7800 router Reply with quote
hi,

I recently bought a new r7800 router to flash dd wrt.
I used egc's netgear r7800 installation guide for guidance. The stock netgear version that came with the router was 1.0.2.68. I followed all of the backup instructions before the first flash. Since stock version on the router was different than the guide, I uploaded 1.0.2.62 version onto the router. I got a warning I was going down a version, I chose to continue and the router reboot as 1.0.2.62. Then I uploaded Kong firmware version 40270 as the first flash.

The router reboot, I did the initial setup then navigated to Administration page, but then I noticed that page wouldn't load. I got
Quote:
This page isn't working 192.168.1.1 didnt send any data. ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE

Error. I manually turned it off and on again. I managed to set telnet and performed nvram erase and reboot again.

It seems not help at all. I get few minutes of normal function then I get the above website error and putty session gets aborted.

Currently, Kong build 40270 is on there.

linux version is DD-WRT 4.9.185 #443 SMP Thu Jul 11 00:07:59 CEST 2019 armv71

I ran a command prompt window with ping, I do get a response from the router with TTL=64. All the while website and putty sessions are no longer working.

what commands should I run to further troubleshoot?
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1667
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 2:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would TFTP the latest version...There is no good reason to use kong builds anymore.

perform another nvram erase && reboot and then do a tftp of the latest factory to dd file.

See my signature.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]47449 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3155

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 2:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Power off, wait, Power on. Wait a minute. Still nothing? Hold reset button 7-10 seconds, wait a few minutes.

Yes, TFTP recovery should always be available as an option and yes agree use latest factory-to-ddwrt.img.

New Build - 03/12/2021 - r45993 - Avoid Chrome, Chromium, addons, history, so use a portable browser.

I searched for ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE and can you guess which browser? Do not use Chrome. =) Donut.

Pale Moon, Waterfox (3rd Gen 78 or Classic 56), Firefox ESR 78 Portable or Firefox ESR Legacy (68/52/45)

Methods to Fix ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE and if for some reason not enough Reset TCP/IP Stack Windows 10
ano0101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2019
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 16:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you both for providing feedback. I am not able to tftp2 the latest version's img file onto my router. The steps I took are below.

1. download the latest r45993 factory to ddwrt.img file
2. configure tftp with router ip addressk, 10 retries, and img file location
3. did nvram erase and reboot
4. turned off router, held the reset button, then powered on the router.
5. waited for 6 power led amber flashes then white flashes, let go of reset button
6. ran tftp with image file onto router

TFTP gets the upgrading flash to half way then can't get a response from the server error.

I tried both WAN and LAN ports on the router. I ran tftp as administrator. Nothing.

Please let me know what else I can try or if I am SOL on this.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 8166
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 16:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can try NMRPFlash utility from Netgear

Instructions are on page 8 of the R7800 install guide.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 848
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 16:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you manually configured the network adapter in the PC?
When the router is in recovery mode, DHCP does not work.
ano0101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2019
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 16:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for your responses.

@egc - sure, I can try it.

@ho1Aetoo - I always change the my computer's IPv4's IP address to 192.168.1.5 and the subnet mask to 255.255.255.0 when I flash dd wrt.
ano0101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2019
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 16:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
@egc - what firmware should I use for NMRPFLASH? There is no .chk files that I am aware of.

Preparing to do the flashing
1. Copy <firmware.chk> & the <nmrpflash.exe> files to same directory/folder (Say D:\NETGEAR)
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3155

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 17:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Should be the same file, factory-to-ddwrt.img, and I am not sure which tftp program you were using, here:
tftpd32.464.zip, tftpd32.452.zip and nmrpflash. "Use the following DNS server addresses" leave them blank.

For tftpd32 see anticipation window, a checkbox and value in tftpd32 settings under advanced tftp options.
Try setting this to 1024 bytes, it is one way of speeding up the transfer if for some reason it is timing out.

https://kb.netgear.com/000059633/How-to-upload-firmware-to-a-NETGEAR-router-using-TFTP-client

If you have any OS security software or firewall active be sure to disable or allow.
ano0101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2019
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 19:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
@blkt - I initially used tftp2.exe, I did have tftpd32 on my PC. I used it this time. I changed the block size to 1024 and used the img file for r45993. It uploaded firmware to the router. And I left "Use the following DNS servers addresses" as blank.

After using the img, I did upload the firmware.bin through ddwrt website.

I will leave the router by itself online for a while to make sure that I can still reach the website and telnet to it. It looks like I am out of the woods.

Thank you blkt, ho1Aetoo, egc, and msoengineer. Truly appreciate your insights.
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3155

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 19:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
In the future keep in mind if you need to TFTP recover again the factory-to-ddwrt file alone is enough.

Consider "nvram erase && reboot" from Telnet as root since now up and running the newest available.

Then repopulate your configuration manually. Avoid Chrome, Chromium, addons, history, donut do it.
ano0101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2019
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2021 22:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
@blkt - sure I will keep in mind. yes, I did erased and rebooted.

Also, whenever I applied the settings on a webpage, I noticed that the router sends out request timed out if I left a command prompt window with ping running. It would send a reply after a 1-4 secs.

Thanks again.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum